We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for business traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Austin at the Domain

Save Saved
You added aloft Austin at the Domain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
aloft Austin at the Domain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11601 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #79 of 182 hotels in Austin
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location for business traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staff was great (especially helping me early one morning with internet access), room was well-equipped (in a kind of hipster sense) and one can get just about anything in the Domain within a 5-block walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at aloft Austin at the Domain, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear PL911,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our helpful staff, guest room features, and location. Thank you for staying with us here at Aloft and we hope to see you the next time you’re in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    81
    42
    14
    9
See reviews for
36
48
10
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Though I have been a longtime Sheraton customer and stayed at many SPG properties, I've never stayed at an Aloft before so I gave it a try on my last trip. I have to say I don't like the concept--the hotel and rooms seem cheaply made and minimally furnished, all under the guise of trying to be trendy. But the club-style music that is perpetually in the air, and the bright color schemes can't hide the fact that at least this Aloft (and I assume all other Alofts) simply use clever marketing ploys to get Gen X-ers to pay more for these low-budget properties. The service was immature and unprofessional and the food, was little more than dressed-up McDonalds. But to it's credit, the hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is one of two in the Domain area (other being Westin). I didn't realize it until after I checked in, but apparently all aloft hotels look pretty much the same. That is, a room in the aloft Beijing looks pretty much the same as a room here in Austin.

Biggest gripe was that the towels in the room were dirty. Don't bother trying to seek recourse via their Twitter account. They pretend like they're there, but it's mostly scheduled tweets. Other pros/cons:

Cons:
- AC makes the room very cold when it's on, and the room is hot when it's off. It's also very loud.
- Parking lot isn't right next to the hotel. You have to park across the street and lug your stuff over.
- No HBO -- they have Showtime, but no HBO.
- Water pressure in the shower is really weak.
- Toilet's flush is VERY loud. Not so great when you have a sleeping toddler in the room.
- Bed/pillows aren't that comfortable.

Pros:
- Plenty of outlets.
- Location at the Domain mall is convenient. Also very close to the highway, making it about a 10 minute drive to downtown.
- There is a bar downstairs that looks pretty popular.

I wouldn't mind coming back here, but maybe I'll try the Westin next time. That said, not a bad choice for Austin at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this Aloft a few times. It is in a great location with restaurants and shopping. The hotel is really nice and the staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. The rooms are standard Aloft rooms. If you are in the Domain area, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at aloft Austin at the Domain, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Itravel328,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of ours. We are happy to hear that we could be helpful and accommodating during your stay. We would love to have you again the next time you’re visiting the Domain area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The lobby and room design is definitely trendy...clean, modern decor but not minimalist. Unfortunately the sound insulation is lacking; I could hear people talking in the hallway and they were not shouting. One side of the hotel faces a parking garage while the other side faces a construction site, so there is no view and I had to keep the shades down during the entire stay for privacy. The hotel is right next to an upscale outdoor shopping mall so dining and shopping are really convenient. The hotel is off the north-bound service road of Mopac Blvd/Loop 1 so it was easy to get to downtown.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the hallway, definitely don't want to be near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my first trip to Austin, TX, and the aloft hotel was an interesting place to stay. Located right behind the Domain shopping center, it is close to some very nice restaurants and shops. Overall, the stay was very pleasant. The room was large with ample storage and a very nice, modern bathroom. Although construction was going on outside the room, noise was never much of an issue.

As far as spending time around the hotel goes, the bar and lounge area is nice. Although a bit small, the pool area is well maintained. Unfortunately, the hotel is mostly surrounded by a business center and a parking garage, so views are nothing spectacular. It is not the cheapest place to stay, but the overall proximity to the shopping and businesses in the area make it worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at aloft Austin at the Domain, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Karl G,

Thank you for sharing with us about your stay. We are glad that you had a good first experience here in Austin at our hotel. Thank you for your positive review of our room sizes, W XYZ bar, pool area, and location. Your feedback is very helpful to us and we hope to see you again here in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Aloft is conveniently located in a fabulous shopping center which gives it a very safe feel when you are arriving in the wee hours of the morning. The design of the hotel is extremely modern with bright colors and clean lines. When you walk into the lobby, you are greeted by a helpful and friendly staff member. There was always an employee nearby to help me with anything I needed. One of my favorite things was how well my room was laid out. The bed area is separate from the bathroom area so people can get ready without disturbing the other occupants. Or maybe it was that the beds were so comfortable that I couldn't hear anything else going on. :D My only complaint would be that there was no complimentary breakfast. I'm so used to having waffles and eggs anytime I stay at a hotel that it was a slight letdown that I had to spend money on a parfait and piece of fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at aloft Austin at the Domain, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear chel1395,
Thanks for taking the time to share your positive feedback about our hotel with us, We are so happy to hear you found our hotel accommodating and enjoyed the Aloft experience. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to aloft Austin at the Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Austin at the Domain

Also Known As:
Aloft Austin At The Domain Hotel
Aloft Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin
Address: 11601 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 182 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Austin at the Domain 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aloft Austin, located at The Domain, which is known as the second downtown in Austin. You'll find some of the best shopping, dining and entertainment at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your aloft Austin at the Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Austin at the Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.