We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hotel For Business or Shoppers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Austin at the Domain

Save Saved
You added aloft Austin at the Domain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
aloft Austin at the Domain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11601 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #75 of 182 hotels in Austin
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel For Business or Shoppers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from the Aloft at the Domain. Great hotel if you enjoy shopping. Many upscale retail stores are in walking distance. Most interesting sites in Austin are south of this location. The hotel is very "hip" with nice beds. Nice for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    87
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
37
54
10
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the second aloft hotel I've stayed at. They call this a limited service hotel and there is usually not too many employees visible. One working the front desk and one bartender. There is no club lounge and I was told all the rooms are essentially the same (no suites). The aloft hotels look like they are all the same. The hotel design borrows from the W hotels.

Pros
Check in was fast and easy. There is a good small gym and pool available but I didn't use either.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable as in most Starwood hotels.

Cons
Not much to complain about. The one thing is that the elevators were extremely slow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a very nice and well thought put Hotel, very nice locations and shops and restaurants galore. Very near the State Capital. The staff is very professional and very nice. It seems like they will do anything to make sure your stay a pleasurable one. I stay 120 + nights per year and were mostly at Holiday Inns but Holiday inns are slowly going downhill and this is a great chain to take over where Holiday Inns were 20 years ago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Love it, finally a hotel in the US with a lot of design, very chick and very well thought out. The staff is friendly in a chic way without sounding phoney. I am bery happy I doscovered it. Great location near the The Domain.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Trendy Boutiquey Type Hotel, everything was fine about the stay there just wasn’t anything remarkable about the stay. The HVAC system works really weird. Runs when you don’t want it to run and doesn’t run when you need it to run, it cycles fairly loud as well. Hotels a little noisy overall.

This hotel is dog friendly, you can park across the street for free which is nice for a downtown property. Checking in is was nice but nothing special. Overall everything was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is extremely clean and located very well. The interior is tastily decorated, staff is friendly and the hotel has good amenities. The room itself is uniquely decorated. I loved the tall shower and large TV. The Domain is also a very fun place to stay in when one is traveling for business. Within walking distance is the Cru from where you can get a bottle of excellent wine to go and there are several top restaurants nearby. Of course the shopping can be a great way to spend your evening as well.

I looked at the other comments and took caution to stay away from the 2nd floor and away from elevators. I can see how the hotel could be a little loud because the hallways echo but I didn't have any problems. It was quiet. My only problem with this hotel is, believe it or not, the pillows. They are extremely high and even after one night caused me to have a neck ache. When I brought this up with the management they said and I quote "everyone complains about the pillows but when we have brought this up with Starwood, they say there is nothing wrong with the pillows and these are the pillows we use." If that is your attitude, SPG I would sincerely question it as you are supposed to be in the business of making us, consumers, comfortable for the night. If EVERYONE complains about your pillows, you DO have a problem with them! I would say anyone can sleep on an uncomfortable pillow for one night but I wouldn't stay here for a whole week of business meetings as the neck ache would eventually become a major problem for me. I would challenge your internal Pillow Subject Matter Expert to learn a bit more about human anatomy and install lower profile pillows.

Minor issue is that there are no movie channels at all but with all the other things around to do that's not really a big problem. I would suggest getting HBO or Showtime or something though!

Room Tip: Stay away from 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is a typical Aloft but that is why I like it. you know what you are getting and they are consistent. This hotel is in the Domain area which is a real hot spot. many hotels and shopping in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to aloft Austin at the Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Austin at the Domain

Address: 11601 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#72 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Austin at the Domain 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aloft Austin, located at The Domain, which is known as the second downtown in Austin. You'll find some of the best shopping, dining and entertainment at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your aloft Austin at the Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Austin at the Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.