We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location..Nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Austin / Arboretum

Save Saved
You added HYATT house Austin / Arboretum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10001 N Capital of Texas Highway, Austin, TX 78759 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Austin / Arboretum) (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #18 of 182 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good Location..Nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice surprise, the location was great easy acess to 360 loop or Jct 1 here in Austin. The service was great from check in (Amy at the the front desk was friendly and very helpful). It is set up more for business, but we have 8 & 9 year old boys so the suite set up with the full kitchen was very nice. They have comp warm breakfast in the morning Eggs Bacon Waffle plus the usually continental typs stuff. We will stay here agian when in Austin.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side can get a little loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We greatly appreciate your time in completing a review. I look forward to your return,

Brian Long
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    62
    21
    2
    6
See reviews for
67
27
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bonham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My annual conference is at the Renaissance/Arboretum but I prefer the Hyatt. LOVE the kitchenette; the other place charges too much for meals either in the room or restaurant. I don't have to fight for an elevator.
Hyatt is always very clean. The front desk staff is always accommodating and very friendly. Breakfasts are fresh and hot and FREE. It changes daily. Pool looks clean as does the gym and full sized laundry. The only thing that keeps it from being perfect is that twice now the ice maker in the full sized fridge didn't work. This second time I stayed in Building B (which I recommend), it has a very nice ice maker in the laundry room. Beds are a little firm for me, but usually motel beds are. I love the full sized closet, ironing board, hair dryer; plus the microwave, dishwasher sink with garbage disposal. It is just like home, probably better with maid service!!

Room Tip: Building A is closer to breakfast and pool; Building B offers gym, full sized ice machine and full s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback, we look forward to hosting you and the conference attendees again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I figured this for the normal business suite set up, which really, it sort of is. What makes this different is service. From check in to check out and everything in between, great service. This wasn't a really business trip per se, I had the family with me. My family had a nice stay, met other families and for the business I needed to conduct, it all worked out well. I'll be staying there on my future trips to Austin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We are thrilled to hear you and the family enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Brian Long
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We tried to check into the Hyatt House Arboretum on July 8th, and assumed that since we had made reservations 2 months earlier it would be a piece of cake. When we arrived, we were informed that they had no way to honor our reservation because another guest had decided to extend their stay and they had taken our room. Really? They offered to give us two single rooms instead of the two bedroom we had reserved, which meant we would have to put our young son in a room by himself. They had NO adjoining rooms! Really? They want me to put our son in a room by himself? Suppose he got sick in the middle of the night? What if someone broke into the room? I told them "sure, if they provided hallway security 24 hours to ensure his protection. Of course they didn't. They would even give us $10 off each room for each night. Now, keep in mind we were staying for a week, and had chosen them based on reviews we read on tripadvisor. The young girl we spoke to was unsympathetic, uncaring, and bordered on rude. She claimed she tried to call us to let us know, and she emailed us. Yep, she sure did, an hour before we arrived. Really? After finding other accommodations for the night, my wife called the Hyatt House and asked what type of compensation they were providing considering the circumstances. The desk lady at the Hyatt said she could give us " points"! Really? Like I would ever stay at a Hyatt property EVER again, based on my experience so far! Basically Hyatt flopped on this one, big time! Not only do I not recommend this property, I highly discourage any Hyatt proper if this is their standard operating procedure. If you decide to stay here, be warned that reservations are good enough. You may or may not have a room waiting.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback that will allow us to improve. I am sorry your experience was nothing less than perfect .


Sincerely,

Brian Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te xas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms and clean. It is very quite and relaxing. Service is awesome!! Front desk employees know how to treat their guest. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to send us a response. We know your time is valuable and I am very appreciative of you completing an online review. We look forward to your return,

Thanks Again,

Brian Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was very impressed with the room. It had everything I could possibly need. My biggest complaint was the parking. I found a spot pretty easily in the afternoon when I checked in, but when I came back later that evening there wasn't anything close to my room. There are 3 buildings; A, B, and C. I was in B. After driving through the parking lot twice, I finally just parked by building A and hiked to building B. Luckily I wasn't in building C because there wasn't anything over there and it really would've been a hike! Noise was also an issue. In the middle of the night some people came in, talking loud and slamming doors. A little later there was a fight in the hallway that carried out into the parking lot. Soundproofing in this hotel was awful. And the next morning when the cleaning staff started working, well there was no point in trying to sleep in.

I'd stay here again because of the location and the price, but I was disappointed with the parking and noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, I wish you a great 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tripoli
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for graduation time in early June. Our room was clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. There is a kitchenette with some extras and a comfortable sitting area. The beds were very comfortable, I slept like a baby. We were pleasantly surprised to find complimentary dinner Monday-Thursday as well as complimentary breakfast. The breakfast bar included eggs, omelets, waffles, bagels, fresh fruit and yogurt, cereal and different kinds of bread for toasting. I was impressed! Not just that but the staff was so friendly, everyone wore a smile. Oh, also FREE Starbucks all day long! We had to check out early so I could catch a flight and the staff actually prepared the food a little earlier than normal so that we could eat before we left and enjoy some hot coffee. Pinch me, will you? I mean really I must say that this hotel was, while not overtly fancy, was in my opinion one of the best I have ever stayed. There is a fitness area and a small pool area. My only regret was that my stay wasn't a little longer...I could get used to that!! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you so much for going in with so much detail on the response, this allows our travelers to understand more of what we have to offer. I thank you for your review and look forward to your return.

Brian Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT house Austin / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Austin / Arboretum

Address: 10001 N Capital of Texas Highway, Austin, TX 78759 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Austin / Arboretum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Green Hotel in Austin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#27 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Austin / Arboretum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt house Austin/Arboretum is located in the upscale Arboretum area of Austin Texas. In addition to the Arboretum shops, several other shopping centers are nearby including the Simon® Domain Mall, The Gateway Mall, Lakeline Mall, and Highland and Barton Creek Square Mall. Round Rock Outlet mall is 12 miles north or the outlet malls of San Marcos are just a quick 45 miles to the south. For the business traveler, our northwest Austin location is conveniently located near the JJ Pickle UT Research Center, IBM, Emerson, Apple, Microsoft, Agilent, Flextronics, Oracle, G-Tech, Cadence Design, Intel, Freescale, Banc Vue, Motorola and Texas Instruments. The downtown Austin live music scene is just 10 miles from the Arboretum hotel as is the main campus of the University of Texas, Texas State Capital, LBJ Library as well as the 6th street entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your HYATT house Austin / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Austin / Arboretum Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.