We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular place to hike and bike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail

Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail
Lady Bird Lake, First Street Bridge at Lady Bird Lake, Austin, TX 78701 (South Austin)
(512) 974-6700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 183 Attractions in Austin
Type: Hiking Trails, Biking Trails, Trails, Jogging Paths/ Tracks
Activities: Biking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic trail through lush green parks and peaceful lakes: a great place to bike, hike and run.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very popular place to hike and bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We hired bikes from Barton Springs Bike Rental, which has convenient nearby access to the trail, and set off for a loop around the lake. This was on a Thursday morning, and we were pleasantly surprised to see how many people were using the trail. Couples strolling, joggers, dog walkers, cyclists, moms with strollers, all out enjoying the sunshine and this great city resource. The loop around the lake goes a shade over 10 miles, if you go all the way to the dam at the end of the lake, and you get to see built up areas, open parkland, quiet city streets, busy freeways - the whole gamut of life in Austin. If we lived in the city rather than being here on vacation, we would be using this trail a lot

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    135
    17
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great exercise and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This trail was adjacent to the Hyatt where I stayed. It was a great way to get some exercise in the fresh, beautiful Austin air.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Big crowd out enjoying the trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We rode our bikes the whole route when we were visiting Austin ...such an asset to the city. We liked the fact that there were maps along the route.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Year round fitness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hike and bike trail, also known as Lady Bird Lake Trail (after Lady Bird Johnson, who began the beautification efforts in the early 1970s), is a scenic, easy and enjoyable running, jogging, and walking trail in the heart of Austin, Texas. There are 4 bridges crossing the lake, enabling you to take on as small or as large of a loop as you like. Parking is in various smaller lots scattered at the periphery, and the largest lot is on the north side of the lake near Austin High School. There aren't any restaurants or shops along the trail - it's scenic and understated. Water is provided by a local running supply store at points along the trail, but if you want to be sure to have water, bring your own. There is little to no lighting after dark, so complete your run/walk during the day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“one of the best areas to walk, jog, or bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

the view of the river and natural areas and the access from downtown. Several hotels have direct access to the trail. The trail is well maintained and enjoyed by locals.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.