We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austin Southpark falls short of luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Austin at South Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Austin at South Park to your Saves list
Omni Austin at South Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #38 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
DFW
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Austin Southpark falls short of luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

In comparison to the Omni Houston Hotel, this Omni falls short. It's nice but not as luxurious as the Omni Houston Hotel. Don't mind it if I can get a rate below $150 for the Austin Southpark, but when paying upwards of $200/night, I expect more. The entire hotel looks and feels tired - in need of major remodel, including replacement of mattresses and furniture. Our bed sagged badly and was not very comfortable. The lobby, elevator and hallways had the "pool" smell. It was a good thing that we didn't spend much time at hotel. Everything is pricey there (bar and restaurant) but quality is subpar for a luxury hotel. Our SUV was full of bird crap by the time we left. It was a good thing the monsoon hit and washed the crap away; otherwise, I would have taken our SUV to a car wash before leaving.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    120
    69
    31
    8
See reviews for
109
98
15
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D/FW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Needed a last minute hotel on a Friday (Memorial Day weekend). All decent priced hotels were booked. Got room and pretty good price. This hotel as a ton of amenities and location was ok. My only gripe was that it is a little dated - clean but dated. Bed and number of pillows made my sleep heavenly. Arrived late that night and left early next morning.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed staying at the Omni Southpark. It was a GREAT experience compared to staying at the hotels off of 35 in Austin. We were not too far from anything especially restaurants. I am so glad my conference group selected the Omni.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good hotel with all the basics needed for a comfortable stay. Located at the intersection of two main highways you definitely need a car to move around the city. Parking is free.
Breakfast is very good and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Clean, airport shuttle, nice beds, good food and Starbucks....

Visit the spa while you are there. Staff was polite and attentive. Rates are a little high but overall all good.

This was my second visit.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel was nice and had lovely ammentities, such as indoor/outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and fitness room. However, the lodging is expensive and this hotel does not hesitate to charge for things that should be complimentary. I stayed here for a conference that was held at the hotel and to my disappointment, internet is not available in the rooms unless you pay for it - $14.95 per day!The food at the Onion Creek Grille was good, but for breakfast, I had to pay $18 (and I left a tip in addition for the server). The in room refrigerator was locked and you had to request an additional one to actually use. The rooms were not big enough/nice enough to pay the $219 a night. In the future, I will stay next door at the Homewood Suites - which are much better accomodations for the price!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was dark, dirty, dingy, aged, and just seemed old. The funny thing is that the front desk said the hotel was recently remodeled (about a year ago). We had high hopes because the hotel was an Omni, but it was awful.

We were in an upgraded room with a balcony, and then we requested another room in hopes that the sad room was just a one off deal. The hotel manager told us to wait, so we did. After an hour sitting by the phone (our day was already being wasted away) we decided to go to the front desk. At this point, we were done so we just told them to cancel our reservations. We left and went to another hotel that took care of us.

Bonus mess up, the $194 hotel charges are still on my account two days later. I asked for a manager to contact me after we left, but that was two days ago.

We have stayed at other Omni Hotels and have received great service and accommodations. But the Omni at South Park was lacking on all fronts. I am still waiting for someone from the hotel to contact me.

P.S. - I just remembered that when we left the room, the door lock did not even work. From the outside, I was able to turn the handle and have access to the room. Wow. That one shocked me. I told a maintenance guy and the front desk. I hope the hotel fixes that one.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. It is out of the city. This is a budget hotel with the Omni name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April Z, Manager at Omni Austin at South Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I am so sorry we fell short of your expectations in any way. Please contact me so we can discuss further. azuniga@omnihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Omni Austin at South Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin at South Park

Address: 4140 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#22 Family Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin at South Park 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Amex, EasyToBook, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Omni Austin at South Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin At South Park Hotel Austin
Omni Hotel Austin
Austin Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Austin at South Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.