We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treehouse for adults” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimber Modern Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kimber Modern Hotel
110 The Circle, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Austin B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A treehouse for adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

My favorite way to describe the Kimber Modern is as a "treehouse for adults". Everything about this place is fantastic. The ample but stylized outdoor space, the cozy but sleek bedrooms, the awesome kitchen (always stocked with goodies, and the coffee machine I fell in love with)!

And lets not forget the staff - gracious, fun, and helpful.

I intend to return with even more friends - ideally, we'll be renting the entire place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
114
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

The Kimber Modern is even nicer than the photos show. We loved it! Great design and the outdoor area with the water feature makes you feel miles away from the city though It is only steps away from a fun strip of So Congress.

On the down side, noisy neighbors did bother us some at night -- but that can't be helped given the location. Try it -- you'll love it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth, tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I just got back from our lovely stay at Kimber Modern. It's a beautifully crafted, serene space. The hotel seems to be its own entity that operates silently and efficiently. The staff is very friendly and pick up on the first ring to answer any questions you have.

I would say this is more of a boutique hotel, they do provide light fare for breakfast, beverages and snacks for happy hour. Within walking distance, there are so many restaurants, diners and the row of trailer food dining is a unique experience in itself, make sure to stop at Hey Cupcake! for some yummy goodness.

Keep in mind the location is right off South Congress. It's a bustling, active area and understandably there will be some noise especially in the evening.
The "balcony" rooms are off the street and the "courtyard" rooms are set in the back.
We did not have any trouble with noise in our courtyard room (which was upgraded to the Red suite for free since we happened to be hanging out in the commons area).

We had a wonderful stay and recommend it to anyone wanting a unique hotel experience in a great location! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhamlin42
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I travel all over the world for work and the Kimber Modern is my favorite boutique hotel in the world. It's in the heart of the South Congress area, it's modern yet warm, the small staff is wonderful, and there are even snacks/wine/beer out in the afternoon, and a nice breakfast in the common area in the morning. It's a little oasis.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Location couldn't be better. The Manager Sarah, was very helpful with restaurant and transportation needs! Clean, modern & new! The green space patio is a joy to relax in after a day out. The happy hour spread was tremendous and the breakfast spread perfect for getting started. Thanks for a great Mom/BFF break! ;)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The Kimber Modern is my favorite hotel in Austin.
The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable.
The staff is friendly and accommodating (and super cool!).
It's located just steps away from everything, yet still offers the peace and quiet you need after a long day at SxSW.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking for a warm getaway from snowy New England, and we found Kimber Modern through Travel & Leisure. It did not disappoint. We absolutely loved it. We stayed in the White Suite, which featured a gorgeous, tiled bathroom with tub big enough for two and a private outdoor patio shaded by an old, sprawling tree. The common areas are comfortable and beautifully designed. We enjoyed breakfast, happy hour and the delicious coffee that's available 24/7. The staff is friendly and helpful; we appreciated the fantastic restaurant recommendations. The hotel is also perfectly located in the center of the hip So Congress neighborhood, but sufficiently off the beaten path. Kimber Modern is now our Austin hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kimber Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimber Modern Hotel

Address: 110 The Circle, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places you go. And then there are those indescribably alluring spots that draw you in at first glimpse. For the independent urban traveler seeking a unique escape, the Kimber Modern holds particular appeal. Perhaps it’s the clean lines of this architectural work of art tucked away within the hip, trendy and vibrant SoCo district. Maybe it’s the abundant light filtered through the canopy of oaks in the artfully landscaped Courtyard. Or it could be the absolute comfort and attention to detail found in each thoughtfully designed and technologically sophisticated room in this breathtaking boutique hotel. Regardless of what leads you to Austin, find yourself at the Kimber Modern. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimber Modern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kimber Modern Hotel to your Saves list