We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer visit, I visited when I was at UT very frequently. Unique, lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barton Springs Pool

Barton Springs Pool
2201 Barton Springs Rd, Zilker Park, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)
512 867-3080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over the years, people have come to this 1,000 foot long natural limestone pool, fed by several underground springs, for everything from fishing and swimming to baptisms and beauty pageants.
Gatesville, TX
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Summer visit, I visited when I was at UT very frequently. Unique, lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Summer visit. I visited when I was at UT frequently. Unique, lovely. Quintessential Austin. You must visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    228
    54
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, TX
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A great way to beat the heat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a natural fed pool and even in the miserable summer heat it is nice and cool. (I think the water is in the 60s year round, but don't quote me on that). Nevertheless, it is a great way to cool off. Make sure you have water shoes, and I would also recommend bringing lounge chairs. When I was there, they did not allow floating noodles in the general swim area. It can get crowded, and it is a challenge finding a shady place to sit. They have shower facilities. And please remember this is a spring fed pool, and it has plants growing in it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Get Cool to the Core at Barton Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

A MUST-see if you are visiting Austin during the sweltering summer months, that extend pretty much from April through October! The beautiful setting, clear spring water, and excellent people-watching gives you a real taste of Austin quirkiness! Bring a towel, lots of sunscreen, something to float on, and you will enjoy a typical day at the springs! Know that the water is cold, but once you take a dip you will stay cool for hours! A family-friendly spot, as long as you are ok with the periodic topless hippie chick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great place for swimming. Parking is a bit tight on popular days. Can't wear water shoes on the diving board.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Crowded... but still a must-do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Don't get me wrong. Barton Springs is a must for anyone in Austin short or long term. It's a very cool way to waste away the day. Grab a towel and a spot on the hill, and bring a good book. Or you can jump off of one of the few diving boards left in this country and plummet into the freezing cold waters of the natural spring. Also a great way to rid yourself of a hangover instantly. There is some great people-watching to be had, and the overall feeling of the place is still very much "Laid Back Austin", but as the years have gone by, the available spots on the hill have gotten much much smaller, and the peace and quite have pretty much vanished... at least in the peak of the summer heat. It is no longer a weekly activity for me, but a few times each summer, my boys and I make it a point to spend a day at The Springs.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barton Springs Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton Springs Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.