We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits with keep Austin Weird, but misses some basics” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Cecilia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Cecilia to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Cecilia
112 Academy Drive, Austin, TX 78704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off suites midweek
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Fits with keep Austin Weird, but misses some basics”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I travel a lot and this hotel is one of the stranger ones in which I have stayed and while expensive, not an easy room to live in.

We were there as part of a wedding party, so we saw many other rooms and spoke to other guests about their rooms. Everyone complained that their room did not have enough light. I'm talking so dark that when I dropped the car keys on the couch in my room after dark, I thought I was going to have to find a flashlight to get them. I finally found them by feel.

Almost all the flat space in our room was devoted to selling very expensive things. Most hotels in this price range offer free "disposable" slippers. The Hotel Saint Cecilia has very odd black felt slippers in the closet with a note that if you break the string, you have purchased them for an outrageous sum. In the bathroom there are just the basic toiletries (shampoo, creme rinse, shower gel, and lotion), but there is a huge medicine chest with high priced goodies like a $10 toothbrush and an $8 chapstick. Condoms were for sale, but I don't remember the price. Another large counter in the bedroom is filled with mini bar items including a box of pornographic tapes. The commercialism went way too far in my opinion.

The closets are too short to accommodate dresses, which creates problems for guests at weddings.

The plumbing is problematical. In our room the water seemed to be a single temperature no matter how you set it. The guests next door said that the first night they did not shower, because they could not get hot water.

The service ranged from very accommodating to non-existant. We recieve lots of assistance with problems we reported with the room immediately after our arrival, but when we tried to check-out , they could not produce the final bill and offered to mail it to us later. On the night of the wedding the room was not straightened up and the service was limited to dropping the room service breakfast menu on my rumpled pillow.

The best things about the hotel are its lovely grounds (which is why people like it for weddings) and the fancy mattresses. The front desk said they are Swedish horsehair mattresses that sell for $15,000 to $30,000 depending on the room.

Room Tip: It is ok if you have money to burn and all you care about is the bed and the location. My understan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
43
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We went to Austin with 2 other couples to celebrate a special birthday. We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Saint Cecilia and it was wonderful. This is a very different type of boutique hotel. The grounds are amazing - huge, beautiful water oaks bending to the ground with lush vegetation all around. We sat outside under one of these trees and sipped the most amazing margaritas. We felt like we were in a 1920s movie. We stayed in one of the poolside bungalows. The turntable in our sitting area was so much fun. The hotel has a huge assortment of LPs that you can borrow. The bed was ultra-comfy and all of the furnishings were eclectic yet comfortable.

It was the perfect place for an adult getaway. We walked down to S. Congress street for coffee in the morning and then at night to listen to some really great music at the Continental Club. The hotel is also an easy walk to the river for a great morning jog or bike ride. So much to do!

The hotel staff was great and attended to anything that we needed. The overall atmosphere is calm and cool. Totally relaxing. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms. If choosing a poolside bungalow, I would ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The location can't be beat and it's incredibly nice to be in sort of a natural *compound* in the middle of Austin. A quick walk to the shops and restaurants of S. Congress and a super short drive to anywhere else this hotel gets #1 for location. The rooms are nice and spacious. The bed was comfy. I couldn't really figure out all of the electronics and TV situation. The main one worked, but there were so many remotes ... whatever, i wasn't there to watch television. The grounds were beautiful, the pool was awesome (especially since it was 107F when we were there), and the bar was very cool. I will stay here any time I come to Austin. My only suggestions for improvement are small: first, please put one of those lighted magnifying mirrors that pull out from the wall in the bathroom ... although the dim lighting is sexy and makes everyone look hot, it's terrible for applying makeup! Secondly ... please oil the hinges, the property is so peaceful that when I got up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night my friend thought someone was breaking in due to the terrible squeaking noise on the bathroom door! ha.

I loved the hotel and the service was great. The concierge, Eric, helped us make resos at all the best places -- If you haven't been: Uchi (best sushi ever) and Perla were magnifico! My ONLY complaint is that the room service menu is prohibitively expensive ... I love a croissant and a coffee FIRST THING and I just can't pay and arm and a leg for it. I can't remember what coffee cost but half a baguette with butter was $10 and I think a pot of tea was as well. Luckily my friend was kind enough to walk the block to Jo's Coffee and bring them back for me so I could start the day!

Stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This boutique hotel is amazing from your first step onto the property. The grounds of the hotel make you forget where you are and you truly feel like you are on vacation. The staff is very accommodating and the suites are absolutely beautiful and full of character. I was ready to move right in. The location is perfect for walking to shops and restaurants or taking a quick cab ride to downtown proper. The crowd was very hipster but hey it is Austin. Overall I would say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for a relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and amazing. you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Saint Cecilia is in my opinion Austin's best hotel. It is in perfect walking location to South Congress and maybe a 10 or 15 minute walk to downtown. The rooms are incredibly comfortable, particularly the suites. Service is there if you need it, but for the most part you are given your space... which was a ok with me. I suppose it's a matter of preference. If you like no frill service with exceptional rooms then I would highly recommend St. Cecilia for your stay in Austin.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Austin, and this is by far the most wonderful and special. It's pricier but well worth every cent. The rooms, staff, service... everything is perfection. Not sure I could stay anywhere else in Austin now."

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We arrived at about 8pm( which I will be there at 3 pm next time), all that both of us could say is WOW! From the first ten mins that we were there customer service was AWESOME! I found this Hotel on the inet and read somr of the other reviews so I had to come on here and teel you I don't understand the negetive ones. The turntable in the room was simply a cool addition to the whole experience! It was like I had stepped into a time warp and I was dancing in the sixties with my baby to Marvin and Al Green. I love the whole bungalo thing and we are excited to go back and get the room with the fire pit! The price was worth every penny and I am saving for the return trip!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Cecilia

Address: 112 Academy Drive, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint Cecilia is a secluded luxury hotel in the heart of Austin's South Congress District. The 14 room property, situated on an 1880 estate, is a tribute to rock and roll opulence and royal elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Saint Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Cecilia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Cecilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.