We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The scenery is spectacular, the resort needs a little work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #61 of 185 Hotels in Austin
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The scenery is spectacular, the resort needs a little work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recent stay of 3 days, 2 nights with breakfast buffet included. Room 351 facing Fazio Foothills golf course.

THE GOOD:
-Beautiful area and scenery
-Great view from room
-3 great golf courses to choose from
-Expansive resort with many activities
-Great spot for events or weddings
-A good vacation feel and escape
-Spacious rooms
-Good breakfast buffet in dining room

THE BAD:
-Evening arrival to no valet, no parking assistance or baggage help.
-Indifferent staff at reception and check-in. (A recurring theme over the weekend)
-Poor signage and directions to room or elevators
-Confusing hotel layout
-Analog TV for entire weekend, no HD tv and move rental system broken - no explanation or apology from staff
-Nice hotel but aged look and wear showing
-Low water pressure (looking forward to getting home)
-Parking spot is tough to find
-Repeated resort fee on everything gets old quick
-No GPS on the golf carts
-Be prepared to get paired with some random stranger if you don't have a foursome

FINAL VERDICT:
-Good to try at least once
-Come for the golf, not as much for the resort.
-Expect the resort fees on everything.
- A 4 star resort max.
-Valet park. Its pricey but the hassle of parking is worse.
-Anticipate a bit of attitude from the staff.
-Dont stay at the resort the entire time. Venture into Austin for variety.
-Swimming pool area is in dire need of updating. (Needs an infinity edge pool to maximize the beautiful views)

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end of the tower are closer to spa and better chance to find parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. We continue to accommodate a higher number of guests during the summer months and I'm glad that the golf courses were enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    223
    116
    79
    51
See reviews for
197
230
31
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while my wife attended a conference. As a hotelier I appreciate visiting hotels that understand the importance of staff service. Great job to all departments especially the dining room crew. As for the rooms, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The condition was average, everything worked as it should have but had some issues with lamps. Nothing major. Overall a great stay and will be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Barton Creek for a business conference. The area is quite picturesque and the meeting spaces are charming. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I stayed in guest room 133, which is in an odd location near a main hallway so the noise was a bit annoying. Otherwise the room was quite spacious and comfortable, and the bed was great.

My big complaint about the resort is the spa. The spa facilities are outdated and for the prices they charge I would expect remodeled rooms and beautiful, luxurious, calming decor. Instead the locker room and sauna/steam room area felt cramped with low ceilings and old finishes. The waiting area looked like it could have been in a doctor's office with boring chairs, white walls and a couple old magazines. The massage and pedicure I received were both good, but overall I was disappointed with the experience because of the outdated facilities. For a resort with "spa" in the name, I expect better!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide a candid review of your stay. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would like to invite you to contact me directly at james.walsh@bartoncreek.com to discuss further. Again, thank you for staying at Barton Creek and I hope we'll have the opportunity to make things right and win back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I took a weekend vacation to Austin. She wanted to do the spa thing and I wanted to play golf. This resort is very spacious and clean. The outdoor pool leaves something to be desired, but the indoor pool is nice. Also, the golf is top notch. The courses are all centrally located and maintained very well. The only disadvantage of the hotel is that it seemed to be pretty far from everything. However, I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our championship golf courses. Dallas Morning News recently awarded both Fazio courses as Texas' Most Beautiful 18. We are always looking for new ways to maximize our guest experience, and input from recent guests like yourself proves to be invaluable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference (why else would you stay anywhere but SoCo in Austin?). The grounds are picture perfect and the resort is exquisite. And you'll pay for it if you stay here. It's too far from anything to make sense of running out for a quick anything. A hamburger was $16, a glass of wine $11 and if you want bar snacks, like peanuts, to go with your wine they are $7. Bottled water in the room is $9. Valet parking is $25 per day and there's always a long wait to get your car. There is a small self park garage if you're willing to walk .25 mile on the golf cart path to get there and back. Not convenient for anyone with luggage.

Personally, I like to spend my money making memories, not paying a fortune for everyday necessities. I won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We apologize to this past guest for an unsatisfactory experience and appreciate the constructive feedback. While much of the guest feedback we receive is overwhelmingly positive, it is our goal to ensure all guest expectations are exceeded; this information will help us do just that moving forward.

I invite this guest to contact me directly at james.walsh@bartoncreek.com for further discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were at Barton Creek for 3 nights the first weekend in June. It was great. It was our 2nd time there but it had probably been 8 years. We had a Scenic Terrace room up on the 9th floor. It was a great view of the Texas hill country. We had two days of a spa package and one day of Bed and Breakfast package. The spa was great. People were great. Had a 80 minute couples massage that was the best I had ever had. For the second day they allowed me to give my spa time to my wife so she was able to upgrade from a 50 to an 80 minute facial. She said it was to die for. Didnt play golf this trip but the courses looked to be in great condition. Everyone at the resort was 100% accomadating. They all acknowledged us as we walked through the resort with a pleasant hello. Service around the oll was good.

If you want to go off resort for Dinner I would recommend two places. Saltlick BBQ can not be beat. The one in Driftwood is out in the Hill country and is a great atmosphere. The other place is Jack Allens Kitchen. Great locally sourced menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities, excellent service by our team members & Three Springs Spa experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hill Country again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went there for the first time for a quick weekend getaway. The resort is located away from downtown Austin. The views are amazing. They definitely cater to conferences and weddings. Both were taking place while we were there so the hotel was crowded, but amazingly it was quiet in our room. The hotel is showing it's age. The carpet needs to be replaced and the baseboards and doors need to be repainted. The bathroom and bedroom is decorated Texas chic and the room is a good size. I loved the bath products. I'm very picky and don't normally use hotel shampoo, conditioner or lotions, but I loved their bath products. It's from their three springs spa. We had the breakfast package so we got to have the breakfast buffet each morning. I would definitely recommend the buffet. The selection was wonderful and there was also an omelet
station. I have to comment that the staff at the hotel worked very hard. We never saw a worker just standing around. The servers at the pool was constantly working and picking up towels and empty cups. The pool was packed not a single chair empty, but they had plenty of servers to take care of everyone I got a deep tissue massage at the spa. Which was wonderful. My husband played golf and loved it. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. I have personally passed along your glowing comments to our Director of Operations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Austin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
#45 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.