We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfy, Safe, Cute, but Pricey for the Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austin Motel
Save
You added Austin Motel to your Saves list
1220 S. Congress St., Austin, TX 78704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Comfy, Safe, Cute, but Pricey for the Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Title pretty much says it all. I like this place. It's has a safe feel to it. It's right in the middle of SoCo. Get your coffee in the morning at Jo's, get some dinner at the Robot Sushi Kitchen, some ice cream at Amy's Ice Cream, and grab a show at the Continental Club in the evening. The pools is private, a little bean shaped pool hidden from South Congress by a fence and foliage. It feels good to hang out right outside of the view of people on Congress and know that you've got your little private place here.

However, I have really thought it was a little pricey. Nevertheless, great place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    116
    44
    17
    13
See reviews for
32
106
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just finished a 2 night stay here.We had one of the larger rooms overlooking the pool.The beds were very comfortable, but you can hear the adjoining rooms. It is all about the location, close enough to downtown to walk and right in the action of south congress. I heard the girl at the front desk advise a caller, that they book up for weekends a few months in advance. They provide tea and coffee in the lobby. I would definitely look at staying here if I return to Austin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is such a great value! Such reasonable rates, free parking and WiFi, fantastic location(in the heart of SoCo), large rooms, darling diner and outdoor eating area on the premises. Large and lovely outdoor pool. Very thin walls, but our neighbors were all quiet. This place books up fast, and it's easy to see why. Retro charm, cool neighborhood, great value.

Room Tip: Go on their website. The rooms are all different. It was fun to choose one that matched my decoratin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Probably the best hotel I've stayed at for the price! The room was, of course, unique, and I spent a relaxing afternoon by the large pool. The front desk staff was very friendly. The free wifi worked well. My only issue was the thin walls, but when my neighbors were being loud at 2 am, the staff took care of it immediately. I didn't have a car and it wasn't a problem--plenty of places to walk to in the neighborhood, with a great coffee/breakfast place next door. The buses into downtown are inexpensive and easy to use. Walk up the hill for dinner at Enoteca Vespaio for dinner; it was reasonable and some of the best Italian food I've had in the US. Also check the schedule for the Continental Club across the street; I went to two great free shows there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't book ahead and so were only able to stay one night here. It is (just) walkable across the river to the bars and restaurants downtown, but there is PLENTY of choice for food and drink in the SoCo area.

Can recommend the coffee at Jo's nearby

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I managed to snag a room here for SXSW and only paid $150 per night. The only reason I'm not giving is 5 stars is because the internet sucked and they charged me $25 for late check out (they said after 12:30 I had to pay, I left the room at 12:31 and was at the front desk by 12:35 and got charged $25).

Bed is comfortable. TV is old but whatever. A/C works. Didn't use pool but looked inviting. Staff was nice. It is conveniently located on South Congress. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: the back area seems to have more parking near your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitchurch
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Serious value for money, great location, free wi-fi & swimming pool - what more could you ask for. Ok - the traffic passing down SoCo almost 24/7 sounds worse than it is at 04:30 in the morning - but even so you will have to go a long way to get better value for money than this. We paid a bit extra to get a poolside room which put us pretty much on the front row against the street, may be the cheaper rooms round the back are quieter but with it's own outside seating space & the pool it still represent serious VFM. Also the mattresses are the most comfortable I have ever slept on - including my own at home! This will be our first choice of accommodation if we are ever lucky enough to make it back to Austin again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Motel

Address: 1220 S. Congress St., Austin, TX 78704
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Austin Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.