We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trail!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail

Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail
Lady Bird Lake, First Street Bridge at Lady Bird Lake, Austin, TX 78701 (South Austin)
(512) 974-6700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 182 Attractions in Austin
Type: Hiking Trails, Biking Trails, Trails, Jogging Paths/ Tracks
Activities: Biking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic trail through lush green parks and peaceful lakes: a great place to bike, hike and run.
New Rochelle, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Great Trail!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This trail was great for running in the mornings. There is a place along the trail that offers Bike, Kayaking and Canoeing rentals. Love it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    135
    17
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Running is my primary mode of exercise. Town Lake trails are an awesome way to get that exercise and soak up the scenery at the same time. I live an appreciable distance away from downtown, but still manage to run at Town Lake every so often for the simple quality that it provides. It has my recommendation!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
505 reviews 505 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The trail is an absolutely wonderful way to see some of the more beautiful parts of Austin while getting in some exercise. Park under the bridge on the far side and walk back toward the Congress Bridge along the lake. There are some great views of the skyline as well as secluded beautiful natural spots along the way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for running, walking, biking, kayaking, and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have found the Town Lake Hike and Bike trail to be one of the best places to work out and just spend time. So close to downtown it is convenient to get to and enjoy. I like parking at Zilker Park and running along Barton Springs to the Lake. The nice thing is, you can park in any number of places that are convenient to you and get access to the trail. There is also a nice dog run and park if you want to bring your dogs. Another great activity is to rent kayaks or canoes or stand up paddle boards. Prices are reasonable. I would not recommend the paddle boats as much as the other alternatives. They don't work as well and can be difficult to steer and control vs the more agile kayaks and canoes. If you have not tried the paddle boards, you should. It is not that hard to learn and really is a nice workout and enjoyable way to move around the Lake. By the way, there are no motor boats zooming by which helps to make this a really peaceful experience. The trail is almost all cinder track type running which I find to be very comfortable to run on. There are some slight inclines to give you some elevation and a good workout as you run. You can also run up to Congress and in a few blocks have a Starbucks after your run. There are some good running routes posted online giving you a choice of distances. Most involve crossing over bridges many of which are designed just for pedestrians. This just adds to the spectacular views of the city and the lake.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Austin is so lucky to have this network of trails right in the city! Congrats to the city planners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

So nice to have a touch of nature right in the city. Diversity of plants and birds. If we had more time we would have rented bikes. Our only beef was that many cyclists rode was too fast past pedestians.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.