We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Austin - for the right person” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Jose

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Jose
1316 S Congress, Austin, TX 78704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 183 hotels in Austin
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place in Austin - for the right person”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I planned a last minute anniversary trip to Austin and spent 2 nights at the Hotel San Jose. What a great funky, hip little haven. Rooms are modest but purposefully styled - even the mini bar selection and "bottled rain water" fits in with the hip Austin - SOCO vibe. Loved the products in the bathroom - super hipster organic fare. you can even buy a pair of Toms or Haviannas that are in your room. ( My husband joked that the hipster vibe was so pervasive that we were going to wake up in the morning with handlebar mustaches) but its all part of being in SOCO - Can't ask for a better locale. Great restos, shops and bars right near by - literally, Right in the middle of everything. Great patio and night time bar scene. I would have given this 5 stars but the staff was just as other reviewers said - we found them to be aloof and not very welcoming. Like they were too good to be working there. The only exception was the gentleman who checked us out on the morning we left. He was super friendly and actually smiled! But the staff certainly wouldn't deter us from staying there again - in fact we can't wait to return!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    70
    22
    14
    14
See reviews for
10
89
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
prettybird1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

An oasis among the craziness of SOCO. Rooms are spotless and comfortable. Great restaurants across the street at Boticelli's and Home Slice Pizza (the italian sub is delicious). Guero's is also good for a margarita.

Steer clear of the Asst. Mgr. Meghan. She has no social skills, and manages to be condiscending and rude all in one sentence. Not sure where they found her...was not at a top notch hotel mgm. school.

Aside from her lack of style the place is fantastic.

Room Tip: Stay in the back area. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just got back from our first trip to Austin. We are so glad that we stayed at Hotel San Jose. Its personality is truly representative of the SoCo feel. Like a lot of others, we too passed it at first. It's next door to Joe's which is another Austin landmark and a real plus to be so close. The grounds of the Hotel San Jose are amazing for being in the middle of a city. We loved the zen like feel to the rooms-minimalist yet had every amenity you will need. We stayed on the upstairs back level and had no problem with noise from the bar area which is the central courtyard. Outside of each room there is a sitting area with either table and chairs or benches. With the weather being so delightful the outside area actually felt like an extension of our room. It was a real treat to stay at Hotel San Jose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Drove by this place and saw the lovely garden - an oasis in the heart of So. Co so did a u-turn and spent the night. A bit pricey, lovely grounds, intimate outdoor bar and pool area. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Our room was industrial (polished concrete floors) and minimalist but bed very comfortable and room quiet with a lovely outdoor seating area. Everything was spotlessly clean. The best thing was that it was right in the centre of such a fantastic area of shops, restaurants and bars and close to the centre of Austin.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is such a part of the SoCo neighborhood will probably drive by it the first time if you are looking for a 10 story Hilton-esque property. It's minimalistic luxury and a great place to get centered and de-clutter. Every detail of the austere but comfortable rooms and property is well thought out. The bottles of Rain water from a bottler in the neighborhood is the best water I've ever tasted, for example. Highly recommended for a weekend in Austin- you'll spend a day just checking out the very cool boutique shops and restaurants/bars in SoCo. Went for business but will definitely be heading back with my wife and staying at the San Jose. Check out the Snack Bar just one block north for some excellent outdoor dining with an eclectic menu of southern comfort food. Breakfast at the Magnolia Cafe, while a little farther in the other direction, won't disappoint either.

Room Tip: I'd recommend first floor on a corner for easy of access and a peaceful setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I'm talking about the desk clerks and staff - most had zero personality and an indifferent attitude. Female tatted bartender was the only one who was friendly & helpful.

We stayed at Hotel San Jose a few weeks ago and had mixed feelings about the experience. Room was ok - small, cold uninviting concrete floors, small bathroom with no towel racks or places to put wet towels -not much space for toiletries. Their highly touted 'trendy' $150 robes had no pockets, which was a problem since we had to leave the room to trek over to the plain lobby each morning for coffee - no breakfast items. So where to put the key when we leave? Or a kleenex, lip balm, money for tips, etc?
No coffeemaker (a small boutique hotel we stayed at last year had Keurig machines in each room, even a Motel 6 has a small coffee maker); also, no microwave to heat up the coffee or leftovers from great restaurants nearby. No refrigerator.
Our room was near a non-working fountain which could have been a nice zen experience had water been flowing with audible water-dripping sounds.
What was a mystery was that others in the town thought we were so cool to stay at this small hotel, but we couldn't figure out why. They have a local reputation for being hip & cool (and overpriced). Maybe the dull female desk clerks were not being unfriendly, but trying hard to be hip? When we paid a ridiculously high rate for 2 nights (plus 15% tax), the gal Elizabeth at front desk couldn't be bothered to ask how our stay was, or thank us for staying with them, or say "hope to see you again" - just basic good customer service banter,
Hated the too-high bed, too-low nightstands, big red box that was a clock with tiny numerals that couldn't be seen from bed. Comforter needed washing.
Their flatscreen TV was great and the lotions & potions in bathroom (although no small samples to take) were quality.
The seating outside front door was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Stay away from main road or noisy courtyard if you want to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan H, Manager at Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello TravelerSue,
We appreciate you taking the time to review The Hotel San Jose. I hear your complaints and fully understand that our hotel with its minimal decor and concrete floors is not ideal for every type of traveler. We will most definitely address your customer service complaints as these we take very seriously and we apologize that you found your interactions with some of our staff to be bland and unfriendly. Thanks again for your honest feedback.
All the best,
Meghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stopped in for a drink prior to dining at Perlas which is next door. Excellent atmosphere; we sat outside and had some speciality cocktails. Check out the Champassion. Great value and location. Total hidden gem in Austin.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Address: 1316 S Congress, Austin, TX 78704
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#58 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks south of where the Colorado River runs through downtown Austin. Originally built in 1939 as an "ultramodern motor court," the San Jose has since been transformed into a secluded urban bungalow-style hotel in the heart of one of the city's most beloved neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Austin
Hotel San Jose Austin
San Jose Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.