We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum

Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum
605 Robert E Lee Rd, Austin, TX 78704
512-445-5582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum and garden dedicated to the works of American sculptor Charles Umlauf. The garden holds over 40 sculptures, framed by nature. Inside the gallery, rotating exhibits of Umlauf's more obscure pieces and other similar artists are on display. There are everyday activities for children and regular workshops/lectures for art-lovers of all ages.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Smaller than I expected, but nice grounds nonetheless. We unknowingly visited during "family day" and it was a pleasant surprise that we didn't have to pay to get in. Even though it was during a "free day", it wasn't too packed and felt very calming.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Interesting and Well-organized Exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This garden is very well laid out, with periodically changing exhibitions presented in the museum. On the day we were there in February, 2014, a set of sculptures was featured that compared/contrasted the works of Charles Umlauf with his contemporary, Charles Williams (the former tending toward realism, the latter toward abstraction)..

Visitors are provided with very nicely-produced guides, which contain excellent descriptions of the garden's permanent sculptures. There's an admission fee, but the Umlauf facility has reciprocity agreements with a number of museums across the U.S., so if you belong to one of those there is no charge.

Although situated alongside a fairly busy road, the sounds of traffic are barely noticeable from the garden itself, so you get the added benefit of a peaceful place to walk around outdoors, not far from downtown Austin.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The day we visited, Sunday after Christmas, admission to this museum was free. There were some interesting pieces on exhibit inside, but the heart of the venue is the sculpture garden. The cast bronze and aluminum statues are placed throughout the garden, and each is labeled. There are benches to sit on in case one wants to just survey the sculptures or sit peacefully. There is a small waterfall and a little pond which is somewhat overgrown. The garden seems to be in need of some sprucing up, but, even though the day was not exceptionally warm, I thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere. This place would undoubtedly be beautiful when things are in bloom. There is parking by the museum and additional parking across the highway. This is a place that I think could be just as enjoyable on subsequent visits.
There is also a video that explains the history of the sculpture garden that can be viewed before touring the actual garden.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Probably not worth the admission fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you're thinking of going to a fun sculpture garden with loads of interesting pieces that show a variety of art styles, this isn't the place.

My mistake was thinking that this would be like some of those grand public sculture gardens in other major cities where there are collections of a variety of sculptural styles and sizes. Here, it's just a collection of sculptures from one artist. And, no disrespect to the artist himself, but the statues are pretty repetitive in terms of subject and composition.

So, if you really like this guy, have at it. But I'm not sure I'd recommend paying the price for this.

Otherwise, it's a rather nice stroll off the beaten track. The statues are meant to be touched, which is cool. But again, for a sculpture garden, just wasn't as interesting visually or artistically as I was expecting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For Art Lovers Only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you do not consider yourself an art enthusiast, skip this place. It is a nice place and well kept. If you plan to stare at and contemplate 20-30 statues, you will be delighted by this place.

However, if you are just looking for a causal walk with some cool looking statues, don't bother paying $5 for this. I can appreciate the cost to maintain any public place, but you need to really love the statues to get your money's worth. There were not any signs even giving any history of the statues. Not a place for the casual couple.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.