We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #62 of 187 Hotels in Austin
pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

First room- DIRTY.OUTDATED. stained furniture Would NOT walk on carpet without shoes-dirty soiled stained and WORMS CRAWLING ON CARPET AND WALLS. 2nd room appeared better until the softball sized cockroach appeared. Sheets on bed not changed when requested

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Resort management was delighted to have worked with this past guest in May when some of our outside friends tried to welcome our out of state guests to the resort. We were happy to extend complimentary accommadations for three out of their five day visit and are disappointed that we obviously failed to handle an appropriate apology at the time of occurrence. An additional future stay has been offered. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    241
    121
    87
    53
See reviews for
213
241
31
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

- rooms were clean, comfortable, great size, and quiet
- Hill Country Dinning was good but over priced
- location was perfect
only stayed two nights and i would love to go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
We appreciate the very favorable feedback from this past guest and are delighted to welcome so many more guests back this summer. Golf Course conditions are perfect along with the new "Tranquility" room at Three Springs Spa. Come and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We booked a 3 night stay based on several recommendations. The level of service and value did not live up to the recommendations. Having to pay for water at a spa resort where you are encouraged to hydrate seems to be anathema.

The $20 daily resort fee and $25 valet charge or a $10 self-parking charge in addition to the upcharge for the scenic view room with balcony was not worth it. The food was good but not worth the rates they charge.
The hotel also experienced 2 extended power outages during our stay. I called to inquire about how long it would be out but the front desk didn't answer even after 15 rings.
Checkout was equally challenging as we had an early appointment and the front desk failed to have our bill ready or to send up the bellman. When I finally did get the bill, they had overcharged us by more than $250.
We will go to the Lake Austin Spa next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
I am always appreciative when our past guests communicate on areas of the resort where we can improve upon and am sorry that we did not meet the high expectations of this past guest. We are also glad that everyone was very understanding when the local electric company had an a recent unplanned temporary power outage at the resort. Looking forward to receiving them back to Austin on a future return visit when we can take special care of their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010 via mobile

My husband and I arrived at this resort on Friday at 7:30 to celebrate our 23rd wedding annuversary. I had made reservations in advance and was told I had to give three days notice to cancel or I would be charged for the first nights hotel. I agreed to this and made spa reservations - again prepaid - and restaurant reservations. When we arrived, we were told that our room had been given away because a guest wished to extend his stay. We were told that the hotel had arranged a room at the Renaissance in a neighboring shopping center - not the 23rd anniversary I had planned. I have bever before had a hotel disregard a prepaid reservation in deference to a guest wishing to extend his stay and I certainly would not expect this of a four diamond resort. We drove four hours in traffic to celebrate an important date but obviously guests are not a high priority to Barton Creek. The resort did not even have the courtesy to call us so that we could avoid navigating traffic all the way through downtown where we eventually ended up returning to stay! Do yourself a favor and DO NOT risk a reservation at this resort!! There is no guarantee you will actually get to stay here EVEN if you pay for it!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
The resort has extended it's sincere apologies for what occurred to the above couple on their anniversary and has invited them to return on another occasion for a complimentary stay. We worked very hard to make the situation as positive as possible given the unforseen circumstances. Looking forward to seeing them for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful...inside and out. We had two rooms - tower side. The views were gorgeous. The hotel was quiet and very clean, While there we worked out in the fitness center (great equipment), had a manicure in the spa (ask for Kimberly - great!), played mini-golf on site (free) and did the Nature Trail. The restaurants were delicious. Our tip...do everything the resort has to offer! Be sure to check out the Tranquility Room...amazing. The GM, James Walsh, was all about world class customer service. A great stay and a beautiful resort!!! A perfect place to relax and recharge. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugar land
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend. We had such a great and relaxing time. We were able to request the same room we stayed in the night we got married. The staff was great about setting that up for us. And our dining experience at the country hill dining room was superb. Our waitress, Yesenia , was great and she did an excellent job of making the banana fosters for us to see. We also received a complimentary bottle of wine, which was a nice touch to our evening.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Thank you for the great review on your recent anniversary, a special time for every couple in their lifetime together. The resort now features "Tranquilty" a destination within the resort reserved for our spa guests during the day and also makes the perfect setting for a unique wedding proposal or incredibly romantic dinner. Contact 512-329-4616 for details on this amazing naturally created space that started formation in 1987.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband and I were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and this was our fist trip to Austin. If you are a golfer and like to travel in style in Texas, Barton Creek is the place for you! The accomodatons were superb, as well as the dining, pool and, spa (work out facilities were top notch!) We played 3 of the 4 golf courses-- recommend Foothills and Canyons for sure. Staff extremely helpful on outside restaurant choices, as well. Definitely stay for 3 nights minimum.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
I appreciate the very gracious and favorable feedback on the choice of quality golf, great amenities and food & beverage. Looking forward to welcoming more of our friends home to Barton Creek this Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#42 Family Hotel in Austin
#45 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.