We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #67 of 182 hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Family Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

'Twas the day before Memorial Day..... My bf, the baby & I decide to do a quickie getaway just for our lil family... So off we went to Austin..

We left pretty late evening, so it was dark.. We got to Austin around 11:30pm.. It was hard to find the street that leads to the other stret that leads to the hotel entrance. The first street was kind of cool because the road was curvy (lol) and you get to see all this big big houses by the golf courses... Yes, I said golf courses because Barton Creek have several golf courses not just one and you can only play if you have a membership with them or you're a guest of the hotel. The second street was pretty short, lead up to the hotel entrance. They need more lighting at night....

The valet guys were nice & courteous.. The bellman was even nicer. We got a lot of stuff with us because we decided to bring the baby's exersaucer/jumper & her big round floatie so she can swim with us.. hehe plus the baby's bag, her toys bag & food/formula bag, our overnight duffel & our snack bag and the baby's pillow.... yeahhh we travel with extra baggage... lol

He hauled it up, yes I know it's his job.. then he organize our stuff around the room.. Meanwhile, the check-in was easy as a breeze. They got my reservation and comply with my request for a baby crib in our room *yayyy* Oh and he went downstairs to get us our bar fridge key (yes, they locked it), and then he empty the bar enough so we can put the baby formula bottles there. Awesome blossom!!

The room was pretty roomy. It was clean & neat. The bathroom is nice but can be nicer.. The hotel looks like it's pretty old, however it's nice enough. Our bed was comfy. The baby crib looks antique hehe... Our baby slept there peacefully with her musical seahorse..

We woke up around 10-ish... Get ready & go downstairs for swimming.... *another yay* Plenty of towels for the pool which is nice! Got our spot right in front of the pool steps on the right.... The view from the pool to the golf course was amazing by the way! Got some music playing in the background which is nice... The water is perfect.... Our baby was so happy swimming away.... Around 11am the pool was packed.... It's Memorial Day so yea everyone is at the pool! No more empty recliners.... There's still people coming & some of them have to just lay their stuff on the concrete because the pool was so jam-packed! It was awesome!! The bar is cool too because they have their waiter & waitress go around with the menu and take orders.... Plusssss they serve complimentary ice coldddd water with lemon... In this hot day, that's a big big plus for you Barton Creek!

We just chilled on our lounger around the pool... Sunbathing, people watching, enjoying the view, relaxing.... It was NICE..... After that we went for a walk... There's a nature's trail... Another plus thing....

Then we went back to the comfort of our air-conditioned room.... The robe is pretty nice. We took a lil nap after shower and then we are ready to check out... Late check-out is complimentary. Another Plus for you Barton Creek! Check out was easy breezy.... Oh the valet is extra charge, you can park the car yourself if you want to, but we didn't want to, so we opt for the valet & it was worth it!! The valet got our car ready & the bellman put all our "extra baggage" in the trunk & front seat lol.... Off we go Bye Barton Creek Resort, until next time! Adiossss...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Sounds like this wonderful family had a nice time during their visit with us. Their opening note reminds me to make sure that all of our guests come and enjoy the 1st Annual Holiday Lights and Ice Extravaganza between Nov 24th and Jan 2nd this Holiday Season. We will install a 3,800sf Ice Skating Rink under the Resort Pavilon along with some spectacular lighting displays around the resort. Appreciate this past guest's feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    194
    100
    68
    47
See reviews for
162
204
29
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Barton Creek is a very nice hotel. I've stayed there several times on trips to Austin and would stay there again. It's an older hotel that has been renovated over the years so some rooms are larger than others. The layout of the hotel is very weird - I felt like I walked a mile every time we left the room. The spa services were excellent. The spa is nice but smaller than I expected. The gym is one of the best hotel gyms I have seen. Lots of machines and free weights and they offer various aerobic classes, as well. The hotel is known for it's golf course. Overall, a very nice hotel with excellent services. The staff is very attentive to the guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Thank you for the very gracious feedback on our Three Springs Spa, the new Fitness Center along with the very nice comments on the sincerity and dedication of the resort's employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel is average and not worth the price you will pay. However, there are limited places to stay in the Westlake area of Austin so I did not want to pay for a taxi nor did I want to be downtown during ACL weekend. The staff was okay and mostly under the age of 25. The bar and room service both end at 1:00 and you cannot check-in to the hotel past 1:30 so if you are coming in from out of town, plan to arrive early. I will say though that this resort has one of the most golf courses and the location is breathtaking. Another thing is you are mixed with the country club members and those staying at the hotel and its just kind of an uncomfortable mix of people. The members make you feel like you are not welcome. Now, I hjope your still reading because the was the WORST PART of our trip...When we were at their 8212 Wine & Bar Club, my best friends husband found a plastic looking hinge in his burger and pulled it out of his mouth!!!!! The waiter told us it must have come off a plastic bag they use for portions. But I mean how do you miss that in a burger!?!? Then she (a platinum blonde) found a black hair wrapped around her french fry! So if you do decide to stay here, skip this restaurant. Oh and they did NOT comp is meal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
I appreciated the constructive feedback provided by this past guest below and follow up regarding the unexpected items that were served in our 8212 Wine Bar & Grill. Our goal is always to provide the highest level of food & beverage quality throughout the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Barton Creek is a great getaway. Everything from the rooms to the restaurants to the golf courses are top-notch. Add to this the exceptional service provided by the Resort staff, and Barton Creek becomes a great place to vacation. I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
The resort appreciates this very nice review as it relates to the level of service and golf course quality on all four championship golf courses at Barton Creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We live in Austin but opted to stay the night at BCR for our wedding night instead of home. There was a 2 night minimum which we thought was a waste of money since we live here, so we worked it out and was able to schedule manicures instead of staying the extra night. The morning of the wedding, the girls and I met up and got our manicures. Not impressed. One girl received only a polish change, but of course I was charged full price (didn't find out till later that this happened.) Nice ladies, but that's about it. My assistant had scheduled a quick lunch at their grill weeks prior. We popped over there right at opening time and they hadn't gotten a large table together. The hostess even noted that they were expecting us. They knew we were on a time crunch, but still took their time. It took over an hour to get our food. We were their first customers. The night of the wedding, we were expecting a quick check-in, but it seemed like they didn't even know we were showing. Why have reservations? Once we got into our room, we were expecting a 4-star deluxe suite. Nope... not what we got. Is this all that Austin has to offer for luxury?! The suite was 2 regular rooms converted into a large suite.The bathroom wasn't even touched. Small for $450/night. The bathroom, which we thought would be large was simple. There was a sink inside the room just outside the bathroom. The bathtub was your typical shower/bath combo. Which unfortunately was covered in soap scum and a dead roach. Overall not impressed. Waste of money. Waste of a good first night as husband and wife. Thanks BCR!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
I was disappointed to read the review above regarding the issues that our newly weds experienced on what is always meant to be a very happy and joyous time. We will reach out to this couple in order to speak with them. It continues to be very important to ensure that all of our guests have a very pleasant experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed here on business for one night and the hotel was fine. The hotel is 10-15 min from downtown. I had to make a trip downtown and they charge $17.00 oneway. I thought this was too expensive for this hotel.
I was disapointed with the spa. The locker room looked like it belonged in a high school. The gym is ok but nothing great...they didn't even give you a bottle of water.
I did get a massage and the masseuse wouldn't stop talking! To make matters worse he/she was talking about POLITICS...I could careless about who he or she is going to vote for! Word to management is to tell your staff to that a massage is suppose to be relaxing.
I have been to many spas around the world and this was one of the worst spa experiences I have ever had. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY AWAY FROM SPA!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
The resort apologizes to this past guest for the situation at the Spa during the massage appointment. The individual in question that performed the service understand the importants of providing a peacful and tranquil setting. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My wife and I decided to make a quick trip down to Austin to unwind and allow the kids some grandparent time. The hotel is located in Hill Country and the grounds are well kept and beautiful. We came to relax and spend some quality time together.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the pool service/beverage service outside and the gold course was quite nice. The breakfast buffett was good and the staff were very friendly.
Our room was comfortable and the beds were really nice to sleep in.
Our only complaint was the spa. The steam room and whirlpool in the womens area were not working. My wife did not complain but was frustrated that it lacked the normal essentials of a true spa. The massages we had were good and the staff were again friendly. There is just not too much to the spa other than a smaller version of Lifetime Fitness with bathrobes.
I would come again for golfing and for the nice views. I wouldnt come here for the spa.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
The resort thanks this well travelled couple for its overall favorable review on their trip to the resort. One of the highlights of the new "Three Springs Spa" is the naturally created limestone wall within Tranquility, a relaxation room which is enjoyed by our spa guests before and after an exceptional array of great body treatments, massages and facials. All is well too in the Ladies Steam and Jacuzzi amentiies which we apologize were unavailable during this past guest's visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Austin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#43 Family Hotel in Austin
#51 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.