We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience, special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Cecilia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Saint Cecilia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com TheHotels.com
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saint Cecilia
112 Academy Drive, Austin, TX 78704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 182 hotels in Austin
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique experience, special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our first time in Austin (fantastic place) and what a way to enjoy it by staying at the Hotel Saint Cecilia. It truly is a unique hotel and the time and effort take to personalise each and every part of it is amazing. We stayed in Suite 2 and honestly probably could have seen more of the city if the room wasn't so comfortable and appealing, it was just hard to leave! The staff were very friendly, as well as a great source of knowledge and recommendations. The only thing that stops me from giving the hotel full marks is the cost of the room items, be it wet bar, snacks or toiletries. The hotel itself is not inexpensive by any means so coupled with the prices of these items, it just felt like blatant price gouging which is was disappointing.
That said, whenever we're fortunate to return to Austin, we will definitely be staying at the Hotel Saint Cecilia again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Hotel Saint Cecilia, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, having traveled so far, it's great to hear you found it a rewarding trip. We are so glad that you enjoyed your interactions with our staff, your experience at Saint Cecilia, and your time in Austin. In regards to the in room options, the mini bar and spa items are a curated selection of some of our favorite things that we like to share with our guests, and thus some items do incur a higher cost. It is our hope that the selection delights you as much as it does us, but of course it is always optional. If you are ever in need of something during future stays, please do not hesitate to let the Front Desk know and we will make every effort. From all of us at The Saint Cecilia, we look forward to the honor of having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
38
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and was amazed by the grounds. With the beautiful trees and lush yard, it's hard to believe you're in downtown Austin. Since it's a small property we received personalized attention (who doesn't love that!). They have a Vinyl library which is a cool touch. We picked a few sexy records that fit the occasion. The only meal we had on property was breakfast before checkout, and it was AWESOME! We ate outside next to the big tree and read the paper. Just me, my hubs and a cheese plate...perfect. Our suite was unique with lots of character. We stayed in the historic house, but I think we would try one of the other options next time (bungalow or studio). People hang out on the wrap around porch pretty late (our neighbors were a couple of cackling drunk ladies), so we didn't get the rest we were hoping for (It was one of our first nights away from our 1 and 2 year old). But other than that one snafu, we really enjoyed this hotel!

Room Tip: The historic house (suites) have thin walls, so if you're looking for rest, ask for other accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Hotel Saint Cecilia, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us and for your lovely write up. We are honored to be a part of such a special celebration and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you back in the future to celebrate again in a Pool Bungalow for a different experience, and we look forward to serving you breakfast on the lawn once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate my partner's birthday and were amazed by the excellence of the service and accommodations. We slept in suite 3 which had a huge tub, very cool fireplace and an incredibly comfy Hastens bed. The furnishings are high-end yet relaxed -- a truly upscale homey vibe. Listening to records from the HSC was another bonus.
We really appreciated the attention to detail including a welcome note accompanied by a flowers and a bowl of blueberries. Today, we even received a thank you note in the mail from HSC. What other hotel does that?
The hotel is very close to the bustle of South Congress yet feels so relaxed and quiet. I am already planning our return trip to to HSC.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Hotel Saint Cecilia, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us--we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! It is always an honor to have guests say such nice things and we look forward to having you back with us. Since you enjoyed the bath in Suite 3, you may be interested in Pool Bungalow 10 or 12 for your next stay to enjoy a bath in a different room type. We also rotate the amenity with your welcome note seasonally, so hopefully when you return we will have another delicious treat for you to try! From all of us at Hotel Saint Cecilia, thank you so much for your review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a wonderful, relaxed, beautifully designed boutique hotel in the cool part of town. The grounds are stunning, the service perfect, and the atmosphere tranquil yet stylish. The rooms are huge and well thought out, with lovely touches such as welcome cookies and a free newspaper every morning. If you are going to stay anywhere in Austin, stay here. My only niggles? An unpredictable shower and patchy wifi detracted only slightly from what was otherwise a lovely experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Hotel Saint Cecilia, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are so pleased you loved your stay and enjoyed the property. Our staff is honored by your description of the service. In regards to the shower and internet, we apologize and appreciate your feedback and are working towards a remedy for future stays. We would be delighted to have you return as our guest in the future and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My two favourite things in the world are great hotels and women from Texas so I wasn't all that surprised when simply the best place I have stayed in the world is run by a bunch of Texan women (and a few cool guys to help out). Imagine beautiful everything. Well designed, well edited, well run, the best of everything, total discretion, wonderful personalities of the staff and the guests at the pool. Small details to be found everywhere. Austin is the full of artistic talent and it is all synthesised here. It's like the owner, designer ran around the world collecting the worlds best ideas and things then hightailed it back and styled it into a Texas feel. This is the hotel bel air run through a Texan mill. There is a lot of speak on this review board about the expensive items in the rooms for sale, my opinion is that the hotel wants to share or expose guests to their favourite things. I'm sure they read those comments and could have replaced all their stuff with m and m's and cheap things but didn't for that reason.
This thing should be seen by any discerning traveler. The world needs more of this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Hotel Saint Cecilia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so honored to be called the best place you have stayed--thank you so much for your thoughtful review and for spending your time in Austin with us. It was truly a delight having you as our guest and getting to know you throughout your trip. From all of the staff here at Hotel Saint Cecilia we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is my favorite place to get away in my hometown. Totally Austin. Record players in every room. You can check out records up front. Beautiful pool and grounds. The rooms are amazing!! I've stayed in 4 different ones. Each is unique, some with deep tubs, outside showers, big yard, porches. Great staff and cocktails. Walking distance to Continental Club and Perlas, Botticellis..
Check out the pictures. My words can do justice to the decor and the overall vibe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Hotel Saint Cecilia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoy your stay-cations with us, thank you for appreciating all that makes the Saint Cecilia special to us as well. Since you live in Austin, we would love to extend the opportunity to discuss our Membership Program with you so that you can enjoy the lounge and pool at your convenience. Feel free to contact me directly at Lisa@HotelSaintCecilia.com or 512.633.0300 and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

An absolutely gorgeous little boutique hotel in Austin. So much thought put into the layout and comfort of the guests. We stayed in the "studio" which when booking made it sound small, but it was a massive room with a full couch, balcony, full table/chairs and massive bathroom. Pool area is exclusive and lovely. Great to sit and read and stay cool in Austin.

Where we had some issues was with the ridiculously overpriced drinks and products on sale. This is not a cheap hotel, and while we get there is an "image" to uphold, there were multiple cocktails on the menu for $20 and others ranging from $15-18 as well. This is Austin TX. I live in NYC and almost no bar no matter how swanky charges this much for a cocktail. It really put us off because you can walk 2 blocks outside the hotel to Perla or another little restaurant on S Congress and get a great cocktail for $10 or less. It just feels forced and almost insulting go charge so much for drinks just because you know most of your guests are likely not want for $$. The Breakfast menu was even more silly. $28 for french toast, $20+ for a few eggs and the list goes on. I'm sorry, but again, it's just stupid to charge so much for items like this when there are great places walking distance down the street with amazing breakfast/brunch for half the price.

Again, we loved the property. But we really think St Cecilia should look hard at how they price drinks/food and don't try to take your guests for a ride with the assumption that staying at your hotel means getting railed on cost to actually have a drink or eat at your beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Hotel Saint Cecilia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and appreciate your feedback. Whenever possible we feature local and organic Texas farms and artisans to create our food menus items. Our signature cocktails are also made with local and organic spirits and infusions along with house made syrups and mixers presented in vintage glassware. If you do choose to stay with us again I would love to invite you to enjoy a round of drinks and 2 breakfast menu items on us in order to fully experience what our food and beverage options have to offer. Please feel free to contact me directly via email at lisa@hotelsaintcecilia.com or call 5128522423 to book your next stay. It would be our pleasure to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Saint Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Cecilia

Also Known As:
Saint Cecilia Hotel
Address: 112 Academy Drive, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#40 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint Cecilia is a secluded luxury hotel in the heart of Austin's South Congress District. The 14 room property, situated on an 1880 estate, is a tribute to rock and roll opulence and royal elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Saint Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Cecilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.