We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area: landscaping, ponds. A must see.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Texas State Cemetery

Texas State Cemetery
909 Navasota St., Austin, TX 78702 (East Austin)
512-463-0605
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Austin and Texas Hill Country
Ranked #23 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Some of Texas' most prominent historical figures are buried in this cemetery.
Duncanville, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful area: landscaping, ponds. A must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had been told about the renovations done to this cemetary and were very pleased we visited. Beautiful grounds, flowers, and ponds. Free admission. Lovely place for quiet and thoughtful walking tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

You look upon the graves of men that fought for us and it's moving, I cried. I don't see how anyone could go there and it not move you to see so many deaths that fought for you to be free.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A lot of infamous Texans in one place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Yes it's a cemetary but quite amazing that it's the final resting place for so many famous Texans and more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lot of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great history. Interesting place to walk through and reflect on the many historical persons and others who rest there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for a history buff like me!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a cemetery of course, so not exactly exciting. But it has more "important" Texans than any other single place I know of. We spent almost 2 hours walking and enjoying on a cool spring morninng.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Texas State Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas State Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.