We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Pricey, But Very Enjoyable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Truluck's - Austin Arboretum

Truluck's - Austin Arboretum
10225 Research Blvd #4000, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)
5127948300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Truluck's - Austin Arboretum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Northwest Austin
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super Pricey, But Very Enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Been here several times. It can't be something you do all the time because it costs a pretty penny. They're known for seafood, but I don't love seafood so I always go with a steak. Always really yummy and cooked as I expect. I know I shouldn't focus on sides, but the parmesan mashed potatoes are absolutely wonderful. Ambiance is good (kind of thought it looked wannabe-fancy from the outside, but it is actually really nice). Desserts are HUGE, so definitely split them. It's a go-to special occasion place for me and the husband :).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    27
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

In need of seafood fix among all the TexMex and BBQ in Austin, we tried Truluck's and had a delightful evening of great food, lovely (if a bit campy - swordfish on the walls) atmosphere, and impeccable service. We did not try the steaks on this trip, but we will return. What a delight.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Truluck's = truly lucky!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Truluck's is the best restaurant for seafood in the Austin area. There were 4 of us for dinner, plus a 10 month old. It was amazing how well the staff dealt with us and the baby. The baby kept eating the very delicious bread- 4 loaves, and we ended up with the crusts! Fantastic! The crabcake appetizer was delicious- filled with crab chunks, not filler. The fish was cooked to perfection, very moist, and- best of all- NO bones! The steak was very tender and very flavorful. No knife needed! The service was very attentive, but not overbearing. Dessert was phenomenal! TOOOOOO many choices,but we settled on the carrot cake and 4 forks. It truly was enough for the 4 of us. This was a wonderful place to have dinner. I do not recommend taking a baby here. We were just very lucky that she was in a good mood and entertained the people around us. We were very happy with our dinners and will certainly be repeat customers. Very excellent dinners!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great experience~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were greeted by the manager, seated and the great experience began. We ordered from the 'date night' menu. Fresh, delicious food-seafood being the focus-and the service was outstanding, a lot of team work among the staff which is always welcome and a good idea for upscale restaurants. The wine deal was tempting and we ordered the Paza Barrantes 2011 Albarino-do yourself a favor if you enjoy white wines. Order the chocolate cake, c'mon! The day after phone call from the manager Andrea Gentry thanking us for our visit was the icing on the cake. Now we will have to try other locations when they are in our vicinity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“New go to place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is great for either personal and business dinners or drinks. I set business meetings here as often as I can. The bar appetizer special are great and you can always find something tasty. If you have a dinner for two or a dinner for twelve the service and food quality is always outstanding.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truluck's - Austin Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Truluck's - Austin Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truluck's - Austin Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.