We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit 10/2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #61 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit 10/2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel need to do an inspection of the room to make sure everything is in working order. Handle on toilet stuck, so had to constantly get up to jiggle the handle and lock on patio door was broke.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would like to invite you to contact me directly at james.walsh@omnihotels.com to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    289
    165
    110
    62
See reviews for
280
297
32
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

What a great experience! I was coordinating 12 guys with their rooms, golf, dinner, using the bar area, and breakfast. It all went amazingly smoothly. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty. We golfed at Lakeside and the staff there were top of the line as well. Dinner was amazing and the staff didn't hesistate in helping us split the bill between all of us. The rooms were comfy and the lounge area perfect for our needs. All in all we had a great experience and the staff didn't hesitate at any request. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Came early for a conference to play golf for two days. Played Fazio Foothills and Fazio Canyons. No question to play Canyons vs Foothills.
Rooms are fine. Dinner in the Country dining room..expensive but great steaks. The conference rooms are some of the best I have seen.
I would come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is dated and in much need of a refresh. The front desk was hosted by a trainee who did not know the hotel well enough to provide a good review of the property. The restaurant service was extremely slow. The fitness center equipment was dated and it did not open at the time advertised. The message center did not get messages to the intended parties.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide a candid review of your stay. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would like to invite you to contact me directly at james.walsh@omnihotels.com to discuss further. Again, thank you for staying at Omni Barton Creek and I hope we'll have the opportunity to make things right and win back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our restaurant experience was an absolute joke. Our steaks were brought out 10-15 minutes before the sides. When the sides arrived they were extremely hot so I can only assume that the waiter forgot to put in the order. The only acknowledgement from her and the manager was a simple "we're sorry". In my opinion the experience was so completely horrendous the only possible outcome would have been for the manager to comp the entire meal and express their apologies. When we arrived at the hotel we planned on not leaving the entire time and after that meal we did not eat there again and would never recommend Barton Creek to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a candid review of your stay. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while dining with us for dinner. We have processed a credit for your dinner on Friday evening, which you should receive within 5-7 business days.

Again, thank you for staying at Omni Barton Creek and I hope we'll have the opportunity to make things right and win back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The 4 of us have never been to Austin before, and decided to treat ourselves to a golf and spa getaway. The value was incredible of this large resort. We played golf 3 times, at tremendous golf courses and enjoyed the spa and gym. Everyone were very professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms are nicely done and the beds are really comfortable. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked here for a conference. Here is the good stuff, followed by the not-so-good stuff. For your reference, I am in room 343.

Good: Nice staff. Professional. Helpful. Nice kids and professionals. The food is pretty good too. A little pricey, especially since you are essentially held captive here because of the hotels remote location (cost $38 including tax to get to downtown Austin, and the shuttle that cost $20 plus tip is not readily available. Yesterday, the shuttle was booked for hours). Back to the food – good. Again, good server service levels. The abstract hallways and walkways are charming but not easy to navigate. Even with the good signage. Kind of like a free visit to the Winchester Mystery House.

Not-so-good: The opportunity for improvement is improving some of the basic stuff, like calibrating the clock to the right time (it’s about 15 minutes ahead), and then when daylight savings time hit last night, at least pushing back the big hand. I tried to do it myself, and feel I am clock proficient. I could not see anything that allowed me to changed time. And then fixing the base of the shower control. It is loose. Kind of gross. I am waiting for cockroaches to come out while I am asleep to choke me. The shower head is the worse I have seen since I was forced to stay at the hotel 6. Either super strong and too narrow, or too wide to do any good. I tried to fix it. The shower curtain is sufficient. Two showers, and I am still leaving lots of water on the floor. I cannot seem to find a way to tuck the shower curtain in enough. Plus, the tub is slippery. The traction on the tub is too soft to do any good anymore. The wired internet connection tab is broken. The furnishings are routine and older, even for a resort and spa meant to be seasoned. Not the sort of amenities you would expect for a resort for this pricing. Much better rooms at an older three-star Hilton.

The extra blanket has spots on it – kind of gross. But at least it smells clean. Pillows are tired. So soft and ultimately thin that it cannot keep my knees from touching.

Here are a couple of things that are irritating: a tip of 20% is automatically added to room service and restaurant bills. (The room service tip is in addition to a routine room service charge). And I was dining on my own – not in a group in those occasions. Now, I would probably add 20% anyway because the service is better than average. But it is presumptuous and does not provide for any accountability of service levels. And I probably would not tip room service 20% unless they dropped in for free some type of dessert. And then, the thermostat cannot be read. Numbers way too small. I wear glasses, and can read most small type. The 80 looks like 60 and visa versa and the 70 is in the middle. No idea where I was going when I turned the dial. Finally, the biggest issue: Internet connection too slow. It is free. But I would rather pay for a very strong signal. Very frustrating and unproductive connection. Not cool for a resort and spa in today’s world.

I did not expect to write more negative than positive, so that took me off guard. I will share with management. But Omni acquired this hotel a year ago. Let’s hope they have big plans to update the room ad technology. I would stay again if the conference was here again. But on my own, I would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel have similar views. Higher floor is better than lower in this case - better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would like to invite you to contact me directly at james.walsh@omnihotels.com to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Lakeway Resort and Spa
#3 of 3 in Lakeway
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#9 of 191 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#18 of 191 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Austin
#16 of 191 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Omni Austin at South Park
#33 of 191 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Austin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#33 Business Hotel in Austin
#40 Family Hotel in Austin
#51 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.