We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barton Springs Pool

Barton Springs Pool
2201 Barton Springs Rd, Zilker Park, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)
512 867-3080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over the years, people have come to this 1,000 foot long natural limestone pool, fed by several underground springs, for everything from fishing and swimming to baptisms and beauty pageants.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cool pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Beautiful spring fed pool. I didn't swin there, but there were plenty of people enjoying the fresh water and cool water pools. Nice changing area and plenty of space to layout or recreate.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    229
    54
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I lived near this pool for the past year and love the area near Zilker park. The pool is clean, refreshing and fun. There is an awesome diving board and beautiful water. The water is 68 degrees year around so it is a bit chilly. During the summer months if you don't get there before 12 it gets pretty packed but before that is really nice if you aren't into crowds.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Very sad the place is hang out for the homeless. It was not clean they charged us just to walk in not to swim.there were all kinds of helpless people wondering around. I would never take children ther. Sorry

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great way to spend the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I lived in Austin for 4 years and never experienced this until a recent visit. I loved it! Get some magazines and a towel and plan to just relax. The water is absolutely freezing but on a HOT 100 degree day nothing can beat it. The website states no food or drink but we brought a bottle of water in our bag and it was no big deal. A fun time for sure and you can't beat the price!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Austin MUST DO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is about as Austin as you can get, and best of all it is $2 to get in! Plus, if you are here in the hotter moths, the refreshingly cold water is heaven. Tip: go during the week, or early/late if you try on the weekends. It can get crowded, and even to get into the parking lot can be a long wait.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barton Springs Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton Springs Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.