We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret, Sexy Austin Eatery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garrido's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Garrido's
360 Nueces & 3rd Street, Austin, TX (Downtown)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 3rd
Description: Inspired by authentic Mexican recipes from the kitchen of Chef Garrido’s grandmother. We've infused contemporary flavors from some of the world's finest cuisines to create an original menu. Striving to bring modern Mexican cooking to the forefront of Austin's dining scene, Garrido's uses seasonal, fresh, local, and organic ingredients and serves small plates allowing our guests to design their dining experience and combine their favorite flavors.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Secret, Sexy Austin Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Romantic hideaway on dead-end Nueces and 3rd- great for first-time dates too as there's an outdoor seating area, with a view of lazy, Shoal Creek - we were greeted by some funky guitar art and an interesting seating area outside the restaurant. There's even a super-cool-people access point via a foot/bike bridge that connects Nueces to West Ave!

Vegetarians (not vegan) will love the Mushrooms and Rajas tacos. Be sure and ask for the specials...yum!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunkport, Maine
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food, live music, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic, fresh, tasty food. We just had Sunday brunch at this great little restaurant. The Eggs Benedicte was delicious with a slightly spicy hollandaise sauce. The smoked salmon plate with a warm ciabatta was so good, with a very good portion of salmon. The jazz band played in the corner, not too loudly. Next time I'm in Austin I will be heading to this restaurant for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great for a Monday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

On a Monday night at the end of short vacation, we wanted a good meal without spending too much. This was an EXCELLENT choice. Great deals on food and drinks. Mimosas were $2 or $3, and they had a few other drink deals as well as half priced appetizers and some other small dishes. We had several drinks (jalapeno watermelon one and plain mojito were surprisingly good) and made a meal of tapas that were on sale. (The shrimp cocktail dip thing was an excellent deal.) We sat outside thanks to the heated lamps and even though we were the only ones outside, service was great (rather than forgetting about us!). As we were the only ones outside in November, it was a quaint, peaceful atmosphere, filled with delicious food, drinks, and service at a great deal! I'm sure this is great any night of the week, but if you're looking for somewhere to go on a slow Monday night, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food outside by Shoal Creek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The food was very flavorful though a slightly lighter hand with some of the sauces on the tacos would have been good - great ingredients and great service. The drinks were also great - a friend had the Texas Sipper and recommends it, I liked my margarita. Watch for mosquitos and ask for bug repellant if you see them as Shoal Creek is just below the deck. Also, be sure to ask them to turn the fans on - both for comfort when it's warm and muggy and because the bugs won't be as bad if the air's moving well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great for groups or dates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We took a business group of 20 and our servers, Jason & Jessie were fabulous! The menu is fabulous & GLUTEN FREE! I tried chips, salas, guch, tacos.....portions great flavor superb!
Lovely outside porch for quite date night.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrido's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.