We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable andin the center of a great new aea in Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Austin at the Domain

Save Saved
You added aloft Austin at the Domain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
aloft Austin at the Domain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11601 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #77 of 183 hotels in Austin
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable andin the center of a great new aea in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Aloft is one of my favorite chains. It is priced right, and is so comfortable and the people are so friendly. Great bar, pool and Gym. Right in the middle of th new Domain area, with great restarans and a huge mall across the street.

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same and all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    87
    44
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
54
10
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Aloft is a nice hotel that is a step up from the typical business hotel and little step down from the W, also owned by Starwood. It's less glamorous than a W, but it's contemporary and current, and it seems to be geared towards the young, hip business traveler. The rooms are a nice size, nicely decorated, very comfy bed, awesome walk-in shower, Bliss Spa products, good in-room coffee service, big flat screen, and actual current (and interesting) magazines in the room. There is also a cool bar (WXYZ) in the lobby, a very popular sports bar (The Park) right outside the hotel, and a nice litle shop in the lobby where you could actually purchase healthy, freshly made snacks 24/7 (including several vegetarian options - Yay!).

The hotel is in The Domain, a new development at Mopac and 183 in northern Austin. It's a very cool place to shop, eat, and hang out with friends, and it's very convenient to downtown, Lake Travis, all major highways, etc.

I would definitely recommend the Aloft. We had good service from every employee we encountered and did not experience one issue while we were there. Ample, free parking, nice workout facilities, and the WiFi is free and actually works well!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Have stayed twice now for business trips to Austin. Fun, Eclectic hotel. Rooms & bathroom are a great size and laid out really well. Staff courteous and very helpful. Great light affordable breakfast options. Great business mingling in the mornings as everyone grabs a bite and heads out.
Definatly will stay again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is only floor that has ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This one may be a bit unfair having just stayed at a classic old hotel last week but I found the Aloft very functional with neat features but stark and cold. After a while the right angles were a bit much. OK for a quick business in and out but I am sure that I missed something of Austin's flavor by this choice... it could have been anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights and loved it. It's a cool space, not a huge amount of space in the room, but the space is utilized really well, like a loft would be.
The location is about 15 min from downtown (you will need a car) but the Domain is a really great location - lots of places to eat and shop. The staff was friendly, the lobby, gym and outside were all very cool. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was our second stay at the aLoft at The Domain, and we were really looking forward to a nice swim this time, as we did not have the opportunity to the first time... But darn, disappointment settled in Very FAST as we walked into the pool and it never got deeper than our knees! This was a big bummer for US! But it was good news for the Mom who brought her two young boys to swim as we were leaving!
Anyways, the hotel is nice, refreshing. And the shower is definintely one of my favorites, love their in-shower-dispensed soap, feels and smells fantastic! Free in-room safe for your valuables, small fridge, great blow dryer, in-room coffee, and Awesome TVs! The beds are Extremely Comfortable too!
...My only recommendation to the aLoft is Get A Real Pool! Soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our first time at an Aloft hotel. We appreciate modern aesthetic & were drawn to the apparent effort by this hotel chain to cast off the blandness of hotels in this price range (we paid $150 night). First of all, the most important for us, always, no matter what the price range, the hotel is clean. No issues with that. Very tidy, clean room, hallways, lobby. The point we just couldn't get past was how it felt low budget despite efforts to be cool and original. The staff were jolly, but didn't have much to do as concierge doesn't exist (?), guests are expected to check in via computer & cafe is self serve (WAY too much like a college cafeteria!). The pool is attractive, but very small (especially for Texas, a state larger than the country of Spain!). The noise other reviewers noticed was a bone of contention, as well. We were left wondering what the developers were aiming for with a sport bar/club right next to/ above Aloft (they share the parking lot). I'm guessing this maybe a fun hotel for the college crowd, but wouldn't return as 30-40 year old. Also, our room didn't have a bath. Be warned if you are traveling with anyone interested in that. It is a 15 minute drive from downtown Houston, but forms part of the shopping village, the Domain....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Austin at the Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Austin at the Domain

Address: 11601 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Austin at the Domain 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aloft Austin, located at The Domain, which is known as the second downtown in Austin. You'll find some of the best shopping, dining and entertainment at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your aloft Austin at the Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Austin at the Domain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.