We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel offers some nice extras. Maintenance is a concern.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane to your Saves list
Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12330 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night's a Charm
Ranked #58 of 187 Hotels in Austin
USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This hotel offers some nice extras. Maintenance is a concern.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After staying for 3 nights around Thanksgiving, we would describe this hotel as clean but not spotless and the staff as friendly though not trained to a professional level. The hotel is not very old but unattended maintainence problems are developing already. In our room, the very doors to the shower had not been installed correctly and did not close completely. The mini-fridge rocked on its base and required 2 hands and a very firm pull to open the door. In the lobby, we could not sit in several of the modern-style chairs which rocked when they should have been stable. There were large, visible scratches on some of the cabinetry in our room and in the lobby. All of this said, the hotel does have some nice features such as free PCs and free wireless in the lobby. Near the front desk, there is a large, wall-mounted touchscreen with Google maps which is great for finding directions. The hotel has several nice outdoor seating areas. The exercise room is large and was stocked with cold water, earbuds, and towels. The free coffee in the mornings was of good quality as were the fairly-priced food items that we purchased from the "bistro" and snack areas . Our room did also have a microwave. We could open the window in our room slightly for fresh air in the mornings. In back of the hotel, we found a lighted, landscaped park with a 1/3 mile path built around 2 large ponds. Because there are very few sidewalks in the area, the park may offer the safest route (though not the shortest one) for walking to the HEB grocery and the various restaurants which are across the highway. A 24-Hour Fitness is located almost adjacent to the hotel. Curiously, the hotel's TV package included 2 Japanese-language channels!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the northwest (back) side to reduce noise from the Interstate highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
20
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This property is convenient to all areas of Austin. A little close to the I35 corridor but I did not find the traffic to cause any noise issues. there are no resturants inthe immediate area. You will have to drive to them. Hotel was clean and orderly. Staff was professional and helpful. Rooms wre current and new. The mattesses wfirm but comfy. Made for a good jumping off spot to downtown party areas. No free breakfast options :>(

Room Tip: Away from the road (backside)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent a night here in Sept. The staff was great at making recommendations and the hotel has a shuttle to take you to restaurants and shopping within 5 miles. Rooms are clean and comfortable. My bed was hard and I would have liked a refrigerator in my room. They have the usual Marriott restaurant downstairs. Fruit was very fresh.

Room Tip: Try the bed. The manager told me most beds aren't hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardAusNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us and comment about your stay at TripAdvisor. The feedback that we receive is so valuable in the improvement process. At the first of October, we got refrigerators and microwaves in nearly 75% of the rooms and plan to have the last 25% delivered just after the first of the year. Anytime you stay, feel free to request it and if there is a room available, we would be more than happy to accommodate that request!

In addition, I am glad you were able to use the shuttle to get to some of the amazing near by eating establishments! North Austin has some great food at very reasonable prices AND less the traffic headache to get to South Austin!

We look forward to having you back next time and if you need anything before then, please do not hesitate to let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

One of the best hotels we've stayed at in a long time. Extremely comfortable king sized bed, large room & exceptionally clean. Very pleasant lobby area with a "bistro" serving snacks, coffees & wine. The staff were very warm & friendly. The only thing missing was a refrigerator, which we commonly use on our travels. Will definitely stay here again on our trips to Austin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardAusNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our wonderful hotel! As I have said on numerous occassions, we love hearing about the experiences that our guests had. That is how we grow as an organization and as a team!

Our Bistro is a great place! It has wide open spaces to stretch out and relax as well as several TV's to watch the news, football games, or any other shows that you may desire! We have happy our every evening as well as a drink of the day every evening in the Bistro!

We are currently working toward getting refrigerators in every room but, until then we do have a few that we can put into rooms. Next time you stay with us, just request a room with a refrigerator at check-in and we will do what we can to ensure that request is met!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent two comfortable nights at this Courtyard during our visit to Austin. The lobby and rooms of the hotel have recently been updated. Everything looked and smelled new and fresh. The lobby is one of the “new-concept” Courtyards with Starbucks products and a Bistro, which we did not use. The lobby is very spacious. The rates were very reasonable, with free parking.

Convenient location along IH-35. It is an easy and short drive to get downtown and to the University of Texas campus. There is not much in terms or restaurants within walking distance, but several are located within a short driving distance. Our room was on the quiet side of the hotel, away from IH-35. It was clean and very quiet. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and professional. The Wi-Fi worked well in the room. The climate control for the room worked well.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the side of the hotel away from IH-35, as this is quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardAusNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and also for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! We do have a very nice hotel and since we are just a month older than three years old, we are fortunate enough to have several of the newest products and features such as the larger open spaces, the Bistro, Starbucks, and larger rooms!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to having you back on your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel:
Clean, quiet rooms
Nice design and decoration
Functional and well run organisation
Freindly and professional staff
Convenient location
Good rates
Wifi ok
...only very good comments, but for the breakfast issue, which is common to all "new-concept" Courtyard hotels: why speculate on Starbucks products, by selling them at too high prices?!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardAusNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor, it truly does mean a lot to see what our guests have to say about us! As you pointed out, there are several great features about being a newer Courtyard and having the Bistro! One of the best parts is the Starbucks products that we are able to carry on location. The one downside is that at the property level we really have very little control over the prices although, in most circumstances, they are pretty comparable to Starbucks! None the less, please come and see us again and I will get your first Starbucks on your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this Courtyard. The lobby and rooms have been recently renovated and are comfortable. The staff was very friendly and it is conveniently located near several places to eat (although you'll probably need a car to get there). I would stay hear again the next time I'm in Austin.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the freeway. Even then you may hear some traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardAusNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our wonderful hotel on TripAdvisor! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay while you were here too. The team works very hard to ensure that each guest is completely satisfied from check-in to check-out. In addition, they also do a great job of keeping the hotel up. The hotel just turned three years old last month and shows very few signs of it!

One of our newest features here at the hotel is our complimentary shuttle service! It currently operates Monday - Friday and takes guests to locations within a 5 mile radius of the hotel so they can enjoy our wonderful city!

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane

Address: 12330 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Courtyard Austin North hotel located on Parmer Lane near I-35 offers easy access to the offices of Apple, Dell, General Motors and HP. Guest perks include a free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius (7am-9am/3pm-9:30pm)and free property-wide WiFi. Stay productive in our lobby's individual media pods or collaborate with others at the Bistro communal table. Before getting to work, start your day with a healthy breakfast and Starbucks coffee from our Bistro then come back for evening happy hour and dinner. Relax in your room with flat-screen TVs, microwave, mini-fridge and plush Marriott bedding. While on the road, you can still keep up with your routine at our 24-hr fitness center and indoor pool. Our ideal location near downtown Austin, Lake Travis and the Domain along with our valuable amenities make us the top choice among hotels in North Austin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin North/Parmer Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.