We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way more than you expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Memorial Museum

Texas Memorial Museum
2400 Trinity St., Stop D1500, Austin, TX 78705
512-471-1604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Texas Memorial Museum is the exhibit hall for Texas Natural Science Center and is located on The University of Texas at Austin campus in Austin, Texas. Exhibits focus on dinosaurs and fossils, Texas wildlife, gems and minerals, and a working Paleontology Lab where visitors can interact with scientists as they prepare fossil finds.Spotlighted in the exhibits are spectacular specimens found in Texas, including the largest flying creature ever found—the Texas Pterosaur, with a wingspan of nearly 40 feet–and the 30-foot Mosasaur that swam the shallow sea that once covered most of the state.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Way more than you expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This museum focuses on animals from Pre-historic to present. There are scientific exhibits about evolution and a paleontologist cleaning up fossils. You need a couple of hours to see it all.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Free natural history museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Texas Memorial Museum is located on the University of Texas Campus and features several floors with displays of fossils, wildlife, and minerals. The museum is free of charge, and not that big, making it a good option for kids who might lose interest in larger museums. My family visited recently with my niece & nephew (age 8 & 11), and though they were occasionally a little scared of the fossils and the snake displays, they enjoyed the exhibits. I enjoyed the mineral displays, which feature agates, precious gems, and other rare but beautiful rock formations from all over the world.

The museum is located not far from the football stadium, on the east side of the main UT campus. Relatively inexpensive parking is available in the garage next door.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting for kids and adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We went during Spring Break, but it was not crowded and easy to see everything. My 8 year old and 3 year old grandsons were intrigued from the moment we saw the bronze saber tooth tiger outside the main entrance! The architecture is lovely. There are 4 floors, each with a different feel. There is an elevator, but take the stairs for a good workout. The lower level has the dinosaurs and displays the fossils well. The exhibits showing native Texas animals was nicely done. I liked the displays of different quartz. We were there for a couple of hours, without the 3 year old it might have been longer. Nice little gift shop with a good selection at reasonable prices.

The museum is free. See the website for details.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs and Fossils and WIldlife, Oh My!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Loved it! The dinosaurs and fossils were amazing. The gems and minerals werer
brilliant and the wildlife interesting. The museum was free and about a 10 minute walking distance from Lyndon B. Johnson's Museum and Library. It was free and well worth the visit. Very informative and interesting. (right on University of Austin's campus.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“A teenager who likes dinosaurs really like this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Took out of town family to this small but interesting museum. The exhibit on the formation of Texas was very well done with good visual effects and exhibits. The dinosaur tracks brought us in to visit and we were pleased that we did. The dinosaur exhibit inside was also well done. This is a small and free museum that is worth the hour or so to view while you are on the UT campus and visiting other buildings.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Texas Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.