We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimber Modern Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kimber Modern Hotel
Save
You added Kimber Modern Hotel to your Saves list
110 The Circle, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the white room. It was quiet, clean, and spacious. For the cost of the rooms, the "buffet" breakfast is minimal and has lots of room for improvement.
Cassie was very cordial and was quick to answer our questions.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The white room is quiet but overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We are so happy you had a pleasant stay, and are always open to hear suggestions for other breakfast items other than our, Soft boiled eggs,granola, yogurt,bagels and their fixings,homemade breakfast breads,Oj and our wonderful Franke coffee machine. Being an all inclusive self serve Boutique Hotel with breakfast, Happy hour, wi-fi and parking we strive for our guest to enjoy the feeling as though they are at their vacation home, hoping to antcipate their every need. It was a pleasure to meet you.Hope to see you again soon.
Cassie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
133
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I just spent four nights in the Yellow room. It was a huge splurge, but we decided to go for it based on the many glowing reviews. We're so glad we did. Here's why:

First, the location can't be beat. It is just behind all the action of SOCO, making it easy for us to run back to the room whenever we wanted to drop off a bag or jacket, change shoes, freshen up, have a snack, whatever.

Second, every detail has been thought through. Of course this includes the high-style architecture, but I refer more to the many touches that anticipate visitor's needs: Snacks and beverages are always available (and you're not nickled and dimed to death like at many other high-end places, which defeats the purpose of paying a premium in the first place!); the breakfast is full of heathy, filling items that include various breads, stoneground peanut butter and other lovely toppings, fresh granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, lovely fresh fruit salad, and more; the gorgeous and peaceful deck is kept impeccably groomed (as is the rest of the place); the rooms are sparkling clean with your personal items respectfully arranged for your return; and yes, it is great not to have to fumble for a card key every time you want to get into your room.

Third, but in no way least, the management and staff at the Kimber Modern just get it. Cassie and the rest of the folks are gracious, down-to-earth, and keenly focused on the visitor experience. We felt as if we were staying with a cultured, caring friend.

Thanks to all at KM for making our visit to Austin so comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: We chose a courtyard room as we are light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks so much for taking the time to let folks know about how things run at the Kimber Modern. It was lovely to have you and your husband stay with us and I will be sure and let Cassie know your kind remarks. From all of us at the KM we hope you come soon!.....Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Pros:
- Nice location. Within walking distance to downtown, restaurants, coffees, the river.
- Rooms are incredibly well maintained.
- Rooms have everything you need.
- They have included breakfast, teas, and snacks.
- With only 6 rooms, you feel like at your own house.
- Very efficient check in, check out process.
- You can rent bikes next to the hotel.

Cons:
NO cons!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Thank you for your great assessment of the Kimber Modern and for namimg us The Best!
We really appreciate it, We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Cassie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I would imagine that the Kimber Modern would have enough praises without my addition, but I literally just returned from Austin and am still thinking about this urban haven.

I surprised my husband with our stay as he assumed that we booked at a "traditional" hotel. As we started to drive down a more residential street, I took some joy in the confusion that I caused-- knowing that he would be in awe of the selection. He is an avid reader of Dwell magazine-- who has named this hotel as one of the 10 Best-Designed Hotels in America.

A quick breakdown to assist:

Location: SoCo. My husband is the type of vacationer that is constantly on the move while I like a bit of rest and relaxation. You are nestled in a really lively area, but the hotel is just one street over and quiet. Hotel parking is a breeze and you realize what a commodity it is as you look down the car-lined street. If it weren't for the fact that we intended to visit other parts of Austin, we could have easily done without a vehicle.

Amenities: Fabulous bath products (which I will now need to buy for my own personal use). The "common room" has snacks, wine, beer, sparkling and still water for you to access at your leisure as well as breakfast which is also included in your stay. You virtually never see this nowadays, it is basically like access to the "executive lounge" of a chain hotel but in this case, everyone is an executive! I hate to take anything away from the owner because it is her vision and hard work, but the hotel and the access given to you as a guest almost makes you feel as though there is some sort of collective ownership and pride in this space.

Staff and Ownership: I was called prior to my stay and even had a handwritten note in my room as I had asked a few questions prior to our arrival. Check-in and check-out were all automated. I had the pleasure of meeting Kimber Cavendish.

Nearby: We had dinner literally steps from Kimber Modern at Bottecelli's South Congress. The restaurant is small, so make reservations. The food is quite fantastic with large portions and nice wine pours, but don't fret as your bed is close by. There is a popular coffee joint across the street called Jo's, but then again, the hotel has a lovely Franke coffee machine. We grabbed a couple of slices at Home Slice Pizza which was tasty!

Next time: I would love to come again when it is warmer-- sit in the courtyard, sip a glass of white wine and have my husband tell me again what I wonderful booking I have made:-)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Owner at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
It was such a pleasure meeting the two of you. Appreciate the praises of the Kimber Modern. There's nothing traditional about the Kimber Modern and I'm thrilled your husband liked it. Our goal is for our guests to have the most memorable hotel experience ever. Please come back again as we are always trying to keep the Kimber Modern brand fresh and relevant. Never know what we will do next. Best, Kimber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Built into a landscape with ancient Plateau live oaks, this well designed hotel is a true find. There are six spacious well lit rooms with beautiful modern bathrooms. It is well organized with a digital key entry and a large social room for healthy breakfast and an open bar Happy hour. The manager is charming and available on 24 hour call. Older patrons with large suitcases may have a problem with lugging their suitcases up to a set of stairs. Free parking available right at the entrance.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
I, too, love how our property is tucked into the hillside! The amazing Live Oak that was highlighted in the design of the Kimber Modern's courtyard is something man cannot create! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay...and thanks for sharing. -Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed in the White Suite at the Kimber Modern for three nights. It is probably the best hotel that we have ever stayed in, and we have traveled extensively. This hotel provides just the type of luxury that fits our needs. The location is unbelievable--just a block away from the restaurants, shops, and music on South Congress. The center courtyard and the rooms are all furnished in a comfortable and hip modern style. The landscaping takes full advantage of the wonderful trees on the property. The complimentary mini-bar in the room has just the right mixture of beer, wine, soft drinks, and still and sparkling water. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly.

If you can, splurge on the White Suite. It has a huge bathroom with a spectacular shower and soaking tub. Even better, it has a large private patio with its own wonderful tree.

We hope to return to Austin again. If we do, we will definitely be staying at the Kimber Modern.

Room Tip: White Suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed our White Suite, it really is beautifully designed! Thanks so much for sharing your experience. We hope to have you back at the Kimber Modern very soon!-Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Built around a writhing tree, this indoor/outdoor gem is a shrine to design. We appreciated every detail -- the delicious linens, the shallow bathroom sink, that delightful bunny painting above our bed, the yummy breakfast and community room with wine/beer and perfect selection of snacks, the way you can hear the music coming out of the nearby clubs if you cracked your window at night. Cassie, Vickie and the rest of the staff were helpful yet non-intrusive, the ideal hosts for an intimate inn/b&b. We left with many ideas we hope to use in designing a future home back in NYC -- meantime, we'll savor the memory of Kimber.

Room Tip: we loved the blue room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Owner at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
High design Urban Treehouse. Can I use that tag line? We are building anohter hotel in downtown Austin and we are about ready to start the website. I just loved your descriptive review, it made my heart smile. Thank you so much. We are home grown and small and reviews like yours mean the world to us.
Best always,
Kimber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimber Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimber Modern Hotel

Address: 110 The Circle, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places you go. And then there are those indescribably alluring spots that draw you in at first glimpse. For the independent urban traveler seeking a unique escape, the Kimber Modern holds particular appeal. Perhaps it’s the clean lines of this architectural work of art tucked away within the hip, trendy and vibrant SoCo district. Maybe it’s the abundant light filtered through the canopy of oaks in the artfully landscaped Courtyard. Or it could be the absolute comfort and attention to detail found in each thoughtfully designed and technologically sophisticated room in this breathtaking boutique hotel. Regardless of what leads you to Austin, find yourself at the Kimber Modern. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimber Modern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.