We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and great shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Austin at The Domain

Save Saved
You added The Westin Austin at The Domain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11301 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #22 of 184 hotels in Austin
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and great shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Although this Westin location is somewhat out of the way from many of Austin's "classic" attractions, the calming atmosphere was delightful. The variety of shops just steps away was a lot of fun, with everything available from great Italian food to Tiffany jewellery.
And if you don't feel like going out for dinner, the "Happy Hour" half price drinks and food are right there in the laid back, modern lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    193
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
109
129
29
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Westin Domain in Austin is not downtown and I was there for the U.S. Formula 1 Grand Prix. They took advantage of the race to triple the room rates. More than triple the rates! Overall, not a bad hotel but not the best Westin I've stayed at. However all the people who worked there were very nice, even if some were contract workers for the race.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanhau, Front Office Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied by the location of our hotel. As stated on our website, we are a quick 15 minute drive from downtown. However, The Domain, in which we are located, is itself a very desirable destination with lots of shopping, dining and entertainment options.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further detail. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to do so.

Sean Haughey
Front Office Manager
512.687.6634
sean.haughey@westinaustinatthedomain.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

When I made the reservation, i checked out the website to see what it looked like. I think the website needs new pictures because in person, the lobby and the rooms looked way better in person. The beds were amazing like other westin properties. One thing i definitely appreciated was the room attendant's service. I requested mulitple times, but without fail, they came right away to give me what i requested for. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Westin Domain in Austin is fantastic. Wonderful bed, huge shower and a great bar. Within walking distance of a very nice movie theatre the Westin was well worth it. The rooms are very big. The only negative would be that WIFI is not complimentary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Domain in Austin for work in September. Overall, I had a great experience at the hotel. While it is not in the heart of Austin (quite far North), it is a nice property with a lot of services around it. It is right next to a large mall and has some quality food options itself (really enjoyed my dinner). Further, I was able to get an excellent rate so the value for money was quite high. If I need to return to North Austin, I would enjoy returning to the Westin Domain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

One of my younger sisters and I decided to have a girl's weekend away from our kids and husbands. We wanted something that was a little posh, in a good location with lots of shopping and dining options. The Westin was PERFECT. To begin with, I called the Westin directly to see if there were any specials currently going on. This was after pricing it on various internet sites and also through a few other travel options that I have. The gentleman that I spoke with, extremely helpful, polite, humorous, and he was able to reserve a room for us at a great deal. I received a couple of emails from them prior to our trip, which was also nice.

Location: Was exactly what we were looking for. There were numerous shops and places to dine at all within easy walking distance. As in across the street. The Westin in on the end of the Domain shopping area, before what looked to be condo/apts began. This was nice because that meant you weren't in the middle of all the shopping where noise and traffic might be a concern. The variety of shops and restaurants was also nice.

Hotel: The inside feels very urban to me. Not sure if that is the correct style, but modern, straight lines, clean, earthy tones. Everything looked very nice. When you walk in, there is a lounge area to the right and the bar with more lounge space is to the left. Check-in was straight ahead.

Room: Again, a very city urban feel. I will admit, that I hated the color of the carpet, but my sister loved it. Also the closet door looks weird. Reminded me of those tall filing cabinets from school. But loved everything else. The beds....wow. Comfortable! With nice plush covers and pillows. No complaints :) Water pressure was also very good, especially given that we were on the 7th floor. Our room was in the front of the hotel, so our view looked out over the entrance and over to the shopping areas. Again, no complaints.

Staff: A room is a room is a room. But staff can really make or break a place. That and a lousy bed :) Everyone there was wonderful. No, better than wonderful. I'm not really sure I can think of a word to describe how incredible they were. My sister and I had arrived late and were interested in food, but it was almost 10pm. Both of the girls at the front desk were extremely helpful in helping us decide where we wanted to go and eat. Then when we wanted to go shopping, they had some great suggestions as well. The waitstaff in the Urban grill was extremely friendly as well. The bartenders were more than willing to let my sister sample the various beers that were on tap before choosing one. When we needed a taxi, they not only called one for us, but found us in the bar area to let us know that it had arrived.

Overall: Next time I need a place to stay while in Austin, this is it. I couldn't ask for more. And when I travel in the future, I will definitely see if there is a Westin hotel near!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights on a recent trip to Austin for a friend's wedding. The service was excellent--all the hotel's employees seemed very willing to go out of their way to help you with anything you wanted or needed. The rooms were very nice and the bed's very quite comfortable as with all Westin hotels. My only complaint with the rooms was that the bathroom was slightly cramped, mainly because there's a huge door that opens INWARD, so it's a little tough to negotiate that. Otherwise there is nothing bad I could say about the rooms and I would specifically note that our room was very clean. There's a nice little bar in the hotel lobby that's a great place to grab a quick drink before or after heading out for the evening. Free parking is a nice bonus.

Really the only downside to this hotel is that it's in sort of a bland shopping district. This will appeal to some people. If your idea of a vacation is going out shopping at the typical department stores (Macy's is right across the store) and similar shops, then you'll love this area. But if you're looking for local flavor or culture it is pretty lacking. It's quite a drive to the more interesting downtown area.

Also the area is under pretty heavy construction right now. Views from the hotel feature a construction area and a large power plant.

All in all I would recommend this hotel especially because of how great the service is. Just consider whether the Domain is really the area you want to stay in.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor, but don't worry about the view as there really isn't one from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Address: 11301 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#9 Family Hotel in Austin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#15 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Austin at The Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.