We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs some tender loving care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #67 of 182 hotels in Austin
Dallas, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel needs some tender loving care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely setting but needs to have some touch up! Great breakfast buffet! It had rained the night before so it was a lovely morning, would have been nice to sit outside but the patio furniture was wet. The management did not have the foresight to bring the cushions in - so they were soaked!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    195
    100
    68
    47
See reviews for
163
204
30
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is in a great area. All the outdoor facilities are top notch. Tennis, golf, miniature golf, hiking trails, indoor and outdoor pools, spa. You can walk forever on the golf cart paths. The views are amazing. The rooms are very large. All staff are competent and friendly. I was concerned after reading some of the negative reviews on trip advisor so I wanted to write one. The only issue with the hotel is the furnishings and finishes are a little worn. It needs to be redone. They have tried to upgrade the beds with decent toppers and I (and my bad back) thought they were comfortable enough. I would stay here again and hope that now that Omni has taken over ownership they will be upgrading and redoing the inside soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amazing views from room of the Austin hills. Great service, fantastic golf, good food, attentive staff, but chincy on the wifi (512K as part of 12% resort fee and a $14.95 daily charge to get 2MB). Proxomity to downtaown Austin a real plus. Golf course access and quality is top-notch. Overall resort, considering you are within 15 minutes of downtown, makes it a special experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Omni Barton Creek. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our meeting facilities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have mixed feelings about our stay here. There are many things to recommend Barton Creek (recently acquired by Omni), while at the same time it is in need of some refurbishment and improvement. It is probably best to stay here if you want to play golf (beautifully maintained), experience the spa, or want something more quiet than downtown Austin. Do not stay here if you expect a more lively, centrally located place.
The grounds are huge with the facility and amenities quite spread out. You need to allow time to walk to the main lobby area from most rooms and then additional time to get to the self park area which is a rather dark walk at night. While we were there not all of the elevators were properly working (with one being repaired the entire 3 days), and this added to the time to get from our room to other places. Parking is expensive, especially given the self park location; and one really needs a car when staying here, if you want to explore the surrounding area, dine elsewhere, or drive to Lake Travis. The spa location is a bit of a trek from the lobby area and is a bit confusing being located on several levels needing to register and pay in the spa shop instead of in the actual therapy space.
Our room was comfortable tho in need of an update. You'll need to pay more if you want a decent view, as our standard room overlooked another building and driveway area. TV selection could be expanded. The room was clean and quiet.
One of the best deals was the buffet breakfast with its quality of food and numerous choices! We couldn't believe the bounty for $10 that was added to our room rate. I also recommend the spa services as the therapists were top notch. We had fun playing miniature golf with putting green.
Staff for the most part was helpful and personable. The dining room personnel were extremely pleasant and attentive. We did have difficulty with the clock radio for which we had called for assistance. The property engineer was supposed to swap it out the next day but did not.

Room Tip: Check with the registration staff as some rooms have been refurbished. If you have any special needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would like to invite you to contact me directly at james.walsh@omnihotels.com to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Barton Creek is a beautiful resort and the grounds and facilities are amazing. Tucked into the scenic countryside in the Austin area. I was there for three days for a business meeting. The food was good but on par for convention food, nothing special. The meeting rooms and common areas were very nice. The resort is somewhat confusing to get around but fortunately the hotel staff was more than accommodating when asked for directions!
I only gave the resort an average rating primarily because the rooms were really not up to par. My room was beautifully appointed and spacious. I was on the 5th floor and looked out over the golf course and pool. It was a lovely view. On the down side, my TV did not work. I had to make two calls to housekeeping before they sent someone up to fix it. After jiggling a computer chip in the back he got the TV to come on. He said that the TV's were older and needed to be replaced...after that, the tv only worked sporadically....the remote didn't work at all.
The bed was also old and needed to be replaced. They placed a pillow top over the mattress to try to help, but really, they just needed to replace the mattress. The resort should also invest in fitted sheets for the beds as well!!!
Finally, housekeeping left a little to be desired. The second day I was there I went up to my room around noon and they were cleaning the room next door. When I returned to my room around 5pm it still hadn't been cleaned. Again...two calls to housekeeping before anyone showed up. Just an FYI....they don't replace the ceramic coffee cups, they just rinse them in the sink! (ick)
These are all things that can easily be remedies by management. I would go back to Barton Creek but overall I was a little disappointed by the lack of attention to details.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pool/golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would like to invite you to contact me directly at james.walsh@omnihotels.com to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

About what you would come to expect from the zombie chain. Nice (not over the top) and pricey. If you don't golf you can find smaller nicer less expensive places in the Hill Country. Staff was mostly young with little experience. The valet parking, considering you are in the middle of a lot of land, costs too much, and self parking makes for quite an hike. Rooms nice but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would like to invite you to contact me directly at james.walsh@omnihotels.com to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I visited here for 4 days as part of a conference event. When I arrived all their computer systems were down and the reservation was messed up. Additionally most of the rooms were not ready as the cleaning crew had no computerized information to work off of.

After finally getting the room it was ok but nothing to write home about. The view was of the roof of the building next to the pool.... so much for great Hill Country Views. It was clean enough but somehow did not have that 5 star feel. HBO was out for several days as was the in room internet service. On a side note the room walls were very thin and there was lots of noise from the adjoining room (complete with moaning, explicit direction, and verbal enhancements) as well as the hallways.

I tried to get a golf tee time but was told they could not because; yes you guessed it computers were down. Also they had an event on Monday? So I book a spa treatment instead. They called me back 30 minutes before the treatment and stated they made a mistake and had to cancel, did I want one for the following day. It was like a parade of fools.

The morning after the conference I went to the coffee stand at 8:00 for a cup of coffee and a quick breakfast. They had coffee but the kitchen did not deliver the breakfast taco's yet (which they advertised so heavily) and to check back in 1/2 an hour. The food and drink in the restaurant was extremely expensive and pretentious. I don't mind paying for a good meal but the key is good.

While these were not the only disappointments they did rack up. On checkout I was asked how the stay was and I shared my thoughts with them. They discounted the stay (good for my company but did little to help me) and stated they were sorry.

Not someplace I would ever chose to stay on my own.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would like to invite you to contact me directly at james.walsh@omnihotels.com to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Austin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#43 Family Hotel in Austin
#51 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.