We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and restaurant, but we were "nickel and dimed" for EVERYTHING.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night Free
Ranked #4 of 182 hotels in Austin
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good hotel and restaurant, but we were "nickel and dimed" for EVERYTHING.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I really liked this hotel a lot. The companion restaurant, TRIO, was also excellent. However, were charged for everything. My husband and I chose this hotel for it's location (Lady Bird Lake), and because we have stayed in luxury hotels before and enjoyed the experience. Unfortunately, even though we stayed for FOUR nights, were not offered free parking. Everything in our hotel room mini-fridge had a price tag, even the bottled water (which wasn't even that special, just what you would buy in a grocery store). Some of the snacks offered were unique to Austin, but the rest were just vending machine items....for a place that nice, you would expect Jordan Almonds or something like that. The staff were excellent, and the hotel itself is very well appointed, I just expected more "bang" for my buck. But, if these things don't bother you, then stay there.

Room Tip: If you want an unobstructed view of the lake, ask for a room above the fourth floor. Our balcony ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Vanessa,
I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback about your recent visit and for the four-star rating you gave the Hotel. It is nice to hear you enjoyed TRIO, our lakeside location and Four Seasons service, as these are three things we are very proud to offer our guests.
I was, however, sorry to hear you felt as if there was a fee for everything as we always strive to provide value. We actually do offer complimentary bottled water in the guest room, so if that was not available to you during your stay I apologize and will be sure to mention it to our housekeeping manager.
While I can't promise we will ever move to free parking, I do want to make sure you are aware of the many existing complimentary services and amenities that come with each stay, from morning newspapers and overnight shoeshine service to weekend s'mores on the TRIO lawn and use of our house car. I'm also pleased to share that we just recently began offering complimentary basic Internet, in large part due to guest feedback like yours.
Vanessa, if you visit Austin in the future, I sincerely hope you will choose Four Seasons again so that we may welcome you back and help you make the most of the many "freebies" that come with your stay.
Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    706
    138
    76
    32
    2
See reviews for
170
219
37
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haltom City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here while in town for a golf tournament. The room and staff were outstanding!! We spent a few hours in the bar the first night and the drinks and service were great. We had two different waitresses attending to our needs--and they were both awesome. Had a lake view that was incredible--and the room was absolutely immaculate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Keith.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I’m thrilled to hear you found the room and staff outstanding and that your experience in the Lobby Lounge left such a good impression. Our staff prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear they exceeded your expectations and I look forward to sharing your compliments with them. Hopefully, you will visit us again soon; we look forward to having you!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota,Fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel right in the thick of things. You can walk the entire downtown area including the Capitol Building. 15 minutes to The Oasis on lake Traverse for great sunset. Staff was fantastic. The piano lobby bar was very nice. Our balcony overlooked Lady Bird Lake and we were right next to the Congress St bridge for the perfect viewing of the bats and dusk. The only major thing about the hotel is the pool is very small and not up to par with hotels of this stature. The room did not have a coffee maker and had the world's smallest ice bucket. But, all being said I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear anniversaryinfl,

Thank you for your kind review; we truly appreciate every bit of feedback from our guests. And happy belated anniversary! I’m happy to hear our service and location added to an already memorable weekend. It’s great to hear you were able to catch the bats take flight from your hotel room-this is a favorite hotel feature of mine as well. Visit us anytime; we look forward to welcoming you back soon (and with a coffee maker in your room!).

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you can afford it, deserve it or just need it, treat yourself to a memorable stay. The hotel, staff and experience are four star. In downtown, close to excellent restaurants and Austin's nightlife and right on the river - can't ask for much more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear bcarrot,

I appreciate you taking a moment to write a review about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, thank you. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location that you received such accommodating service during your stay-this is something we certainly strive to provide for our guests. Hopefully, you will make it back for another visit again soon; we’d love to have you!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Many stays at 4 Season's around the world. This property is on the same scale as a Hyatt or Marriott, so would never spend the money to get the 4 Season's luxury at this property. The staff overall were great. Bar area (in lobby) very slow to get drinks in the early evenings.

Room Tip: small rooms. had balcony facing the lake, which was nice, but nothing special at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

You really can't rate this hotel less than excellent. It's location on Lady Bird Lake and near downtown is perfect. It is a great luxurious place to stay.... if you have the money... Thankfully, it was a gift that allowed us to stay.

Room Tip: river side with view of Lady Bird Lake is the best way to enjoy this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear dclawofc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I’m delighted to hear you found our location so accommodating and that your experience on property was an excellent one! I hope you won’t wait too long to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here August 2-4 with my wife. The service was great, including the food in the Trio restaurant. - pretty much what you'd expect from the Four Seasons. The only negatives I can think of are: (1) the rooms, while very nice and comfortable, are a bit dated; and (2) the pool is tiny for a hotel of this size. Regardless, those issues did not detract from our stay. We also enjoyed the proximity to Town Lake (I know it's been renamed) and restaurants and bars from 2nd to 6th street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear WhiterockHorn,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I’m glad to hear our location next to Lady Bird Lake and the hubbub of downtown Austin added to your positive experience. I always appreciate it when guests send us feedback about their experiences-both positive and constructive- so we can have the opportunity to continuously improve. Whether for business or pleasure, I hope you’ll visit us again sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the green banks of Lady Bird Lake, Four Seasons Hotel Austin provides garden tranquility near the Convention Center and the renowned entertainment district. Enjoy legendary Texas hospitality, sophisticated dining, lakeside fitness, spacious quarters and Hill Country style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.