We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Overnight stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Austin NW

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Austin NW to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Austin NW
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13087 US Hwy 183 North, Austin, TX 78750 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 182 hotels in Austin
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Overnight stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel this last night on a trip to Austin for a State Board Exam, and this hotel was exceptional! Check in was fast and easy. When I arrived in the room, everything was clean, and comfortable, and I couldn't have been happier. Most rooms that nice are double the price, which made this hotel a real winner! The towels are great, and plenty of them. The bed was very comfortable and I could see myself staying at this hotel more on return trips to Austin. Also, the "back porch" of the hotel had a covered "patio" area that felt like a nice apartment complex or I hate to say resort feel, but it for a hotel, it was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Austin NW, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,
I am so please that your recent experience with us was "exceptional"! Here at the Staybridge Suites Austin Northwest, we strive to offer the best quality rooms for the best price. We pride ourselves in the service we give all of our guests through our cleanliness and are so happy that you took notice. I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us, we are so glad to hear that you "couldn't have been happier" staying with us. Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Austin Northwest and we hope to see you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    27
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
20
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We needed to make a last minute visit to Austin during South By Southwest, and had real trouble finding a place to stay. We were able to book what was promised to be a 1 bedroom Queen Suite at the Staybridge Suites, but only at the inflated (because of SXSW) average price of $316 per night. We had never stayed at a hotel in this chain before, but we really had no choice. Arriving around 8 pm, they assigned us a room on the 4th floor. Only after they took our credit card and we signed the check-in paperwork did they tell us that the elevator was broken! They promised it would be fixed by morning, so we schlepped our luggage to the 4th floor, only to find that the room key did not work. There was no house phone anywhere, so back down four floors to the lobby to get new keys. When we got into the room we found two double beds, no queen bed. Back down to the lobby, where the clerk told us it was the only room they had. When we told them we were leaving to find somewhere else to stay, they "found" another room, on the 3rd floor. We carried our luggage downstairs and found that room had a queen bed but in a single room, not a suite (despite the "suite" reference in the chain's name!). We said that was not what we had booked and were promised, but that we needed to get some dinner before the restaurants all stopped serving. As we left we said we would stay there if necessary, but leave the next day if they could not provide the room they promised. When we returned from dinner they had "found" another room, a two bedroom suite on the 2nd floor, so we took that. Recall, this meant carrying our luggage downstairs again.
Each morning we were told that the elevator would be fixed by 1 pm that day, and each day it was not. Because we were on the second floor, it was a manageable hardship (although my wife has a bad right knee that made the trek painful). We stuck it out until the fourth day, but by then -- after the promised hot breakfasts were mostly grits and oatmeal (the cook claimed that the hotel had not received their groceries for the week) and the elevator remained un-repaired, we gave up and left. The bill the desk presented charged us $469.99 per night for the room (not including tax). When I asked about the overcharge, I was told that the was the correct rate. When I asked for the check-in paperwork, it showed the correct (albeit inflated) rates. They claimed the overcharge was an "accident" and (after 15 minutes of recalculation) reduced the bill to the correct amount. No discount (or apology) for the lack of a working elevator, the lack of proper breakfasts, or the "erroneous" statements from the moment we arrived. There was one good experience at this hotel -- the maid service. They were efficient, courteous, and did what we asked in terms of how to leave our room each day. Kudos to them, especially working for the less than capable people who run this place. Stay here at your own risk. For us, never again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAustin, Manager at Staybridge Suites Austin NW, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Austin for SXSW. It is unfortunate that our elevator was out of service during one of the busiest events in Austin, and we apologize for the inconvenience it caused you and all of our guests. I am glad that we were able to adventually upgrade you to a two bedrooms suite. I appriciate the information on the staff training issues and how to provide good customer service. I am addressing those issues and assure you that our guests come first. The elevator is now working and is good working condition.
I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to have you as a valued guest in the future. We will prove to you that this is a great place to stay, with a great staff to take care of you.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was in town for a wedding and stayed on a Saturday night. The staff is amazing even at breakfast they cater to you. So nice to eat off real plates with actual silverware and coffee mugs over the normal plasticware.
Location is good and quiet but there is NOTHING you can walk to if your looking for something to eat. Chili's, Melting Pot and a few others are within a couple miles on the access road. Hotel backs up to a car lot and apartments and even outside on a Saturday night the noise level is very low. Bed was extreamely comfortable. If your looking for a place that just on the outskirts of Austin but still close enough to get out then this is the place. It has a great home feel to it.

Room Tip: If your wanting a great room on the first floor with just a queen bed that's very quiet room 117...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwilli1006, Manager at Staybridge Suites Austin NW, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Staybridge Suites Austin Northwest! We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Come back and see us again!

Yours in Hospitality!

Michelle Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were guests from Thursday, September 27 - Thursday, October 4. Having read many reviews online, we chose this location as our base while visiting Austin. Our room was perfect for our needs. Great towels! Nice TV. Good storage in the bathroom & closet.

Stephan, evening staff, was absolutely wonderful. He recommended KERBEY LANE CAFE for our first dinner in Austin. It was so good, we returned a few days later. He also suggested ALAMO DRAFTHOUSE CINEMA. Another great recommendation. In general, he was just plain nice and interested in our experience in Austin.

Sally, breakfast, was always smiling. She wouldn't let me put my dishes in the bussing bin. She kept reminding me that I was on vacation. She was genuinely kind and caring to all.

We enjoyed the many choices for breakfast. I especially appreciated having a mug for my tea instead of styrofoam. The breakfast area is spacious and comfortable. I wish, though, that the hot water dispenser kept the water hot. No worries, I had the microwave down to a science as I prepared my oatmeal :)

I had access to a computer w/ printer in the business center which was a tremendous help while planning our daily travels.

The woman at the desk in the mornings, I think her name is Michelle...short dark hair, was always gracious and considerate.

By the end of our trip, we were able to navigate the frontage roads and freeways.

Thank you for helping to make our trip to Austin (for the MUSIC!) as pleasant as it was.

Room Tip: Room 329 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwilli1006, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Austin NW, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for recommending our property to others when the travel to Austin. I will pass along your A+ comments to our staff! They will be thrilled! The gal at the desk was actually Cara, our Guest Service Manager. We love our guests and love to hear when they love us! Thanks again for taking the time to post the review.

Yours in Hospitality!

Michelle Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were able to check in early, which we really appreciated. From the moment we walked into the room, we were pleasantly surprised, we got a suite at the end of the hall (105), which we thought would be a nice quiet corner, but since housekeeping is right across the hall, it can get pretty noisy and busy early in the morning. The room was great with two full beds, tons of pillows, a door to close off the living area from the bedroom area. The beds were super soft and the room was impeccably clean. In fact, I actually slept great that night (something that almost never happens in a hotel for me) but everything was so comfortable. There was a nice big shower which was separate from the sink area. The next morning, we headed down to breakfast and were pleasantly surprised by all the options. There were waffles, oatmeal, tons of fruit, eggs (these didn't taste powdery) sausage, breakfast pizza, yogurt, 8 different kinds of coffee, muffins, bagels, cinnamon rolls and some other sweet bread. It was a very good complimentary breakfast. The biggest plus was that there was free wifi in the room, which was not common, many hotels in the area charged for this service in the room. The internet worked great as I had a webinar that morning and never had any loss of connectivity or slowness. We checked out very well rested and pleased with the whole stay. This hotel feels brand new and offers all the comforts of home, we will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Room 105 is nice and secluded but in the morning since this room is right across from housekeeping c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwilli1006, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Austin NW, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are delighted that we made a good impression on your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again next time in Austin ( not in 105 :-))

Yours in Hospitality!

Michelle Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The room was gorgeous! We checked in late and were welcomed by the friendliest front desks personnel. She gave us great directions for our way around town. We almost extended our weekend just to stay in... definitely will stay time and time again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwilli1006, Manager at Staybridge Suites Austin NW, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for review our property on Trip Advisor! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear of our friendly staff! We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Austin!

Yours in Hospitality!

Michelle Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The welcome was amazing and that was the experience we had with every member of staff.
The pool is nice and also the two BBQs offered.
The room was perfectly sized and in a perfect shape - fully equipped kitchen and a good bed.
The breakfast is also a good experience with a full choice of good quality items.
We will stay there again when in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwilli1006, Manager at Staybridge Suites Austin NW, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our property! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality!

Michelle Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites Austin NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Austin NW

Address: 13087 US Hwy 183 North, Austin, TX 78750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Austin
#12 Business Hotel in Austin
#16 Best Value Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Austin NW 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites Austin Northwest is located in the Music Capital of the World, Austin, TX. An all new extended stay hotel in the heart of the Arboretum District. We are located minutes from all of Austin s major attractions, including Lakeline Mall, the Arboretum Shopping Center & the new Domain Mall/Business District. Guests will enjoy having easy access to the 6th Street arts and entertainment district, Texas Capitol Building, the Austin Convention Center, Frank Erwin Center, and University of Texas at Austin Hook m Horns! The Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (AUS), and Lake Travis are minutes away from this brand new extended stay Austin Hotel. The New Staybridge Suites Austin Northwest is an All-Suite extended stay hotel with interior corridors offering spacious two bedroom, one bedroom, and studios with fully-equipped kitchens, living room, work areas with oversized desk and executive chair. Free wired & wireless Internet in all guest rooms. At Staybridge Suites Austin Northwest enjoy a complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and Sundowner Receptions including beer, wine, and a light meal. Grab a snack at the convenience store or use the business center with high-speed Internet access. Complimentary guest laundry facilities, 24-hour fitness center, outdoor pool, and courtyard with gas BBQ grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites Austin NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Austin NW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.