We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 years and I keep coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #63 of 188 Hotels in Austin
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“20 years and I keep coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a place with a decent pool but a great location, 4 fantastic golf courses, and its sooo quiet. I just sit on the back deck rocking away in my chair as deer run across the 18th green. If been coming here since I was 14 and never get tired of it. Also, my sister had her wedding reception here and it was terrific. I won't ever stop visiting. Side note: if you go around Christmas, they ice over the concrete in the wedding pavilion for ice skating.

Room Tip: Stay at the spa. Much quieter than main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for being one of our most loyal customers - you have been coming here almost as long as the resort has been open! You'll have to come stay during the holidays this year and check out our all-new Holiday Lights & Ice event ... for the first time, our ice skate rink will be outdoors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    244
    127
    90
    54
See reviews for
226
248
31
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently rented one of the Barton Creek villas to celebrate a family member's birthday. Several members of our family, including 3 that were on this trip, are Club Corp members and have rented villas at other Club Corp locations and had a wonderful experience.

During check-in we let the front desk employee know that the bill would be divided by 3 individuals. The front desk employee stated that would not be a problem and all payment arrangements could be completed at check-out very easily.

The villas at Barton Creek are fully furnished homes that have 3 bedrooms, 4 bath rooms and a full kitchen. Outside there is a grill for you to cook-out and a large patio. The home was very nice and a great choice for a family of 5. During our stay 3 members of our family golfed. Their experience on the courses (Foothills & Canyons) were very positive. The golf courses were challenging and the scenery was beautiful. We also visited the spa for massages. The amenities were fantastic and very relaxing. While at the resort the staff was friendly and informative.

Upon checkout our experience began to take a turn. We were presented with a bill at checkout, but then the front desk employee realized that some of the charges were not correct. We also wished to divide the total charges by 3. To give her credit, the front desk employee did try to correct the errors and accommodate our request. However, she and her co-worker were unable to figure out how to do so while we waited so she gave us a print out of the charges she would be putting thru (after about 20minutes). Once we returned home (4 days after our trip) our credit cards were charged several times with various amounts. Some of the charges were for our actual stay and some were holds, however neither were distinguishable or mentioned upon check out. Essentially, we charged holds to the tune of about $2,000.00. That was in addition to the actual charges for our stay and services. In addition, the resort also charged a credit card that was not presented at check-in or check-out but months prior to hold the reservation.

After speaking with a representative in Accounting, she stated they needed to take time to review the account and call back. After waiting several hours, I ended up calling back to find out the status. It was only after I called that an email and phone confirmation of the charges was discussed. On a positive note, the Accounting representative was able to remove the excessive hold charges immediately.

Of course, however, the resolution could not have been that simple. The following day we received an email from another Barton Creek employee wanting to charge an additional amount, beyond the charges discussed with Accounting.

The communication between departments and the billing process could really use an upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I want to extend my personal apologies to you and your family members for the unnecessary charges and the confusion you experienced. This is certainly not typical at Barton Creek and I understand the issue has since been resolved. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the golf courses and the villa overall and hope your family will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Even though this is for a business trip, the resort is simply fabulous.. Room is neat and clean with comfortable beds and pillows. Slept like a baby...

The lobby to room though is a short walk, but you may get lost for the first time.
Food in the restaurant is top notch with a wide variety of selection which include smoke salmon.. Very European!

There is a spa and golf course which I did not get to use.
The conference facility is top notch too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for staying with us ... we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time work or play brings you back to the Austin area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I recently stayed here for one night on a business trip. We arrived after dark so we did not get the full effect of the beautiful property until the following morning. It is a very large, picturesque resort. Due to the size of the resort it is obvious that they have added sections to the hotel over time and the hallways have strange angles and seem to be pieced together. If you have a higher room number, you will be in for quite a walk from check-in. My room also opened to the loading docks for delivery trucks that came all morning, starting at 4am with back-up beep signals activated. The room was large and well appointed. The dining is all on the lower level (below lobby level) and difficult to find. Breakfast buffet had a variety options for a good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and providing your feedback. We hope your next stay is longer so you can get the full effect of the beautiful surroundings, like you mentioned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

To all the Event Planners and Conference planners out there...this property is as close to perfect as you can get but be sure to negotiate free water in the rooms & free internet in sleeping rooms AND meeting spaces. The food is wonderful, the staff is top notch and property is convenient to get to and beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Barton Creek to host your meeting and for leaving such a glowing review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Barton Creek Resort for my birthday weekend. This is our 5th time to this property and it never disappoints. The rooms are spacious with pretty views of the property and the pretty community around. At dusk the deer come out on the golf course and for us city dwellers it is always relaxing to see. The staff is nice and cater to your every need. If you looking for a quiet weekend away, I highly recommend this hotel! Also have breakfast downstairs it's excellent!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday at Barton Creek! We appreciate your recommendation and your return visits (and I can't help but agree that our breakfast downstairs at Hill Country Dining Room is excellent!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is OLD and has its issues. The room was large, but not very nice. The bed was old and not comfortable. 2 nights they were having trouble with some "water penetration alarm" (??) that beeped loudly for hours in the middle of the night (in the halls). And there isn't a very dramatic or large lobby area or pool area. Maybe great for golfers, but as a get-away with your spouse, I would say look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I'm sorry to hear the issues you experienced during your stay and we will take your feedback into account as we continuously make upgrades to optimize the guest experience. We recently upgraded our fire safety systems and had an unforeseen device failure in a separate building from the resort. We've moved forward to make improvements to this new system quickly to ensure we avoid a similar occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Drive, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#44 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.