We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Thoughtful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
USD 100 Hotel Credit
Ranked #3 of 184 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Thoughtful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Four Seasons Hotel in Austin many times and have really enjoyed it. The rooms are nice, but don't have any amazing finishing touches except for very comfortable beds. The staff is very good about honoring special occasions with a little something extra, and they even brought my then 4-year-old niece a tiny robe and slippers and a warm cookie for her to decorate and eat.

The lounge downstairs has great cocktails and live music, and the back patio is a wonderful place to sip a drink and sit in the greenery. Also, though the Sunday brunch is expensive, it is AMAZING. There are so many options of not only breakfast food, but sushi, seafood, you name it. Absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: The rooms that face Townlake are best. "City View" rooms are usually more readily availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear JeuxNeurDeLis,

Thank you for such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel beds and Lobby Lounge and that you received such personal, accommodating service during your stay-this is something we take great pride in. Brunch at TRIO continues to be a personal favorite of mine as well so I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed it so much! I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Austin again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    743
    141
    78
    33
    2
See reviews for
178
226
37
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merto Ny
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days of meeting and business, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The Governor's suite was perfect for the meeting I had as well as being a really beautiful suite. The restaurant was consistently good, especially the dinner I hep in the main dining room. Thank you to the chef! A very courteous and professional concierge staff helped make my stay very successful, as well as the concern and help of the front desk manager.
This is the most upscale hotel in Austin with an amazingly professional staff. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Any room with view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear PeterMmertoNY,

It gives me great pleasure to read a review such as your own, thank you for taking the time to write. Our staff prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear our Concierge, Front Desk and TRIO teams left such a favorable impression. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Chef Prambs! Whether for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Rooms are dated. Old brown tiles in bathroom looks like it's from the 70's...
Cheap old iphone docks... mine didn't even work... this would be for a Sheraton or Marroitt... For a four seasons at $500 a night rack rate, Not OK..
Not up to par with other four seasons / Ritz's...
Service was very good as expected but not exceptional... Sheets and bed were top notch.

Room Tip: River View is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dave,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. I was pleased to hear you were impressed with our location, sheets and bedding and that you received great service during your visit.
I was, however, sorry to read that our bathrooms and guest rooms were not up to your standards. I'm excited to share that we've just received final approval to update these spaces in 2014, which will address both of the issues you mentioned.
I sincerely hope you will give us another chance and return next year to experience first-hand the many improvements in the works.
Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for a girls trip. The location on the water was beautiful and
the grounds were well kept. The staff was wonderful! The room was very clean and spacious with a beautiful view of the water. The food was very good for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for such lovely feedback on your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location and views that you received such accommodating service during your stay-this is something we strive to provide for our guests. Whether for another girl’s trip or simply to get away for a weekend, I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to Austin again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you want to be in the middle of the action in Austin, this is the place. Situated on a tree-filled location that slopes down to Town Lake, there is no better place than the Four Seasons to experience the electric vibes of Austin.

Ask for a high room overlooking the lake, but the ones on the other side that look north are good, too.

If one is so inclined, the lobby bar is a happening place; happy people of all ages meet there to laugh and to take in all that's swirling around them.

Though the lobby and bar are full of happy commotion, the rooms themselves are quiet, private and very comfortable.

Room Tip: High room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear boudin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I’m delighted to hear you found our location so accommodating and that your experience on property was an excellent one. We take pride in being a hubbub of activity within the Austin community so it’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all the action on property and in the Lobby Lounge during your stay. I hope you won’t wait too long to visit us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for the weekend. The Four Seasons had been recommended by friends and it was great choice. The hotel has a great location on the lake and perfect downtown spot to walk to all hot spots. The staff was incredible from the minute we arrived. The hotel had a great buzz of activity. Had dinner at Trio sitting on the terrace was a beautiful setting. Food was great. We can't wait to come back. Tip- get a lake view room it is worth it. View is great. Spa is awesome- make time for a massage

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear MEaton,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and received such helpful service from our staff. The TRIO terrace is one of my favorite spots in entire hotel, so I empathize with your experience there. I hope you will visit us again soon; we look forward to having you.

Sincerely,

Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel was beautiful. Maid service was awesome, room was very clean. Lady who checked me out had a bit of an attitude. Smokin Tuesday was great but poor service and bar manager could care less. Was charged for things that were supposed to be comped. Overall, awesome experience. Just pay attention to your charges.

Room Tip: Higher Floor and Lake View Suite are the best. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear 43327Morgana1,
I apologize for the delay in addressing your review of your November stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, but wanted to be sure to thank you for the positive comments about our maid service, rooms and view. I will also be sharing your compliments with our Director of Housekeeping so that she may commend her team.
I was, however, disappointed to hear about your experience at check-out and Smokin' Tuesdays, not to mention concerned about the charges you felt were incorrect.
Please feel free to contact me using the information below if you are open to providing more details in hopes of resolving any inaccurate charges.
Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
(512) 685-8035
rob.hagelberg@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the green banks of Lady Bird Lake, Four Seasons Hotel Austin provides garden tranquility near the Convention Center and the renowned entertainment district. Enjoy legendary Texas hospitality, sophisticated dining, lakeside fitness, spacious quarters and Hill Country style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.