We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding place to hold a meeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Austin to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 100 Hotel Credit
Ranked #7 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfax VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“An outstanding place to hold a meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I hosted a week-long series of meetings for over 200 attendees. The service was beyond impeccable - I heard numerous compliments for both large and small ways the staff made us comfortable. I worked with dozens of staff people, and they were uniformly helpful and cheerful - not once did I hear "no we can't do that". Additionally, the food from banquet services was far better than other hotels I've used.

As an example, on Wednesday afternoon I asked if we could have Thursday lunch on the lawn instead of the dining room, since the daytime temperature was nice. Not only did they make the switch without a complaint, but no additional charge (unlike other hotels), and they even gave me an opportunity an hour before to change my mind back when the wind kicked up.

One member of my group forgot the charger for his laptop. He went to the concierge desk which lent him a replacement (free!) that fit his model - most hotels wouldn't have had a stock, and even if they did would have charged for it. That made a big impression!

Location is very nice, on the lake, with great hiking and biking trails just outside the door. (And the hotel rents bikes, which are in good condition.) It's just a few blocks walk to the music and dining areas.

Yes, it's not quite as luxurious as other Four Seasons hotels. But having the outstanding service was far more important than a huge hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    176
    89
    35
    5
See reviews for
201
272
42
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

The Four Seasons over Thanksgiving weekend was just excellent. The hotel was full, and the staff tested to the maximum by football families, reunions and a wedding. They were great. The hotel has been renovated over the years, but things like the modestly sized bathrooms can not be changed. However, everything is of highest quality (they're not using this quality of marble or fixtures in the newer Four Seasons, or anywhere else for example), and the service is head and shoulders above everything else in Austin, if not the entire state.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
963 helpful votes 963 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

This property has the excellent service one expects of a "Four Seasons" but the 5 star experience stops there. Very average rooms, tiny pool and the location, well, lets just say it looks a lot better on the website. All in all I can't say I would stay here again, it is not worth the difference in price from one of the chain business hotels in town. Of course, if you get a price.....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

All of the staff went above and beyond to help make the wedding a success. They were always helpful and thoughtful, taking care of everything from cars to steaming the tuxes and wedding dress. Even putting the top of the wedding cake in the freezer after the party.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed in Austin for 3 nights at the Four Seasons and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a perfect location, right on Lady Bird Lake easy walking distance to the capitol, South Congress Street, and a little more of a hike to the University of Texas campus. Lots of restaurant choices nearby. We ate at a fabulous Italian restaurant Vespaio's all the food excellent and the waiter we had was one of the best! Other restaurants Lambert's, Guario's and Eddie V's were good but not at the top of the chart. Did have a better than expected meal at the Oasis on Lake Travis -- good garden burger, chicken wrap and soup and taco.
The Laby Bird wildlife center is worth the trip and the bat tour is a must do -- go on a boat and get the whole story and tour of the lake.
Only hotel negative is having to pay for internet!! Why is that for a $99 hotel you can get free wireless and a hotel in high $200's you pay?!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Boxy rooms are a tad small and generic compared to more luxe members of the chain. Service was excellent. The location is so-so; a longish walk through a variety of office complexes in order to find the heart of the city. Probably the best in town, but a few shades beneath the finer U.S. Four Seasons hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We got a high level lake view room with one king bed. Room was clean and quiet. Free newspaper and shoe polish. My husband loved that. Decoration is good. Location is the best. Just walking distance to the famous bar street. But those bars are more for teenagers from our views. Lake view is very nice. I love it. However, compared with other four seasons we've stayed, this one is just so so.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#3 Family Hotel in Austin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#10 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the green banks of Lady Bird Lake, Four Seasons Hotel Austin provides garden tranquility near the Convention Center and the renowned entertainment district. Enjoy legendary Texas hospitality, sophisticated dining, lakeside fitness, spacious quarters and Hill Country style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.