We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Allen's Kitchen

Jack Allen's Kitchen
7720 Highway 71 West, Austin, TX 78735
512.852.8558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Austin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of the few restaurants that I can take friends, family, or clients and know we are going to have a good experience with the food, drinks, staff, atmosphere, the whole package.
The salads are amazing, the chorizo stuffed porkloin is awesome and making my mouth water just thinking about it. The blonde brownie pie is the best thing ever. If you haven't checked this place out you need to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    73
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having only been here for their great weekend brunch a few times we went yesterday for dinner so I did not know what to expect. I knew the quality and freshness would probably continue but I had never seen their menu. We started with the blue crab artichoke dip and it was good. I added a Mexican Martini that was very smooth and tasty. Lots of interesting choices for entrees but I wanted fish so I got the salmon over the Ruby Red trout. My friend got the chicken fried NY strip. Finished the meal with some key lime pie. Everything was very good indeed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You wont be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We actually passed it up and had to double back and we were soooo glad we did. Friendly staff, clean, and great food. I had the spinach ravioli and they were awesome. My husband had the fat jack burger and it was great too! Guacamole was a little too oniony for me but still ok with homemade chips. We both left stuffed. A little pricey for lunch but worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We tried this place based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. My husband is pretty picky about restaurants and he really liked it. We started with the Chicken Nachitoes appetizer and it was excellant, different spices, plenty of it. I had the Salmon with a delicious tomatillo sauce and had enough left over to bring home. Husband had the pork ribs and there was nothing left on his plate except the stripped bones. We were too full for the savory desserts and I wish we could have gone back for the Sunday brunch that looked amazing. The drinks and wine and beer selection were gracious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent food, great atmosphere & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i wanted to find a place to get great food, relax and listen to some music while having an alcoholic beverage. This place was perfect! We got an appetizer, meals and beers. Everything was delicious the music was relaxing and the place was packed. The have a great outside patio and bar where you can sit and eat under long heaters over head. We loved it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Jack Allen's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jack Allen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Allen's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.