We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for our 1st Austin trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Austin at The Domain

Save Saved
You added The Westin Austin at The Domain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11301 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #24 of 184 Hotels in Austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay for our 1st Austin trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile


This hotel couldn't be in a better location to see ALL of what Austin has to offer. We were visiting for the 1st time as our friends were raving about their visits. None of them could give me a concrete answer on where to stay so I decide to just venture out on my own and figure it out. I'm glad I did. I picked the Westin at The Domain because from the website and a map looked very central and convenient. It was even more than that.

1). Hotel (rooms/amentities): Has everything you would expect a hotel has, gym, pool & hot tub (both outdoor so make sure weather is nice), restaurant and bar in the lobby and is extremely clean. The room was awesome and the bathrooms were as solid as Westins always are and best part was how clean and comfortable everything was.

2). Staff: we wanted places to eat and see and figured we would ask the staff the night we arrived as concierge was closed when we got there (11pm). 20 minutes later we had a list of places and locations for a bunch of spots around town. Not just downtown but also some must dos all over Austin. They were very friendly and accommodating and were very happy to help.

3). Location: Short ride to every part of Austin from Round Rock to Lake Travis to UT and downtown Austin, I felt like we got in the car and within a minutes we were at our location.

4). Hotel & Surrounding: This hotel is right smack in the middle of an up and coming area and is within 2 minute walk to an entire shopping district of its own (The Domain) and plenty of good restaraunts and even an movie theatre. There's plenty to do in the area for any down time or even for meaningful shopping. Highly reccommend looking up "The Domain" before going.

Overall, one of my favorite hotel stays period, has everything you could want in a hotel experience! Book here and you won't regret it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    202
    45
    9
    10
See reviews for
112
134
30
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was my second stay at this property. The Westin always offers clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price with the necessary amenities that one would need staying in this hotel category. As a business traveler, a nice room and room service is a must. The room service at this property is very good with a good menu. The front desk is friendly and helpful. I also had access to one of their conference rooms, which was well appointed and comfortable. As for location, if you're staying north west of downtown, this location has it all complete with upscale shopping at The Domain, which is literally across the street from the hotel. Great hotel and I will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I spent Mon-Thurs at the Westin for 9 months and the staff became a second family. The front desk has some of the friendless people I have ever met and the General Manger always made sure everything ran smoothly. The rooms are super modern and clean. The beds are very comfortable and the gym is great.

Room Tip: High floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Having family/grandchildren in Austin, we travel frequently to visit - every 2-3 months if lucky. After staying at other properties in Austin, we now choose the Westin at the Domain ALWAYS. Clean, high quality in decor, stafff, service and food/restaurant. Oh - and cannot forget the bar as well:-) They exude the true GENUINE Texan charm. They are wonderful to little ones and go out of their way to accommodate their needs as well as ours. Not to mention - you are on the edge of a lovely outdoor 'mall' w/ lovely stores as well as fabulous Restaurants (ie "North") If you stay once you will find you will come back again and again to the Westin at the Domain. AND if you are a Starwood Perferred Customer - even better. We stayed just 4 nights this time and paid entirely with points! Noticed ALL ages there. Vibrant in decor/energy/overall atmosphere. I think they are dog friendly as well. If you are traveling for business-HIGHLY recommend this hotel as well. Lots of tech people there. Oh! Almost forgot - the bellmen go out of their way to make you feel welcome as soon as you step out of the car!! Thank you Westin at the Domain. Great job-we will see you again in a couple of months!

Room Tip: We usually stay on the 6th floor facing the 'mall'. Always comfortable (Westin Heavenly bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Westin Austin at the Domain very nice hotel in an emerging area on the north side of Austin.

This is a relatively new, well kept, very well managed hotel. Almost too well - the registration clerk is trained to walk guests the four steps from registration to the elevator after checking in. I'd be happy with "the elevators are to the right". In the evening, at the registration rush hour, I think they even have greeters waiting for new guests, which may be overkill. I saw a morning standup meeting taking place while I was on the way to breakfast one morning.

The hotel is located in the middle of something I can't describe - its like a shopping town - a very decentralized shopping mall, with a Fiat car dealership as one of the stores - residential apartments and town homes being built, some office spaces, etc. In fact, the view from my room window was of concrete and construction of new residential spaces behind the hotel. It was not beautiful and scenic.

The hotel, however, was first class. The room was clean, comfortable, and functional. The bed was good, mattress firm, pillows soft and plentiful. I slept well.

Service everywhere was great. Checkin was easy.

I enjoyed breakfasts - with the buffet being very good and the offer of a custom made omelette, pancakes, or waffle - delivered by the waitress, enhancing the value. A nice selection of fresh fruits, oatmeal, granola, yogurts, and breads is enhanced by hot offerings including eggs, meats, and potatoes.

The lobby space was comfortable and relaxing. Parking was easy and near the entrance.

As I was at the Westin for meetings there, I chose it for the location. But otherwise, its probably not the place to be if you're a tourist in Austin, unless the shopping mall is your destination or your friends and family are nearby.

The hotel is in an area with great shopping - there's a Macy's, a Dillards, a Dick's and a movie theater in the Domain center (among other stores), and nearby I found other malls and shopping and lots of restaurants - almost all national chains.

Traffic in the area isn't good - so give yourself time. Its a short drive from downtown Austin, mostly on highways, but congestion during business hours seems to be the rule. We went into Austin for dinner one night and leaving around 7:30pm, had a short simple drive. But if we left earlier, it might have been much longer.

The drive to the airport mid-afternoon was also relatively short - about 20 minutes with minimal traffic, but I am told that during rush hours, it can get much worse.

So, if you're going to be near North Austin, this is a quality choice - not cheap, but good quality...a standard Westin that you can trust.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I recently visited the Westin in North Austin for business/cocktail meeting...had not been to this hotel yet, and a bit out of my way from down south, but turned out to be very impressive. The lobby bar ws very "hip" and easy to conduct my meeting in, while service was fast and friendly. Wait staff was not intrusive but were attentive to our need for drink or snack...my client was staying there, and said the rooms were excellent. Wine selection by the glass was impressive, but also expensive...expected these days at a nice place. No idea on price of rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We took our daughter and her friends to Westin Domain for her 13th birthday. The Staff was wonderfully nice and took the girls to the stores in the Domain on the golf cart. While we were gone, they brought chocolate cake to the room and wrote Happy Birthday in chocolate on the plate and even hand wrote a birthday card! they were great. we all had fun. The rooms, pool, whole hotel was very nice and even better than i expected. Cant say enough good things - would go back for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Address: 11301 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#11 Family Hotel in Austin
#16 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Austin at The Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.