We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Austin North

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Austin North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12400 North IH-35 Building C, Austin, TX 78753   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Outlet Shopping Package
Ranked #32 of 184 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This Hilton was to the standard of others of its class. Immaculate, with nice amenities. The printer in the business center broke down, making it difficult to print boarding passes - and there were not able to resolve the problem quickly, but I guess this could happen anywhere. The only thing to complain about is the amount of highway noise in the room that I stayed in (facing the highway). The breakfast was great - but it would have been nice to have it for under $10. I love the cookie that is available in the evenings - but did not get the two bottles of water upon check-in that I am used to, from staying at the Garden Inn in the Boston area. The staff were friendly.
They charge $50 for a shuttle to the airport, which I thought was a bit steep, until I took a cab that cost even more.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    46
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
50
37
14
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Front office was kind as can be upon check-in. Everyone I encountered, which were several different front office associates had a smile and were very courteous. I could tell all of their personalities were genuine and that's something I don't see too frequently when I travel. The blonde girls were really sweet, the girl with the red hair, and an older lady who was working the night shift. A majority of the time when I encounter hotel staff, I am positive that the kindness is all an act. Those people were all a breath of fresh air. Housekeeping was sweet as can be. They work the hardest out of everyone in this industry. Rooms were clean. I gave the location a 5 because my friends and I were traveling two consecutive nights back and forth to a festival 45 minutes east of Austin called Nocturnal Wonderland. It was the closest hotel under my Hilton employee discount. We usually stay downtown when visiting Austin. My one and only complaint is that the hallways don't feel air conditioned at all. Maybe it's broken, I don't know, but I broke a sweat walking to my room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is my last stay here period. Customer service similar to Red Roof Inn and no way close to Hilton services as expected. Checked in was crowded and there is only one person handle all check in and answering the phone. In the mean time, the general manager Jeff Nelson was walking around in the lobby with his hand behind his back doing nothing. Do something useful and help the checking in counter. I was obviously not happy with the customer service. The counter has the gut to ask if I want to cancel the room reservation for someone else.

After I checked in, the checking in line was long to the main door. Where did the management team learn how to control the crowd? Not happenned when was I was there.

I was upset due to this horrible checked in and wait for the room to be ready. We went to our room and used the bath room. NO TOILET TISSUE. To make our trip more peaceful, we force ourselves to think that we are staying at the Red Roof Inn. I got bettter service there.

I rather have no service than horrible service. If this is the way Hilton cut the cost, have an auto check in kios just like ATM and rental car. I walk straight to my room and you can get rid the GM and the checkin counter.

BTW the when the AC turn on, it sounds like the jet engine taking off. I agree with the GM, this hotel is definitely not for my taste.

Room Tip: Stay away when Austin has a lot of activities which almost always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I know ou guests are often very busy so we appreciate the time it took for you to write about our property. It does seem that you could have checked in during a busy check in weekend as it was during sports playoffs and many school teams were checking in that weekend, so we do apologize for our higher occupancy, and if you felt in any way that you did not get the service you expect from our product. Regarding the toilet tissue, it is a design in the bathrooms that the toilet tissue is somewhat "hidden", should you say, under the vanity area, our apologies again. We do sincerely hope that we are given another opportunity to make this up to you. Please feel free to contact me directly should you be in town again, and I will be more than happy to make sure that your stay is more enjoyable. Again, thank you for the feedback. Our guests are our most valuable asset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Outstanding Management Team and Staff. They attention to their guest makes traveling for business less stressful

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed over New Year's 2011 and had a clean, quiet, spacious room with a king bed. The staff was friendly and courteous, the lobby well lit, very open and well-maintained. The Buffet breakfast was very good, including the omelet to order with all it's fresh ingredients. For the AAA discount we got, this was so very much worth it and more. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here during my business travel in Texas and was worth the stay. The only thing that aggravated me was the front desk did NOT have my membership rewards number and I know they had it because every other Hilton hotel I stayed at that week had it! They gave me a hard time about not being able to locate my number which was very strange and confusing. However, besides that I had a great stay and the BBQ restaurant in the same area was absolutely fantastic. I'll go back just for the great food at the BBQ restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here while visiting some family in Round Rock. Everyone I encountered here was extremely courteous. The lobby, small restaurant and common areas were all very clean and fresh looking. The room and bed were also clean and well taken care of. Although I'm not a big fan of tempurpedic matresses, I was pleased to see the matress looked brand new. The peace of mind of a clean room and new matress allowed me to sleep quite comfortably. The next time we visit Austin, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin North

Address: 12400 North IH-35 Building C, Austin, TX 78753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Family Hotel in Austin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Austin North hotel is located 8 miles north of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol, downtown entertainment district, and University of Texas hotels. It is close to area attractions like the Round Rock Premium Outlet Mall and several sports venues. Guest rooms offer a refrigerator, microwave, adjustable Garden Sleep System beds, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and 32” TV. The property also features a swimming pool, fitness room, and on-site dining/lounge at the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin North Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.