We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great downtown location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #75 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great downtown location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

if you think that you might party a night, or visit the university, or a museum or 2 this is the location right at the end of 6th street.

Room Tip: facing the capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Ronald B:

Thank you for your most recent review and we appreciate your business and loyalty. Location is key in the Austin market and our location has the best of both worlds. Access to all the restaurants, museums, music venues, bars/night life, parks, downtown acitivites, The University of Texas, I H 35, and the Austin airport wil benefit each and every guest that selects our hotel for thier stay. We aim to provide exceptional service and ensure your stay is extraordinary with true Texas hospitality. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Live Music Captial of the World and look foward to your return. If there is ever anything we can do to be of service, please contact me at anytime. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    185
    132
    58
    33
See reviews for
62
112
51
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, TX
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Austin both because of its good reputation and close proximity to the places we wanted to visit during our overnight stay. The room was spacious, separate bathtub and shower in a good size bathroom. Our suite was clean, nicely appointed and we had an excellent night's sleep. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Good Morning TexiKilleen-TX:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and more importanly for your business and loyalty. Our number one goal is to ensure the care and comfort of our guests is executed each and every day so that you may experience Austin, TX and the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown at our highest level. Superior service provided is our Team's motto and will do whatever it takes to make sure that you leave our hotel wanting to come back and re-vist our wonderful city. Thank you again and I look foward to seeing you in the future. Happy Holidays!

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed here for one night as part of a 5-night business trip, where I later switched to the Hilton Downtown Austin. This room was significantly more expensive than the other hotel and was much more outdated. It's also literally adjacent to a major highway, so I could hear the traffic noise constantly. It's also on the edge of town so it's definitely a bit of a walk from most restaurants/bars downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Teambrobra_Intl:

I want to personally thank you for your business and honest feedback provided to help us improve our products and services for you. Our price postion in the Austin Downtown Market is amazing and with our property you recieve complimentary wifi access where every other hotel charges aorund $15 for 24 hours, our breakfast buffet pricing is $5-$10 less than the majority of the hotels in the market, and our rates are positioned to benefit you to save money compared to the other downtown hotels. We would love for you to try us out again as we are making wonderful improvements to our hotel to enhance your experience. Thank you again and I look foward to seeing you in the future.

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Everything about this place is well designed and managed.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights in December 2011. The first night there we tried to use the atrium in the 10th floor for social time. It was about 50 degrees and therefore not comfortable at all. We mentioned this to four different staff mambers during our stay but no one wanted to do anything about it and no one seemed to really care. Since all rooms open to the atrium, unless you plan to stay only in your room during the visit, I would look elsewhere. I even emailed the hotel manager and he has not responded. Not a comfortable place to stay and marginal service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Tim R:

Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us and I sincerely apologize for the HVAC issues you encountered during your stay. We began our HVAC fan coil replacement project today that will consist of replacing all units in the entire hotel. This will make a huge difference for your future stays and every guest that stays with us to ensure a comfortable, home away from home experience. We will continue to improve our product so that you have an amazing experience the next time you are in Austin, TX. Thank you for your business and Happy Holidays!

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Good: sleep number bed; flat screen TV; quiet in spite of hectic activities all around (although guests on other floors shared very different views); convenient location; valet parking was efficient; quick and courteous room service; staff was helpful.

Bad: road noise on I-35 side of hotel; complicated access from streets; in need of renovation (ours seemed to be a rehabbed smoking room); confusing floor plans on sleeping and meeting floors; tiny, tiny bathroom, with sink outside in room; limited TV channels

I would stay again, but would consider other options. Rate would have to be great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Good Morning Waynelaw78:

We are continually improving our products and services to ensure that you recieve superior service and amazing amenities to have an extraordinary stay each and every time you stay with us. Our new Flat Screen HD TV's with our new channel line up was put into place last week, our new state of the art fitness center was completed last week as well. We will continue to work with Hilton on new technology to eliminate noise from the highway and we have made great head way on a new beta test to reduce the noise from the highway. I look foward to seeing you back in the future and can assure you that we will have great rates available for your future stays.

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Be sure to know where you are going to be visiting in Austin before you book here. This property is close to the interstate which makes it convenient if you are driving through but I was walking and it was not close enough to downtown for me. Also, after dark with nothing around, returning to the property was a bit questionable (dark, nothing around). Staff was friendly but they had to make changes to my folio after telling me that it was already handled. WiFi is free but the quality and speed are not the greatest.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room as there are inside rooms that face the interior courtyard and that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Biotechwriter:

We appreciate your business and feedback provided from your most recent stay with us. We have changed our interent service within Hilton Hotels as of last month and this has made a huge difference with increased speed and connectivity. Our location is important to us and we will make every effort and reccommendation to get you where you are going quickly, cost effective, to lead you in the right direction. The City of Austin is currently working on the Waller Creek Project which will dramatically improve the lighting in our immediate area. Thank you again for your review and we look foward to seeing you in the future. Have a great day and Happy Holidays!

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best Austin hotels, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.