We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Master of its Domain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Austin at The Domain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Austin at The Domain to your Saves list
The Westin Austin at The Domain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11301 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #25 of 185 Hotels in Austin
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Master of its Domain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Westin Austin at the Domain very nice hotel in an emerging area on the north side of Austin.

This is a relatively new, well kept, very well managed hotel. Almost too well - the registration clerk is trained to walk guests the four steps from registration to the elevator after checking in. I'd be happy with "the elevators are to the right". In the evening, at the registration rush hour, I think they even have greeters waiting for new guests, which may be overkill. I saw a morning standup meeting taking place while I was on the way to breakfast one morning.

The hotel is located in the middle of something I can't describe - its like a shopping town - a very decentralized shopping mall, with a Fiat car dealership as one of the stores - residential apartments and town homes being built, some office spaces, etc. In fact, the view from my room window was of concrete and construction of new residential spaces behind the hotel. It was not beautiful and scenic.

The hotel, however, was first class. The room was clean, comfortable, and functional. The bed was good, mattress firm, pillows soft and plentiful. I slept well.

Service everywhere was great. Checkin was easy.

I enjoyed breakfasts - with the buffet being very good and the offer of a custom made omelette, pancakes, or waffle - delivered by the waitress, enhancing the value. A nice selection of fresh fruits, oatmeal, granola, yogurts, and breads is enhanced by hot offerings including eggs, meats, and potatoes.

The lobby space was comfortable and relaxing. Parking was easy and near the entrance.

As I was at the Westin for meetings there, I chose it for the location. But otherwise, its probably not the place to be if you're a tourist in Austin, unless the shopping mall is your destination or your friends and family are nearby.

The hotel is in an area with great shopping - there's a Macy's, a Dillards, a Dick's and a movie theater in the Domain center (among other stores), and nearby I found other malls and shopping and lots of restaurants - almost all national chains.

Traffic in the area isn't good - so give yourself time. Its a short drive from downtown Austin, mostly on highways, but congestion during business hours seems to be the rule. We went into Austin for dinner one night and leaving around 7:30pm, had a short simple drive. But if we left earlier, it might have been much longer.

The drive to the airport mid-afternoon was also relatively short - about 20 minutes with minimal traffic, but I am told that during rush hours, it can get much worse.

So, if you're going to be near North Austin, this is a quality choice - not cheap, but good quality...a standard Westin that you can trust.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    204
    46
    9
    11
See reviews for
114
136
30
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I recently visited the Westin in North Austin for business/cocktail meeting...had not been to this hotel yet, and a bit out of my way from down south, but turned out to be very impressive. The lobby bar ws very "hip" and easy to conduct my meeting in, while service was fast and friendly. Wait staff was not intrusive but were attentive to our need for drink or snack...my client was staying there, and said the rooms were excellent. Wine selection by the glass was impressive, but also expensive...expected these days at a nice place. No idea on price of rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We took our daughter and her friends to Westin Domain for her 13th birthday. The Staff was wonderfully nice and took the girls to the stores in the Domain on the golf cart. While we were gone, they brought chocolate cake to the room and wrote Happy Birthday in chocolate on the plate and even hand wrote a birthday card! they were great. we all had fun. The rooms, pool, whole hotel was very nice and even better than i expected. Cant say enough good things - would go back for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our Corvette Club held their Christmas party at The Westin. It was fabulous! Every staff member we had contact with was helpful, and super nice. A lot of our members stayed overnight and everyone was pleased with how nice, clean and comfortable their rooms were. Our party was the best ever and so was our stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice place to have a holiday gathering, and getting to stay there overnight was a real treat! Beautiful place to stay and relax. Bed was wonderful, and the room was exceptional. Staff was professional and very helpful. The bar and area and outside were convenient. I am not a smoker, but my husband is, and it was good for him to have a place outside to smoke. The only thing we didn't like is that the breakfast prices at the restaurat are overpriced for what is offered. We will definitely stay there again, given the opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel but not so close to downtown. Friendly staff and good service. Area restaurants are great. Great place to relax and shop. If you are looking for a place close to the capital, this is not your hotel. Traffic causes a 50 minute drive. Non traffic times 15 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and we enjoyed just as much the second time around. The staff are very friendly. The heavenly bed is just that. Food at the hotel restaurant is quite good (try the smoked brisket chile).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Address: 11301 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Austin at The Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.