We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for the Black Iron Fence Surrounding the Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown to your Saves list
Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5526 North Interstate Highway 35, Austin, TX 78751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Look for the Black Iron Fence Surrounding the Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

2 Moving The Chi spent a week in Austin TX. We started at an Extended Stay America (see separate review) and moved to this Super 8 the next night. This property has a very good location to downtown and the university, being on the west side of I35 just south of the Highway 290 and I35 intersection. We looked at a number of other hotels/motels at this intersection and ended up selecting this Super 8.

The property must have had security problems in the past since it is surrounded by a high iron fence. When checking in, there is a large flat screen monitor behind the desk with dozens of cameras focused on different areas of the property. It made us feel both secure and apprehensive.

We asked to see a room and were shown a room on the second floor facing away from the interstate. It was clean, quiet, comfortable and had good internet. The property was in the midst of renovations, so there was unpacked furniture by the ice machine, and workers around most of the day.

If you are in need of a comfortable night’s sleep, a hot shower for a reasonable price, with friendly, helpful staff, this property is a good pick. And if you like Mexican food, Amaya’s Taco Village, a local Austin favorite, is a short walk from the motel.

We only stayed one night. We were a bit concerned about security and found another Super 8 off highway 183, which we used for the remainder of our visit in Austin. (See separate review).

2MovingTheChi.com has been traveling the U.S. since April and will be visiting Southeast Asia starting the end of August.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    84
    106
    53
    55
See reviews for
82
67
40
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night, checked in around 9PM. Front desk attendant was very friendly and conversational. She did an awesome job! Room was spacious and it included a fridge!! Bathroom was nice, and the bed was comfortable. Checked out around 3 or 4 AM and the night attendant was very nice as well. Didn't get a chance to try the breakfast but it was cool that they had a vending machine in the lobby. Location is surprisingly quiet!
Only things that I would point out are that the AC was leaking (not a big deal to me) and the doors to the side of the hotel wouldn't work. I had to go all the way into the lobby to get to room 140 (but maybe it's a security reason.)
Overall a very good breif stay! Will come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location and price were OK. But that's about it. The breakfast room was crowded and unpleasant. We arrived very hungry and found a snack vending machine that was empty except for a single bag of three-year-old peanut M&M's. I will stay someplace else next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

PROS: Easy access Southbound. Due to heavy traffic, can be a challenge on Northbound commute. Rate. Quick check-in. Ample parking. WIFI. Microwave oven. Small refrigerator. Scrambled eggs with breakfast. Eatries, shops nearby. PM Clerk was cordial.


CONS: Remodel in process. Dinky bathroom with dripping shower. Broken plaster in the area. Broken office chair at desk. Cheap paint used on room. Wall wasn't resurfaced prior to painting. Didn't receive the spiel about breakfast and checkout time.

'New' paint is suppose to be an upgrade. At times it was difficult to tell. Should be nicer after remodeling has been completed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side offer better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked a hotel for the same night and then my schedule changed so I just wanted to change the date of my stay, not even 2 hours after I booked and they would not let me and charged me for a full night stay! Would not work with me at all! Horrible customer service! Will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Do NOT book at the Super 8 University/ Downtown Area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We do apologize, but this guest booked threw a third party web site. The web site used has a 24 hour cancellation policy. We do our best to work with guest who booked with the web sites, but we can not change the policy of a third party site. The cancellation and refund policy is stated at booking with each individual web site. If anyone has questions about any web site please contact us at the hotel we do have experience with all of them.

Joe Rodriguez Front Desk Supervisor.
512-451-7001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown

Address: 5526 North Interstate Highway 35, Austin, TX 78751
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.