We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch and browsing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Condesa

La Condesa
400 W 2nd St, Austin, TX 78701-3898 (Downtown)
512-499-0300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 3,123 restaurants in Austin
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Guadalupe
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and browsing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Much-hyped restaurant which we went to 2x on our recent trip to Austin. We had lunch and dinner there on 2 different days.

Lunch:
- Smoked Pork Ribs- delicious; smoky and tender
- Guacamole tasting- the lump crab guacamole was my fave
- Pisco Sour- pretty strong

Dinner:
- Scallop ceviche: well-marinated and tasty
- Lamb: smoky and delicious; i wasn't quite expecting it to be done this way, but it was good

Overall, i thought La Condesa was great, but i definitely don't think it's the 'best' Mexican restaurant i've ever been to. Worth a visit; i thought the restaurant was better for lunch than dinner

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    83
    56
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gourmet Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Terrific atmosphere, from up the staircase in the lovely open bar, to the dining rooms, to the outdoor patio. The food is outstanding and the service deft. The whole experience is a wonderful surprise. Every bite of food explodes in flavor. The house margarita is tasty too, with a salt and sugar rim adding a new dimension. Loved the brisket taco in adobo sauce. Yum

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wish we had gone someplace else for dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We ate dinner here while visiting Austin. I had high expectationsfor good Mexican food, this being Austin, and was disappointed in the food. We ordered the salsa and guacamole "tastings" and also the queso and they were all very good -- different flavors. All six of us ordered different entrees and none of us were very impressed. The tacos I ordered were bland. Their margarita was very good and they have a good variety of cocktails. And the service was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service initially started out well but folks just disappeared. Food is definitely good but portions versus costs of entree was not worth the experience. To pay $25 for chicken mole which was good but to get nothing else on the plate seems a bit greedy for the restaurant. Great menu, nice venue, good drinks and appetizers which I would only stick to if came here again---- careful of flights they are $22 each!! I am sure there are better places to spend your money in this great foodie town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but not sending me over the moon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A sturdy menu of very pleasant dishes. Love the plantains. After my last visit, my credit card was compromised--and I am SURE it happened here. It's not sending me back anytime soon. Check out the tacos at TNT on 5th instead. Different scene but less expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Condesa also viewed

 

Been to La Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Condesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.