We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bargain Hilton in Austin - definitely worth consideration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #75 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Gerroa, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The bargain Hilton in Austin - definitely worth consideration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Two Hilton's to consider. I was at this one for a conference. Everything was above average and the conference and business facilities were excellent. Thanks to the very helpful staff. A comfortable stay at a great rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Losrobos,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please feel free to call me directly.

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    185
    132
    58
    33
See reviews for
62
112
51
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My family came down to Austin for the Thanksgiving game between Texas/Texas Tech. This is our (now) annual custom. For many years we would spend Thanksgiving in the State Parking Garage just every other year. I was totally satisfied with the Hilton Garden. It's location to the school, downtown dining and easy access to freeway - all excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Darla W,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please feel free to call me directly.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I wanted to be walking distance from the Convention Center, and the convention hotels were full and this was just a few short blocks away; close enough to dump stuff off and go back quickly. I got a discount by paying Hilton in advance via their web site. A few minor quibbles, like not being able to set the time correctly on the room CD clock. Staff was very friendly and advice on walking routes was good, which helped keep my mood up. I loved their fruit waters in lobby; e.g. they slice up watermelon or citrus and pour cold water over it, for a refreshing infusion. High marks for that and the memory foam mattresses. The 18th floor restaurant, besides a great view, was a great value with waffles, omelets and fresh fruit part of the $12.95 breakfast buffet. Not a bad choice for convention center nearness, and I found the room rate very competitive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Joel G,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please feel free to call me directly.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

During a 3 day event, Hilton raised the rate to $500.00 per night, plus $75.00 per night in taxes. Realistically, it's a $200.00 night accommodation. This is a bare-bones hotel (it's really a motel), in a sketchy area, directly across the street from a drug paraphernalia shop, and adjacent to the freeway, with strange characters loitering on the block. Hilton should remember pigs get fat, hogs get slaughtered. Stay away from this rip-off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Lester R,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy a positive stay. We always try to do everything we can to ensure that our guests receive enhanced amenities and services while we keep our prices low. We appreciate your comments and will use them in an effort to better our hotel for the future. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again the next time you're in town.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel location is Awesome and we had a great stay except one issue with the room but the Assistant Manager addressed it quickly, openly and humbly and satisfied our concerns and left a great impression for this hotel and for the Hilton Group of hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear TKMWorldTraveler,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The property offers everything you expect from a Hilton Garden. The room was very comfortable, the hotel was conveniently located near the convention center and the 6th Avenue district, and there was coffee and/or refreshments available in the lobby at all times. What made my stay even better was the friendly staff. They had great suggestions for local restaurants, helped arrange transportation, and were readily available if needed. I would definitely choose this site again if in Austin.

My only suggestion for improvement would be to have HBO available on the TV.

Room Tip: My room was above the beer garden from an adjacent restaurant, and was a little noisy in the late ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Dan M,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Went to the FFF Fest which was at Auditorium Shores. The hotel was in a great location compared to the fest and the after parties. (also very close to the convention center if traveling for work)

6th street is very close. The upscale downtown is close too.

Cons: no safe and the bar next door was very loud at night

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear WWPaci,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best Austin hotels, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.