We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel room price and extra charges tacked on for amenities is overpriced for the general condition of the property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Austin to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 100 Hotel Credit
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The hotel room price and extra charges tacked on for amenities is overpriced for the general condition of the property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is very nice, the staff is friendly and the view is wonderful. The room rate is way overpriced for the area and general condition of the hotel. For half the price, I have stayed at much nicer four and five star properties. The carpet in my room was clearly not clean and stained, the in-room dining menu was missing, and the housekeeping staff forgot the bottled water. The staff was very prompt to respond to complaints and extremely cheerful. In-room dining for breakfast for one was over $40 by the time three or four separate charges were tacked on. There are no other eating options other than the main dining room, and no quick take-away food area. For over $600 a night, I was given a relatively small room two doors away from the elevator area. The lobby is nice, but so loud when busy that I literally could not hear the check-in clerk. I like this hotel, but it is pricing itself in a range that does not reflect the true property value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear HoustonKaren,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin with us on TripAdvisor. I especially appreciate your comments regarding our staff's responsiveness and overall demeanor since we pride ourselves on our exemplary service.

That said, I was disappointed to hear you did not find your room condition up to standard or worth the value you paid. We are currently working with our team here on an update to all of our guestrooms and hope you are able to return and enjoy these enhancements on a future visit. I also appreciate your comments regarding the availability of dining options in the hotel. We are always looking for ways to provide better options to our guests so we will be sure to focus on this area in the future.

HoustonKaren, thank you again for your feedback. Should you wish to speak further regarding your experience or provide any additional details, I invite you to call or email me personally using the contact information below.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
(512) 685-8034
rob.hagelberg@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    159
    84
    34
    5
See reviews for
189
241
40
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We chose the Four Season's restaurant, Trio, as the location for a recent business meeting. The food and drinks were delicious, service was prompt and the private room afforded us privacy. We would definitely choose to return for future meetings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was born and raised in Austin but I have lived in NYC for the last several years. When I come home I love to visit Four Seasons Hotel for drinks and live music in the lobby lounge, great bat viewing from the back lawn and dinner in their amazing restaurant TRIO. I brought a friend from NYC with me this time and Four Seasons Austin did not disappoint. They even made sure that the bats flew for my friend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

For the past year, my daughter and I have been planning her wedding. Our first contact at the Four Seasons was Meredith Hill, whose professionalism and enthusiasm convinced us that the Four Seasons had to be part of Caroline's wedding festivities. We ruled out an outdoor wedding so opted for the indoor reception in the ballroom. Throughout the entire process, Meredith was prompt in responding to questions, available at all times to discuss details, and more than willing to try and accommodate Caroline's sometimes 'different' ideas. She bent over backwards to make it all perfect, and it was! Patrick and I cannot think of an instance when anything went wrong, and we are pretty sure that Meredith and Gina (Clink) could not have worked better together to make it the wedding of Caroline's dreams...The food and cakes were outstanding, and the staff very professional and attentive. I will definitely and enthusiastically recommend the Four Seasons and Meredith to anyone who asks (and event if they don't)!
Thank you for a wonderful experience. Bootsie & Patrick

Room Tip: Lakeview is beautiful! I highly recommend the 0th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. I attend conferences at the hotel twice a year and always look forward to it. The staff always recognizes me and "welcomes me back." They have accomodated me with regard to many issues without hesitation. The beds and bedding are beyond compare, and you can't beat the view of Ladybird Lake. The only complaint I would register is the additional parking charge. You already pay a tidy sum to stay, and then there is a $32/day parking charge--over which you have no control because there is no longer any self-parking available after they put up the Four Seasons condominiums.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had a business meeting there recently. Service was fantastic, drinks were cold and wet and the food was superb. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again and actually am anxious to do so! Watching the river flow by also adds for a nice ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently got married at the Four Seasons Hotel Austin and everything was beautiful and went perfectly. The hotel staff does so much to make sure the day goes smoothly and is as stress free as possible. From having a large room for everyone in your wedding party to get ready in, to recommending possible vendors, the hotel has whatever you would need. The wedding coordinators are there to answer all questions, which was extremely helpful. The spa is a great place to get beauty treatments before the wedding, the ladies in my family and I all had wonderful, relaxing pedicures the day before and the spa staff was great. We had a large number of people staying at the hotel for our wedding and they all enjoyed their stay. The rooms are beautiful and the location of the hotel is perfect for visitors. We had our ceremony and reception at the hotel and the back lawn overlooking Lady Bird Lake is a beautiful spot to get married and to take wedding photos. For the reception we had dinner stations and all the food was delicious. The pastry department created a spectacular wedding cake and the service during the reception was amazing. The bride and groom get their own attendant who will get you anything you need from drinks to more food. The Four Seasons in Austin is an amazing place to get married, the hotel is the best and the highest quality and the location is beautiful. It was such a relief to know that everything on the wedding day was being taken care of and that I didn't have to worry. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting for our big day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#2 Spa Hotel in Austin
#3 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Family Hotel in Austin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#11 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the green banks of Lady Bird Lake, Four Seasons Hotel Austin provides garden tranquility near the Convention Center and the renowned entertainment district. Enjoy legendary Texas hospitality, sophisticated dining, lakeside fitness, spacious quarters and Hill Country style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.