We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left me wanting more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum

Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum
605 Robert E Lee Rd, Austin, TX 78704
512-445-5582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum and garden dedicated to the works of American sculptor Charles Umlauf. The garden holds over 40 sculptures, framed by nature. Inside the gallery, rotating exhibits of Umlauf's more obscure pieces and other similar artists are on display. There are everyday activities for children and regular workshops/lectures for art-lovers of all ages.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Left me wanting more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Overall, we enjoyed visiting the sculpture garden and museum. The grounds are very pretty and well-kept. The sculptures were lovely. We came away wishing there had been more to see. The indoor museum is one room with about 30-40 pieces displayed. Outside, there are about 30 larger-scale sculptures. Worth the $5? Maybe. If I had been a studying artist or a photographer, I might have rated this higher. But I'm a regular person, so ... eh ... it was ok.

If you are into yoga, they give classes overlooking the garden for $10, which includes admission to the museum and garden. If I had known in advance, I would have taken advantage of this! Great spot for yoga and a very good price. I would have rated the yoga/sculpture combo 4-5 stars.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha E, Guest Relations Manager at Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum. I am sorry that you missed our regular yoga class and hope that you can come again another day to experience the added tranquility of the garden during these sessions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A unique presentation of "outdoor" sculpture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The location is a portion of the homeplace and studio of this outstanding sculptor. It's a prime location adjacent to Zilker Park and Barton Springs only ten minutes from Sixth and Congress in the middle of downtown Austin.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I enjoy sculpture and began to see signs directing me to Umlauf Sculpture Garden. What a delightful surprise. Although it was in the hot part of an August day, I didn't roast. (But I do recommend taking water.) The wonderful sculptures were beautifully displayed in a lovely garden. One could enjoy a brief visit or spend quite some time enjoying the beauty and serenity.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wedding Dreams Made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have been to 2 weddings and 2 funerals here and both were beautiful experiences!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful & serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

It's right near Zilker park...great for a romantic stroll with the one you love

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umlauf Sculpture Garden & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.