We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed being a hipster for a weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Hotel San Jose
1316 S Congress, Austin, TX 78704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off midweek suites
Ranked #22 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed being a hipster for a weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Swam and lounged in the pool in lovely out there dressing gowns. Had micheladas and felt fabulous! Some might say it's painfully hip, but I enjoyed it. Get over it people! The rooms are polished concrete but I liked the cool-to-the-touch after the Austin sun. We had friends come for drinks in the wonderful backyard. Not really a food place, but Jo's coffee was right next store and the place is dead in the middle of a ton of great restaurants. Lovely location. The grounds were beautiful too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    73
    24
    14
    14
See reviews for
12
95
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

In the midst of a very bad experience with a hotel in North Austin (see my review of the Double Tree by Hilton, North Austin) we poked our head into this lovely forested set of cottages, where we were warmly received by a knowledgeable and completely competent staff. Despite the onset of Austin City Limits Festival, they had a queen room available for the four nights remaining of our trip (miraculous!) --- we summarily fired the corporate innkeepers and hired these guys, thereby catapulting our stay from mediocre to fabulous.

We stayed in room #20, with a private entrance directly off of South Congress, a large half round window looking across the path to the pool and two smaller windows hidden behind vines on the street, and an updated bath with glistening white tiles. The furnishings are functionalist minimal, just enough to do the job perfectly, without unnecessary filigree or self-aggrandizing flourish. The pool is nestled between a large outdoor bar with sunshade and fans above, and a thicket of bamboo which rustles in the wind and protects the pool from the breezeway. From a DJ and drinks in the lounge in the evenings to respite from mid-day sun in the pool behind bamboo, this place had us covered. Walkable to the bats under Congress Bridge and great shopping and eats along South Congress. An ideal location and an exceptional space!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent there 1 night with 4 p. Location is great for discovering the city but still staying outside the main blocks. Has a small pool as well which is handy in the heat. Great icecream spot oposite the streat. There coctail though is a no go, but otherwise all is great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the San Jose. We stayed in a standard room which was reasonably spacious and furnished in a Mad Men kind of way. The hotel is located close to all the hipster hot spots in Austin.
What impressed me most, though, was the helpfulness of the staff. They offered excellent suggestions for dining and music in the neighbourhood. The gentleman who works the front desk during the weekdays was especially helpful. Would definitely stay here again. For a quieter sleep, do ask for a room away from South Congress.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were a little afraid the Hotel San Jose would be too hip/minimalist for us, but after reading the positive reviews we decided to stay there the first half of the trip to Austin. Ended up wishing we'd booked the whole trip there. Arriving around 5:30 pm after missing lunch, we ordered the hummus/feta dip plate we'd read about in reviews, and took it to the room. Great! Beds are divine, location is primo, and the landscaping all around the property is soothing and lovely. Each morning there were little birds cooling off in the fountains (it was 104 in the afternoon!), which reminds me to mention the wonderful AC. If you're not familiar with Texas heat, you may not fully appreciate this, but it saved us in the afternoons. It's a little pricey, but factor in that there's no parking charge, which can be $35. a day right across the river. We're planning a return when it's cooler.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I had an amazing stay at Hotel San Jose. The staff was very friendly, the rooms are beautiful, and the courtyard is a great place to relax and have a drink or a cup of coffee. Excellent location, walking distance to tons of stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First time staying at Hotel San Jose. Just loved this place. it is on Congress Avenue and lots of cool hip places around the hotel including Magnolia Café. It is easy access to downtown restaurants and 2 minutes from I35. Registration is easy with a small but well designed entry area. In the same area is a small sitting area with a Bar area that serves free coffee in the morning and provides daily local and national newspapers. It opens up to a nice covered patio that serves drinks in the evening and seems to stay busy until late with locals just hanging out. Just outside the hotel is a popular coffee/Sandwich stand (Jo's) that is open at 7am. Lots of locals come by and it is very convenient for guests of the hotel. the rooms are very simply decorated in a retro fashion, the floors are polished concrete and very clean. Bright bathroom areas with Malin and Goetz toiletries that are very nice. Linens and towels were great. it is has minibar and snacks to purchase with lots of locally made and natural products and the selection was great. They do offer breakfast room service and also allow pets to stay. the grounds were very well maintained with a crushed granite walkway leading to our room and landscaping was lush and well maintained. you feel very comfortable staying there and my wife really loved it, very quiet in our room( room 17) and could not hear anything once in our room. Great Place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Address: 1316 S Congress, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#68 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks south of where the Colorado River runs through downtown Austin. Originally built in 1939 as an "ultramodern motor court," the San Jose has since been transformed into a secluded urban bungalow-style hotel in the heart of one of the city's most beloved neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Austin
Hotel San Jose Austin
San Jose Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.