We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, clean, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Austin at The Domain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Austin at The Domain to your Saves list
The Westin Austin at The Domain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11301 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #22 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location, clean, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had I not gotten a group rate for a family function, I would not have booked this hotel based strictly on price. That said, it was warm and inviting and the staff at registration could not have been more helpful. Our king bed room was spotless.
I took off points because there were virtually no drawers for clothing: one tiny one in each of the bedsides and 3 @ 14" x 12" x 5" drawers under the TV. Controlling room temperature was very tricky and I'm not sure I ever figued it out. There was a mini fridge and safe in the room along with an ironing board/iron. They were, at least, generous with hangers. Nice shower and VERY comfy bedding.
Ate breakfast in their restaurant. Very pricey. I got the breakfast buffet for a reduced price if $10 due to the group rate; normally $17.50, that included a served plate of ham, pancakes, waffles and/or omelet at no additional charge. As friendly as the server was (called me 'ma'am' more that I care to count), we had to reminder her to serve our drinks.
The comp breakfast at the Embassy Suites in Orlando put this one to shame.
The location is within The Domain shopping center. For my needs it was @ 20 minutes from every place I needed to be.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
blondyblu, Thank you for the review and I apologize you needed to remind your server to bring your beverages. We'll touch on that with today's training topic. We hope to see you again.
VR,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    232
    49
    11
    13
See reviews for
132
149
33
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great beds, pillows and covers. The room has also got good light blocking shades. The breakfast buffet was excellent, you could get freshly made pancakes, omelets and eggs. The bar was vibrant and interesting. Great location

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Jomomocomo, I'm pleased you were pleased. We'll work hard to keep up the good work.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Westin at the Domain three times in the last year and what stands out is how well trained the staff is. Every person from the ones at the front desk (most memorably Katie and Louisa) to housekeeping to the bartenders and restaurant staff (including Kristie) was polite, efficient, and friendly. On one trip we had left an electronic device at the bar and when we called to find it almost 12 hours later, the Westin had it and was ready to FedEx it overnight to us once we proved it was ours. On another visit, our server charmed the socks off our littlest picky eater and then gave us a list of a couple dozen of her favorite Austin restaurants.

It has been worth it to pay a bit extra for an executive level room. Each time it has come with a high-floor room, free bottled water, free internet, and free breakfast. If you need internet and breakfast, it's more than a wash. And the breakfast is excellent: buckets of berries, omelets made to order, biscuits, and you can order off-menu or visit their excellent buffet.

Parking is free and close but it looks like some of the Domain shoppers sometimes use the lot when parking across the street gets scarce. We've always managed to find a spot somewhere, though.

Room Tip: If you need internet and breakfast, opt for an executive level room.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Browncoat11, Thank you for such a detailed review. We have our own "picky eaters" at home and appreciate when thay are charmed when we are away from home as well. It makes everyones day better.
Hope to see you again, soon
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a great stay here! The rooms are beautiful and clean, the location is great, and the staff was very welcoming and friendly! We came for the Austin Grand Prix and we found that we were close to everything we needed. The beds were really comfortable and we slept great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Domain and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very clean and the area it resides in is up and coming. It reminds me a lot of Houston’s city center. The room was very clean the one we stayed in. The hotel bar is top notch and it also has numerous sitting areas within the lobby and other parts around the lobby. There is plenty to do around the Domain itself. There is a lot of shopping and the Domain has some good restaurants not to mention a very upscale movie theater. If you stay at this hotel, you must go to the restaurant called Gloria’s which is simply awesome. It is literally across from the hotel. You will not be disappointed by this restaurant. The hotel also has a good pool area plus a fitness center. All in all, it was a very nice place to stay at. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Philip L, Our goal is that you feel better when you leave than you did when you arrived. Helping eleviate stress leads to "a better you". Glad we could help.
Be Well,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I decided to get away and destress over the weekend. We booked the Westin Austin at the Domain based on the reviews seen on Tripadvisor. Upon entering the hotel, we encountered big smiling faces behind the check in desk. Every hotel staff member, that we interacted with, was courteous, polite and extremely helpful. The location was terrific and easy to find. The hotel is well maintained. We observed the care the employees have on keeping the excellent score that we gave them. Great Job Westin staff and thanks for a truly wonderful stress free weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Westin was adequate for an upscale hotel... But not terrific. Domain was interesting. If you come here, be ready for upscale shopping. We had a view of construction and roof top... Kinda crappy. Room was nice but not the best I've had. All-in-all, a nice stay but I'm not drooling to come back. If you are attending for a conference, you will be fine...just be ready to pay for the shopping!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
David K, Thank you for the review. We'll work toward awesome with the hope that you will come again.
VR,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Address: 11301 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Austin at The Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.