We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love aloft” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Austin at the Domain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Austin at the Domain to your Saves list
aloft Austin at the Domain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11601 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #91 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love aloft”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent New Year's Eve weekend 2012-2013 here. Love the location - away from downtown Austin - but a quick drive anyplace. The Domain shopping experience is great too. aloft is minimalist, contemporary, and spartan - yet everything I need is there. They have a small store in the lobby with everything from bananas to Hagen Daaz ice cream. Bed - big and comfy - nice comforter. The aloft is a part of the W chain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    98
    50
    17
    11
See reviews for
37
60
10
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was very clean and comfortable. Very nice employees and helpful. They knew the area well and was able to help in locating a great place to eat. Wish we could have spent more time around the area shopping. It looked like a very nice area to do some great shopping.

Just watch out for the people hanging out around the parking lot, may need help keeping dealers off of the roads around that area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

the hotel was clean , comfortable. We didn't realize it was a 35$ taxi ride to Austin city centre.
unless you are going there for shopping at mall near there not much in walking distance.
the swimming pool is nice for lounging but not really deep enough to swim.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The first time I stayed at this hotel, I really enjoyed the spartan atmosphere. It looks like a pruned down W Hotel. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed the board games in the lobby area. The biggest negative about the physical characteristics of the rooms is they only have a desk chair. No comfortable chair in which to sit. If there are two people in the room, one must sit on the bed or the floor.

The last time I stayed here, we arrived late. I had just started my evening shower and shampoo when I started to feel gritty. Next the water stopped. I was covered in shampoo and sand. I tracked wet feet to the sink to try to clean up but it to ran out of water. A call to the front desk, indicated they didn't have a clue about the situation and they would locate a technician. One person asked me if they could address the situation in the morning. I said NO since I was soapy and sandy. Finally they gave us a new room where I could clean up and sleep in peace.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at aloft Austin at the Domain, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Ann V,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear your disappointment with some of the amenities in our guest rooms – specifically the desk chair, as we know the comfort of your room is one of the most important aspects of your stay. We understand your frustration about the malfunctioning shower and I have shared your comments with the rest of the hotel management team so we can ensure this issue will not happen again in the future. If there is anything else we can do to remedy this situation further, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our General Manger, Dana Cust, by phone at 512.491.0777 or email at dana.cust@aloftaustinatthedomain.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, LA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable with so many amenities it's not possible to mention them all! We loved the nice big shower/shower head, the comfy beds, the oh so convenient desk/tech center, the "little extras" like bottled water left in our room and makeup remover towelettes, and the pump bottle soap and shampoo in the shower were a nice convenience. There lots to do at this hotel that e were too busy in Austin to do! Everything was nice about this hotel.

Room Tip: Pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at aloft Austin at the Domain, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Waslcajun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear how satisfied you were with accommodations and amenities in your room, as well as the rest of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Austin!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We came to Austin for one night to visit family. We have two dogs that travel with us. Most hotels charge between $75 and $150 non-refundable deposit if you have a pet. What really appealed to us was the fact that they accept pets for absolutely no fee. That's right, absolutely free. Not only do they accept pets for free, they welcome pets with a gift bag including doggy treats, dog toy and a luxurious pet bed.

Clean, close to amazing shopping area, restaurants, and only 20 minutes from downtown.

They also accommodated us with a very late checkout, so we could enjoy kayaking in town center before we had to go home the next day!

You can't ask for better customer service or a nicer place to stay for the price.

It will be hard to stay anywhere else when we travel. Thank you Aloft !

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I travel to Austin from the UK a couple of times a year, and this was my first stay in the Aloft. It's not my favourite Austin hotel, but is perfectly good and I'd have no problem staying there again. It's only about 25 minutes drive from the Airport and down-town.

Like everywhere (I have been) in Austin, the bar and reception staff are ultra-nice and helpful. The place itself is pretty funky - very modern - I told my family that if IKEA built a hotel it would look like this. Room was really comfortable, huge bed, massive TV on the wall, and unlike other reviews I couldn't hear any noise whatsoever from other rooms. Only real downside was the huge air-con unit was on the floor only a couple of feet from the bed, and was way too loud to keep running when you are trying to sleep. (In March this didn't matter, since it wasn't *that* hot)

Apart from the breakfast bar (coffee, muffins) and a fridge with boxed sandwiches, there is no catering here. The room/bar service is ordering food to be delivered from local take-aways, of which there are a few Chinese, Burger and Pizza places. You can also eat at the bar next door, which seems to be a popular venue, or walk to the many restaurants in the Domain.

There is a nice, small, outside area for eating/drinking, with a small pool and sunbathing areas, and a decently-equipped gym with weights and the latest running/cycling/cross-training machines.

The Domain itself has loads of restaurants and cool shops (Apple, Microsoft) with a real cosmopolitan feel,and all within a minutes walk from the Hotel. There is a lot of development still going on here and I guess this place is going to be huge.

Anyway - the aloft - absolutely fine!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Austin at the Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Austin at the Domain

Address: 11601 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Austin at the Domain 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aloft Austin, located at The Domain, which is known as the second downtown in Austin. You'll find some of the best shopping, dining and entertainment at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your aloft Austin at the Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Austin at the Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.