We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hilton Garden Inn quality you can count on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Austin North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Austin North to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Austin North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12400 North IH-35 Building C, Austin, TX 78753   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 to Round Rock Outlets
Ranked #19 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Typical Hilton Garden Inn quality you can count on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just completed a business trip to Austin and staying at this HGI. Clean quiet rooms, attentive staff, good breakfast, business center. Just what I expect when I choose to stay at HGI. If you stay there, it is a bit hard to find due to location on Frontage Road.

Room Tip: Although it fronts I35, I didn't hear the interstate at all. Might want to request a room not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments! It is good to know that we are able to provide the quality you come to expect from Hilton Garden Inn. We hope that you will stay again and give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your review. We enjoyed having you and look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Wilson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    66
    31
    5
    9
See reviews for
65
45
20
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridge City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband & I stayed in town this past weekend for Tough Mudder. The hotel was very clean & well kept. The receptionist, however, was probably the best part of our stay. She was extremely friendly & accommodating. We asked for dinner suggestions both nights & she gave us excellent choices. My only complaint would be that she give customers a heads up on the price - because one of the restaurants she sent us to was somewhat expensive. But, the food was fantastic & the atmosphere was perfect so ultimately, we were thankful for the suggestion. Great stay & we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments! The weekend of the Tough Mudder was definitely a fun one and I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of some of Austin's best restaurants while you were in town. You are correct, we should consider prices when offering recommendations in the future. We are always looking for ways to improve and thank you for the advise! We enjoyed having you and look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Wilson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at the HGI on the recommendation of a colleague. Also, it is one of my company's approved hotels for travel. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Pros:
1. Very courteous staff. They called me by name on the second day. Always greeted me when I arrived, and were very accommodating;
2. The hotel offers a 'breakfast made to order'...essentially, you can order whatever you like for a hot breakfast. I always had egg white omelets and they were consistently very good. They also have a variety of juices, yogurts and wonderful FRESH FRUIT (pineapple, water melon, cantaloupe, etc.);
3. They have fresh baked cookies, coffee and fresh fruit in the afternoons;
4. The room service staff was very efficient and polite;
5. LOCATION - if you have a 24 Hour Fitness membership, they have one literally next door and it is hardly busy, EVEN DURING PEAK HOURS. Additionally, the staff there are exceptionally friendly. I recommend JT for a personal training session. He is awesome! Also, across the freeway, you have a variety of restaurants as well as grocery stores.

Cons:
1. The "pool" is extremely small and located right next to the entry. So, you really are on display. Additionally, it didn't appear to be very clean;
2. The maid consistently forgot to leave hand/bath soap, so I was constantly having to ask for soap;
3. The last couple of days, I noticed ants in the bathroom. It wasn't like an infestation, but it was bothersome;
4. I was on the non-freeway side of the hotel, but still could hear considerable noise;
5. The hall light comes in under the door, so I placed a towel there each night.

I am returning for work this upcoming week and planning on staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the non-freeway side are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I am glad that our team was able to provide an experience to remember. It is also good to know that you were able to take advantage of our Cooked To Order breakfast as well as our convenient location, directly next to 24 Hour Fitness. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our pool. I have shared your comments with our Maintenance team to ensure the pool always looks it's best. I have also followed up with our Housekeeping department about amenities left during routine cleaning. We are always looking for ways to improve and definitely appreciate first hand information from our guests. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Wilson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here the night before checking into the W Hotel downtown. The bartender (and hotel overall) beat the W by leaps and bounds. The bartender gave us excellent service and he even stayed open later on a Friday night to bring us beer while we relaxed in the hot tub. As a treat for the Bachelorette party we were celebrating he brought us complimentary shots. This is NOT what we expected from a basic hotel on the Interstate. Also, the breakfast was the best we had all weekend. I ordered 2 eggs over hard and it came with steamed fresh asparagus with cherry tomato garnish. Who would have thought?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We strive to ensure that every guest has a great, unique experience here at the Hilton garden Inn. It is wonderful to know that our team was able to provide that for you. We hope to have another opportunity to shine the next time you visit Austin. Thank you again for the feedback. It was a pleasure having you.

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Wilson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wasn't have any problem after we deal the price with the receptionist guy. He lets us sign the receipt which from day 1 to day 3 for 189.00. but when we check our bank online in the next morning, they charged us almost 500.00
Came down for a question and receive a very rude attitude from both the staffs and the Manager. they told us there's must be a misunderstanding and blablabla whatever excuses.. Even the staffs were lie and the manager dont even know how to talk right. wow.. we just sign what it listed. but they charge us double. After all, we check out with the rate of 189.00 per day. Lucky we checked our online bank and didn't stay there the whole time as planed. TERRIBLE..!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write yur review, I am sorry for the misunderstanding, normally when our staff quotes a rate that rate is a nightly rate. Please contact me here at the property if you would like to discuss the matter further. Jeff Nelson 512-339-3626
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this HGI while on business. As other reviews have stated, the staff is so friendly. The rooms were clean. The beds were quite comfortable.

Only a few minor items to note:

1) the rooms on the side of the hotel facing the freeway can be a tad noisy with the traffic going by.
2) you should lay a towel on the bathroom floor because the shower enclosure doesnt stop all the water from escaping.
3) The cook who was cooking breakfast slightly overlooks eggs.

But these are all minor items. I'll certainly consider this hotel next time I visit Austin.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I chuckle at some of the bad reviews here. Let me start by saying i travel to Austin every other week for business, and for the past six months this is the only hotel I stay in, and can stay wherever I like frankly. The reason? The staff, the clean rooms, and welcome feeling i get, wothout fail, from every member. Firstly, I think people have confused the ultra friendly and accommodating staff with creepy, when they are genuine in their friendliness and actually take an interest in chatting up frequent travelers. Spending many nights watching a game at the bar with a killer Martini (thanks to Steve and Rex!) there are plenty of rude, wierd, and odd people also at the bar that got the same level of respect that i get Secondly, I have never ever seen a homeless camp in the parking lot, lol. Like almost EVERY other hotel, there are no AAA rates at peak times. As a diamond member, have they missed putting water in the room? Yes, once, and gladly handed me water with a smile and an apology. Every aspect of my bi-weekly stay is perfect or made perfect. One note, I find it impossible to believe that Jeff the manager was standing with his hands behind his back as I've seen him bus tables, freshen coffee, check people in, etc., at the drop of a hat. By the way, I would stop there for breakfast even if I wasn't staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGINorthAustin, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! I am glad that you have consistantly enjoyed your visits here-we enjoy having you. It makes me proud to hear that our team has been welcoming and friendly each time you have stayed with us. We strive to make travel easy and comfortable for our guests.
Jeff Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin North

Address: 12400 North IH-35 Building C, Austin, TX 78753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Austin
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#16 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#17 Family Hotel in Austin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin North 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Austin North hotel is located 8 miles north of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol, downtown entertainment district, and University of Texas hotels. It is close to area attractions like the Round Rock Premium Outlet Mall and several sports venues. Guest rooms offer a refrigerator, microwave, adjustable Garden Sleep System beds, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and 32” TV. The property also features a swimming pool, fitness room, and on-site dining/lounge at the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin North Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.