We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and interesting hotel in Austin--reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casulo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casulo Hotel to your Saves list
Casulo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   3017 South I-35, Austin, TX 78741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Pacifica, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Unusual and interesting hotel in Austin--reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Casulo is a bit unusual, and well worth the stay. The style is Asian fusion with some unusual touches. It is a spare room but well appointed. The large bathtub and an intriguing shower with top faucet and wall faucet that run at the same time. The "wall" between the bedroom and the bath area is a large window with a draw-down shade. The bed is comfortable , a chaise lounge is against the window, and the lighting is suitable for romance or for reading. Seriously. A continental breakfast is included, but we can't vouch for the quality as we were out with relatives. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 302, having asked for a quiet room. It was perfect. Not the greatest view, but q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    68
    29
    23
    26
See reviews for
25
107
24
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this hotel to attend SXSW and paid close to $300. For a 4.5 star hotel, I would expect much better amendities then what was listed and what the condition of the hotel. Review the other listings - I agree with what other people have said. If you get a good deal - $125 or less - then it is worth it - otherwise, spend your money elsewhere. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels throughout my life so I feel that I have a good sense of what ranks as a 4 1/2 star hotel. "Free breakfast" cost an extra $10 for the second person and consisted of bagels and toast - no fruit. The hotel description website mentioned it "exemplifies the Zen lifestyle". How can a "Zen like" hotel not offer tea as an option with the coffee maker in the room? Or has a sticker on the plastic garbage can in the room (see photo). We figured out the owners have a heck of a website builder and author but this is at the most a 3 star hotel. I will say it was one of the most unique showers I have every seen (see photo).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central , Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked this hotel on Travelocity. Price was right and location is good, centrally located and easy access to I-35. The property is an older one that has been refurbished. It still has that "new carpet" smell. The room I'm in as I type this is clean with very high ceiling and a comfortable bed. Interestingly, the bathroom wall has been replaced by a glass 'window' into the sleeping area. It opens up the room and there is a curtain there to provide privacy. If you position yourself just right, you can watch TV through the bathroom glass while showering.

Check in was fine, the woman there was new but eager to do a good job, friendly and apologetic about not knowing the system yet.

The decor of the hotel is rummage sale zen/chic. It's eclectic, and I like it, others might not. There's a small bar in the lobby and a pretty standard free breakfast.

No Bible in the room. I travel a lot and have been paying attention to that recently.

Finally, this is an interesting clean and convenient hotel. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, suites are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We didn't realize when we booked this hotel that it was near everything we wanted to do in Austin. A short drive to Lockhart, to Driftwood and Congress. We loved having a nice breakfast available to us for free; we even used the bread for our left over BBQ, so that was a "plus" for us. They are just 1/3 mile away from a great sports bar where we saw the playoff games. If we go back to Austin; we would stay there again. A nice bar if you want a drink on the way back to your room. Small but very clean and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You can usually book this hotel for $120-150 on hotels.com when the rest of Austin is full - and for the price it isn't bad. The bathrooms are very good and the rooms are reasonable. The theming throughout the hotel is strange - it's like they tried to do a Hotel San Jose with Asian art and it doesn't quite work. The check-in and bar service is inconsistent and the food in the bar takes a while - a little training here would go a long way. Overall, it's not a bad place to stay despite the quirkiness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The biggest problem with this place is the image they cultivate on their website is different from reality. If you go thinking you are staying at a spa resort with all the amenities of a top end boutique hotel then you will be sorely disappointed.

We booked a stay through Groupon and got a fantastic rate for a 4 night stay in a Superior Suite. The hotel itself is very conveniently located near downtown and most of the things you want to see while visiting. It is literally right off the 35. The neighborhood isn't anything that inspires you but I also didn't feel any security concerns.

They have some simple breakfast room service available on weekdays (at the most reasonable prices I've ever seen) and a nice continental buffet available at no charge in the lobby. They also have a little bar in the lobby. The room was cleaned each day to our satisfaction and the hotel staff were accommodating to our needs.

Our room was actually really cool and was about the only thing that lived up to the lofty expectations set by the website. The decor was modern and peaceful. It was clear the room had been remodeled recently. The bath and shower was quite stunning and about as nice as I've seen in a hotel in this class. The size of the room was also a positive. We half-joked that it was about the same size as our first downtown apartment--and it probably was minus a kitchen area. There is a nice flat screen and a couch in the sitting area. The bed was very comfortable and the mood lighting was very well designed for a peaceful environment.

The biggest negative for us was the traffic noise from the 35. We had corner room (with very cool floor to ceiling mirrors) that partially faced the freeway. The traffic noise woke us up each weekday morning when rush hour started.

The hotel is a pretty nice place if you are able to get past the expectations set by the website and get a good deal. The best way to describe it is a Hampton Inn with a really nice bathtub/shower and upgraded room decor. We weren't planning on spending much time at the hotel on this trip so it worked out really well for us with the cool room and central location

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from I-35 for a quieter weekday stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked this hotel through hotels.com, thinking it was a very nice boutique hotel from the beautiful pictures on there website. I arrived at the hotel and immediately noted the shady neighborhood and roach motel that was on one side of the venue. Upon driving up the entrance, it looked run down, they had cut down some trees and left the logs there to rot in the weeds around it.

I checked in early and headed to my room, which I found with the door open and a hotel employee was checking to make sure it had been cleaned properly. So I got settled and started exploring my room. Immediately I noticed that repairs were sloppy and corners were cut to save money. The furniture was stained, sticky, had huge scratches and chips on every piece in the room. No attempt to repair anything in the room. On further inspection of the lighting, the bathroom vanity mirror/light did not work. Also found a used bar of soap left on the edge of the tub, a used bottle of shampoo left open on the back of the toilet and a random screw left on the bathroom vanity.

The proximity of the bed to the TV is ridiculously far, also the TV remote and furniture surfaces where sticky and not wiped down. There were some mystery stains on the benches in the room as well. The balcony was nice, but the seal on the door was warped and allowed the wind to howl all night and the door would not stay closed if you didn't secure the dead bolt. The view was of the low income housing surrounding the hotel, roach motel beside it with a distant view of downtown.

Room Service......there is no room service! But you can buy a canned coke from the vending machine for a $1.50 a piece, that is outrageous, complete rip off. Tried to use the ATM in the lobby, it did not work and the guy at the counter was absolutely no help.

I would never stay here again, this is false advertising at its best....The pictures of the rooms on the website are beautiful and tranquil. The hotel overall is very disappointing.

Room Tip: Run like hell to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casulo Hotel

Address: 3017 South I-35, Austin, TX 78741
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casulo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Casulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casulo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.