We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Fun Time on Saturday. Daytime.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Congress Avenue

South Congress Avenue
South Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 394 things to do in Austin
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Street lined with lots of great restaurants.
Louisville,KY
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Had a Fun Time on Saturday. Daytime.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I went on a nice saturday afternoon in January. 70 degrees. Tons of people and nice atmosphere. Had a cool busker from all parts unknown playing, one man band. Nice shops to look around and a open air market area. Too busy to eat there when I went, but lots of options. Two cool older Hotels there also, but they were booked. I think this area is called So Co? FYI: Went back at night and not much going on?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    143
    34
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Go if you must, skip it if you can find anything else to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Lot's of funky shops, and I love to hunt around funky shops. They have managed to take this particular asset of Austin and turn it into something that I'd just assume skip. No parking anywhere nearby. Not even paid parking options. Simply no space. All the side street parking is reserved/permit parking only. I get it why the residents need there parking, but make some accommodations for visitors, no? No rest rooms available, and the shops all make it clear that they don't have one and don't ask. Bottom line, interesting venue that is visitor very un-friendly.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This area is bustling and lively with lots of options for eating, drinking, shopping, and music. Don't skip the Continental Club or Home Slice Pizza. We wanted to try Hopdoddy but, the line was out the door still at 9 at night. Home Slice restaurant had a 1 1/2 hour wait for a tale but, you can get slices to go next door with very little wait and eat them wherever. We did 6th street before and the atmospheres are totally different. Do both!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth tx
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I always stop by home slice pizza when in Austin, love the open air bands that play across the street from them

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Could have spent my entire weekend just on this one street!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

LOVE SoCo! Shops, bars, restaurants, food trucks, art market, street performers. We went to SoCo every day of our vacation. Always some where to go, something to see and definitely something to eat!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Congress Avenue also viewed

 

Been to South Congress Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Congress Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.