We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! Expensive but SO nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 100 Hotel Credit
Ranked #4 of 184 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“OMG! Expensive but SO nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

OK this was a corporate trip so I didn't pay. I couldn't have stayed here if I did. But wow how the other half lives!

It was over 100 for the entire week. We spent every evening at the pool unfortunately the water got too hot by the end of the week. Pool service was excellent. Hibiscus ice teas brought pool side while watching the bats leave the bridge was unforgettable. Did I say they had a great view of the Congress Bridge bats? Just float in the pool and watch the sky at dusk. Amazing.

We had a one bedroom suite and it lived up to the four seasons name. Anyone who compares it to the best western HASN'T stayed at a bestwestern recently. I have and take it from me this is NOT a two star hotel. The soaps were some of the best I've ever smelled! The fitness center was five star. Small but luxury all the way. Since the hotel is located right on the lake the nicest jogs were right outside the door. Just get out early before the day heats up.

The quietest hotel room I've ever been in. You didn't even know anyone else was staying there. Wonderful bed with down blankets that did make it hard to not get too hot at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    144
    78
    34
    4
See reviews for
181
233
37
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
fort worth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Room was great and clean. My wife was disappointed that she had to go to the lobby to get a cup of coffee. Staff was terrific except clerk at check-in. Parking cost was excessive but typical of Austin. Hallway was noisy at night due to a wedding reception. Lack of a store in hotel meant we had to find a drug store in town. Conceire charged $2 for a single alka selzer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My sisters and I had been to the Four Seasons twice before in the last 10 years for long get-away weekends, coming together from the different cities where we live. The Four Seasons used to be a lovely, magical place that made time seem to stand still and exuded peace and elegance.
We met there again last month, and were very disappointed to find that the hotel had undergone a major rennovation, which served to remove the charm and grace that let you know you were at the Four Seasons Austin. The hotel is now very generic and common-place. The sense of suspended time is gone, and with it, the attention to detail that used to be the hallmark of this hotel. We went to great lengths to reserve a specific pair of riverview suites with a balcony. When we checked in, we found that we had different rooms, and that the rooms we reserved were not available.
A balcony was of paramount importance to us, and they couldn't give us a combination of rooms that would provide one to us. A desk clerk with no grasp on reality offered us a free bottle of wine on the patio in exchange for no balcony. The suites are somewhat small and clostrophobic anyway, which was made more evident by the generic redecorating, but this effect worsens without a balcony. We were offered $200 a night off the rate, but at $1000/night for the suite combo we had, it just was not at all worth the expense. Additionally, we had air conditioning problems and the rooms were warm. Room service yielded mediocre food that was only lukewarm.
The "famous" Sunday brunch has been forced to downscale in size and quailty of offerings due to a poorly resdesigned restaurant space. Overall, this would have been a nice stay at a regular hotel with standard rates. The Four Seasons' rates are anything but standard - and they are now exhorbitant due to the decrease in overall value from the very disappointing remodeling "improvements." We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we appreciate it and take your comments very seriously.

Your patronage over the past 10 years is valuable to us, so it was especially disappointing to read you did not like the recent renovations we made to our Lobby area and guest rooms. As a property built in 1986, we find it necessary to periodically make enhancements to maintain the aesthetic appeal of our public spaces. When doing so, we always strive to find a balance between maintaining the original southwestern charm and introducing modern updates to satisfy those guests with more contemporary tastes. We are sorry to hear the result was not to your liking.

We apologize for not being able to offer you the balcony room you had requested, and that our team failed to provide a solution that was appropriate. We agree that we could have handled the situation better. We will look closely at both the air conditioning temperature and room service offerings and ensure that the shortcomings you experienced are addressed.

While we have made some changes to our Sunday Brunch, the current menu still offers more than 80 different items making it one of the most extensive in the city. If there is an item missing that you would like to see in the future, we welcome your suggestions. It is also worth noting that we accommodate several special item requests each year, so please do not hesitate to ask if you come to Brunch in the future.

Should you want to discuss your concerns further, please don't hesitate to call me at the number listed below. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust and confidence in Four Seasons Hotel Austin.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
(512) 685-8035
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean VA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The staff without exception were friendly, prompt and helpful. Special compliments to the concierge desk. It was always staffed with two ( sometimes one) knowledgable concierges who printed clear directions for us in seconds. They suggested a lovely nature hike that turned out to be a highlight of our visit. The hotel backs onto Ladybird Lake, with a pretty grass lawn in back, close to the Congress bridge. This puts you in an ideal position to view the nightly show of the thousands of bats flying out from under the bridge for their nightly food hunt. This sight is a unique experience. The public spaces of the hotel are spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated in the Texas style. The lobby bar is very popular after work. Breakfast was non-buffet. The complete menu offered many interesting choices and service was excellent. In terms of negatives, I only have two: the pool is too small for real swimming. It's great for children or to splash in. The prices are extremely, high.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

This has everything you need in a conference type hotel. A little impersonal but it's large, staff were very good and attentive. Check in staff did that thing where they come around to your side of the desk to send you on your way to your room. Freaked me out the first time anyone did it to me but now I see it as a clue to good service and the way they want you to feel. Nice pool, great views over the river (lake?) if you get a room at the back. Gym is ok if a little small.

Room Tip: Room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I stayed at the Four Seasons Austin for one night in May. Service was excellent, as one would expect from Four Seasons but the rooms are pedestrian and veery poor value at around $500 per night.
I had a deluxe rlake view room with balcony, which was reasonably spacious but really had nothing special about it, the bathroom was also very disappointing for a Four Seasons, pretty much what you would expect from a Marriott. There was no separate shower, just a surprisingly low quality shower head in the bath. The amenities were high quality L'Ocittane products, as is standard at Four Seasons hotels.
Fast wireless Internet cost $15 per day, although a slower service was also available at $10 per day.
I went to the gym on the lower lakeside level, it was very poor, small, not particularly well equipped or decorated and every single machine had some rust on it. I have seen better gyms in hotels charging 1/3 of this Four Seasons.
Overall there's nothing horrible about the hotel, it is a solid four star offering, but if you are expecting five star Four Seasons quality, you will be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

What can I say...another great Four Season's experience.
I don't think that I could say enough good things about the service that
the Four Season's hotels give to it's patrons, and this one was no exception.
I went with two friends for a weekend getaway. We had a beautiful one bedroom suite with a balcony, lake view, two bathrooms, and a sitting area. The view was beautiful as were the accomodations. The grounds were so beautiful and tranquil.
It was around Christmas when we were there....so everything was decorated so beautifully.
The lobby bar was such a fun place to have drinks and make new friends. We spent time here each night of our stay, before and after dinner. We also liked the outdoor seating areas and the walking trail around the lake.
The concierge staff was extremely helpful and polite.
We had brunch at Trio and honestly wished that we would have had dinner there as well instead of going out to a restaurant that we did not enjoy. (That restaurant will be included in another review).
Over all another wonderful Four Seasons stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#2 Spa Hotel in Austin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#11 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the green banks of Lady Bird Lake, Four Seasons Hotel Austin provides garden tranquility near the Convention Center and the renowned entertainment district. Enjoy legendary Texas hospitality, sophisticated dining, lakeside fitness, spacious quarters and Hill Country style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.