We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice golf/spa resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #63 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice golf/spa resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Attended a week long conference here and was very impressed with the room, staff, spa and golf course. Very pricey, but worth the chunk of change for a quick getaway. Friends of ours stayed there for a couple's romantic weekend and couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are thrilled to hear about your week long stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience. Look forward to your return stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    233
    119
    85
    52
See reviews for
202
235
31
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I wanted to update my review from last summer having just stayed at Barton Creek over the MLK weekend.
Wow.
James Walsh and his staff hit it out of the park; this is what being the GM of a high end property is all about. My family and I (4 of us) had a wonderful time, the staff were very attentive to our needs, and the facility was absolutely top notch again. So glad we came back for this trip, and we are definitely big fans once again.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlookg the pool/golf course/bridge side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We greatly appreciate your return visit to Barton Creek. I'm pleased to share your positive feedback with our team. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed in some very nice resorts in the US, Canada, and South America and so my expectations for Barton Creek were based on experiences at other resorts (think Post Hotel and Spa in Lake Louise, Canada). What I found was that Barton Creek is average at best compared with other resorts/destination spas. The room I was given was spacious but there was nothing special about it that distinguished it from the typical Marriott or Sheraton. The furnishings and decor were dated and the bedding and linens were passable. In other words, the room was average for a hotel but in my experience below average for a resort/destination spa. As for dining at Barton Creek, I did have the breakfast buffet and again my experience was average at best. At 8:30 in the morning it looked like none of the platters had been refreshed and the food tasted as much, the hash browns were stale and lukewarm, and the eggs cold by the time I got back to my table. The service in the restaurant was good overall as the servers and hostesses were very polite and responsive. That said, I waited quite a while in an almost empty dining room for the server to come to my table and that was after he spent several minutes at the register that was positioned right next to my table. At the end of the day, when you consider the cost of staying at Barton Creek, which includes the room charge plus a daily variable rate resort charge depending on what package or room you reserve, tax, and parking, it is an expensive option for an experience that is nothing special.

Room Tip: Consider the add-on costs (Daily Resort Charge, parking, etc) in addition to the basic room charge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We apologize to this past guest for an unsatisfactory experience and appreciate the constructive feedback. While much of the guest feedback we receive is overwhelmingly positive, it is our goal to ensure all guest expectations are exceeded; this information will help us do just that moving forward.

I invite this guest to contact me directly at james.walsh@bartoncreek.com for further discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had our daughter's wedding at this facility on November 10, 2012. It is the perfect place if you want a location to provide all aspects of the wedding day. We had the Ceremony in the Pavilion which provided an outdoor like atmosphere, the Cocktail Hour in the Palm Court and Reception in the Governor's Ballroom. Each location was perfectly decorated to our specifications and the food was delicious, and served promptly by a friendly and attentive staff. Their Catering Sales Manager, Lisa Pritchett was wonderful to work with from start to finish. Many of our out of town guests commented on how nice it was for them to come here and stay and not have to worry about driving anywhere else. We also had tee times arranged for many of our guests who were able to play golf that morning on one of their well manicured courses. As you can see from my photo of the Pavilion, this location provided our guests with lovely views of rolling hills and wooded grounds, and made for great backgrounds for the wedding photos. We were all very pleased with our decision to have Katie and Jon's wedding day at this location and all of our 150 guests agreed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hill country view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Barton Creek as the venue for your daughter's wedding. We pride ourselves in delivering memorable wedding experiences and our team will be pleased to hear your feedback! Congratulations to Katie and Jon, we hope to see you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I spent our New Year's Eve here and it was wonderful! We had the most awesome buffet dinner and the kids even got to meet Disney's Sierra McCormick! Ice skating was fun too. You must try the breakfast buffet too (we had the Winter Wishes Family Pkg) which was included in our rate. Overall service was impressive and our room was big and very clean! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for sending in a glowing review of your experience with us this winter. We are please to hear that you enjoyed meeting Disney's Sierra McCormick and had some fun on the ice as well. Please feel free to share pictures from your stay at Barton Creek Resort on Facebook: www.facebook.com/bartoncreekresort or Tweet to us: @bartoncreekstay. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was a great experience! Every staff member we encountered was fabulous. The food at the 8212 Wine Bar and Grill was fantastic. The prices at lunch were not bad either. We were surprised that the prices were not outrageous. Breakfast in the Hill Country Dining Room was not my favorite. Go to their gym. This is not your typical hotel gym--it's huge. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the golf course. Mine had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Our staff will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed 8212 Wine Bar and Grill and the fitness center. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I needed a few days away from home.. and this was the perfect spot. He was able to play golf and I enjoyed the spa. We also ate all our meals on property and it as all good. The staff was fantastic and the view from our scenic balcony room was beautiful. We also got a great deal by spending enough money in the resort's boutiques to get us another two night stay! I will say it's a little more family friendly than this newly married couple would have liked, but in a few years it might be even more perfect. Also, we were given a two queen beds and there were no king bed rooms available for a move. Still.. I left Barton Creek more relaxed than I had been in MONTHS.

Room Tip: Chose the scenic view with odd numbers for a better view. Also, ask in advance for a king bed if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Barton Creek. Thanks for taking the time to provide such positive feedback about your experience (and we agree we have great shopping in our boutiques!). Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#44 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.